Will XBOX 360 look good on 2405FPW?

Cannibal Corpse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,199
I can't wait to test it out. My gaming PC rig is not yet complete (waiting for PSU, MoBo, DDR1 and 7800GTX :()
 
M

MantisIT

Guest
From what I read before, the 2405 doesn't render HD Images that well (tends to be blockish but then again, which LCD isn't)

If you're interested in seeing Xbox360 in it's fullest like 1080P images, get a TV that's capable of 1080P or 760.
 

TESLA

Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
936
It should do OK at 1080P/I with minimal stretching.

720P, by my guess, will be a different story.

The best results you are likely able to get using this monitor would be achieved via a component to VGA transcoder and not with the XBOX connected directly into the component input.

That said, a good transcoder will cost you up to $350.
 

TESLA

Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
936
The 2405FPW lacks the ability to properly scale and properly display the aspect ratio of material sent via a component cable.

A good transcoder will be able to take the HD input signal and send out a VGA signal with the correct resolution and aspect ratio.

I.E. if you were to use a transcoder for 1080P, the image would not be stretched on the 2405FPW if the 2405FPW has its settings tuned to 1:1 scaling.

You should also be able to use aspect scaling for 720P.

The transcoder turns a signal meant for a TV into a signal that can be understood properly by the 2405FPW.

Now, I forget which system has VGA out as a feature. But, in the case that a system already supports VGA output, a transcoder would not be required for that system, providing that the VGA output is handled correctly.
 

gprime

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
38
And in VGA mode on the 2405 you do 1:1 scaling so you don't get any of that crappy stretching. 1920x1080 is 1080i isn't it? You'll have a little black bar on the top and bottom, but it shouldn't look too shabby :)

EDIT: I just tried a VGA signal at 1920x1080 with 1:1 scaling. Assuming the xbox360 vga signal doesnt suck, it should look something like this:



*much* better than a strecthed component signal.

EDIT2:

oh...dear...god....
i noticed most games run at 720p so i tried VGA @ 1280x720. I hope to GOD this is my crappy VGA signal to the monitor, because the 2405 handles it like crap:





Could someone else test a VGA signal @ 1280x720? hopefully this is just an isolated issue..
 

peacetilence

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
2,343
1080p/i aren't possible at all with the 2405fpw (not that the 1st gen 360's will even support it) 720p should be ok over component. 480p as you all should know will be 15% deformed. 3:2 aspect instead of 4;3.

I use my 2405fpw for PS2 just because I'm not really a console gamer and don't care that it looks like crap. I know that I have my eyes set on a 37-42" plasma tv in the future when I can afford one. The 2405's analog inputs are just poorly implemented.
 

peacetilence

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
2,343
In your 1920x1080 screenshot did you use the nvidia resolution/aspect drivers option because if I set it to 1920x1080 in DVI the monitor confuses it for 1920x1200 so it stretches out on the entire screen. I haven't tried it over DVI but if it works without using the nvidia scaling option that gives us some hope of 1080p on this monitor without having to use a PC source!
 

gprime

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
38
peacetilence said:
In your 1920x1080 screenshot did you use the nvidia resolution/aspect drivers option because if I set it to 1920x1080 in DVI the monitor confuses it for 1920x1200 so it stretches out on the entire screen. I haven't tried it over DVI but if it works without using the nvidia scaling option that gives us some hope of 1080p on this monitor without having to use a PC source!
I only used the scaling from the monitor options (hardware scaling, i guess it would be called).

AFAIK, you can only do 1:1 hardware scaling when you use VGA (in the screenshot you can see the settings in the middle of the screen). Doesn't seem to let me change the scaling option for DVI (like you said). Why? Who knows ... :p

EDIT:

What the heck. I just tried every resolution. My 2405 handles every resolution fine EXCEPT for 1280x720. Just my luck :(
 

peacetilence

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
2,343
Yeah it confuses it for 1280x1024. 720p does work over component though. It's the only thing I've seen over component that maintains the correct aspect ratio. The only way next gen consoles are going to work correctly on the monitor over dvi, is if they have some built in scaling for 16:10 displays, which is extremely unlikely.
 

Yaka

Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
613




some dude on ocuk has dev kit connected to his 2405 and he says it displays everything no probs :eek:
 

Yaka

Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
613
damn those pics are huge, sorry 56k peeps hope it didnt kill your conn.
 

gprime

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
38
crap. that looks great on component. the reason i say "crap" is because my 2405 treats component signals like poop. its all blurry and has lines through it and everything. i thought all 2405's had this problem, but i guess it is just me..
 

Yaka

Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
613
mine dont, use both xbox and ps2 on it. i got mine when it first came out had no probs, a couple of friends of mine got em recently and both have probs via component must newer firmware or some thing
 

Chilly

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
2,031
I got a 1920x1200 23" LCD (BenQ not dell 24) and DAMN those images are the FIRST images EVER POSTED IN ANY FOURMS that were too big to view without SCROLLING, AHHH THE SHITTY MEMRIES OF LOW RESOLUTIONS!!!!! :p

Chilly
 

Cannibal Corpse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,199
What about PS2? I have a component cable (Monster) that is already connected to my 36" WEGA, but it is aging fast (no Progressive Scan mode) and I would LOVE to see it it will look good on a PS2 or not. Thanks!
 

Error Macro

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
68
Don't worry guys... The 360 has a built in scaler that supports many different resolutions. The scaler is supposedly a higher end one, so it should scale miles better than any LCD unit. Although I don't know for sure if it does 1920x1200, I know it does 1080i (1920x1080), and as evidenced in gprime's post, it should look fine.
 

Yaka

Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
613
ps2 are ok depending on the game some games look good others dont.

Gits looks ok


GT4 @ 1080i very good


GTA: SA looks ok


Getaway 2 pal version @ 576i



can take pics og God of War which is a 480p game and shadows of the colosuuss if you want
 

Error Macro

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
68
Cannibal Corpse said:
How do you utilize that? Does the game need to support it? I am pretty sure XBOX 360 does NOT support 1080i, but PS3 will!
Most Xbox 360 games will be natively 720p, but the console has an internal scaler in it that can upconvert to 1080i. Though the PS3 is being hyped as a 1080p device, most games will run in 720p, and some might be 480p only, as Sony will allow that resolution. Microsoft is not allowing games to be developed with anything less than 720p as their native resolution. You can use the scaler to output at 480p, however. I expect the PS3 to have a capable scaler unit as well.
 

peacetilence

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
2,343
Error Macro said:
Don't worry guys... The 360 has a built in scaler that supports many different resolutions. The scaler is supposedly a higher end one, so it should scale miles better than any LCD unit. Although I don't know for sure if it does 1920x1200, I know it does 1080i (1920x1080), and as evidenced in gprime's post, it should look fine.

If it's doing 1920x1080 in that screenshot then it's not fine because the monitor is 1920x1200. Notice in the picture that the image is filling the entire screen? The aspect ration is f'ed because the monitor can't properly detect 1080p but confuses it for 1920x1200 How can you people play games and watch movies and say it looks normal when everyone looks like they were squished out the ass of an elephant?
 

Error Macro

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
68
peacetilence said:
If it's doing 1920x1080 in that screenshot then it's not fine because the monitor is 1920x1200. Notice in the picture that the image is filling the entire screen? The aspect ration is f'ed because the monitor can't properly detect 1080p but confuses it for 1920x1200 How can you people play games and watch movies and say it looks normal when everyone looks like they were squished out the ass of an elephant?
Eh, I was refering to gprime's post. Not the other guy who posted screens from a 360 dev kit on the Dell. In gprime's shots, a 1080i signal fed to the 2405 produced a proper aspect ratio, with black bars on the top and bottom. Perhaps the 360 has the ability to scale the dashboard to 1920x1200? Who knows? There isn't any gameplay footage being shown there, so don't be too concerned just yet.

Btw, I can't stand when things (games/movies) are not displayed correctly in their proper aspect ratio.
 

Yaka

Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
613
think the 360 shots are with the screen on fill mode, as i think its dashboard is in 720p

my ps2 shots are all in fill mode bar gran tourismo. pointless playing 480i/p or 576i games in 1:1 mode all you get is small screen in the middle
 

Cannibal Corpse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,199
I don't understand, so XBOX 360 produces greater than 480p for normal HD TVs, but 2405 can not display larger than 480p?
 

Ummagumma

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
82
Cannibal Corpse said:
I don't understand, so XBOX 360 produces greater than 480p for normal HD TVs, but 2405 can not display larger than 480p?
XBOX 360 produces even 720p (1280x720 resolution progressive scan) and 1080i (1920x1080 resolution interlaced). Such an increase in resolution is VERY good. But to achive such, the screen needs HD components, and the 2405fpw has SD components with a limit of 480p.

Haven't you wondered why nobody could see difference between 720p (1280x720) and 1080i (1920x1080) and some said even that 720p looked better on the 2405fpw? Try it on the desktop... use 1280x720 res scaled to full screen and then try 1920x1080... Do you see the difference then? ;)

If everything is downconverted to 480 anyway and then upscaled, then 720p downscaled would look better then 1080i because of the interlacing... :)
 

gprime

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
38
Ok I don't have a VGA cable yet... but does it look good with regular component cables? YES! It looks great! I don't know why regular xbox looks so terribly fuzzy with lines through it ... maybe I had a cheap cable or something.

Dashboard:


Kameo:


And a few more here.


Im happy. I honestly thought it would look like crap (since it did with my regular xbox).
So happy... that I think I might cancel my amazon order for those VGA cables.. :D
 

gprime

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
38
Sorry.. it's component, not composite. But I thought my 2405 handled component like crap since I have component cables for my Xbox, and I hooked it up once, and I had all these lines going through the screen and stuff. But... I guess I just needed some good cables!

And I turned 1:1 scaling on.. and the 2405 must be able to accept a 1080i signal properly because it fills the entire screen (except for the black bars):



And the xbox360 does upscale 720p games to 1080i properly (Kameo plays full screen, with just black bars on the top and bottom).



(this screen looks a little blurry since there's movement and my camera isnt the greatest -- it looks better in person).
 

speculative

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
252
Good gravy - only the most jaded graphics whores couldn't admit that looks pretty spiffy. Thanks for the pics - that gives me a good scale by which to judge the comments of people who complain about image quality on LCD's...
 

Fast Drive

n00b
Joined
Nov 2, 2005
Messages
19
The xbox Vga cable will be able to:

VGA cables will give you six different resolution options: 640x480, 848x480, 1024x768, 1280x720, 1280x768, and 1360x768. Component cables will give you 480p, 720p, and 1080i resolution choices. Games are actually rendered internally at 720p, and the ATI video engine scales the video up or down to the desired resolution.

http://www.gamespot.com/features/6139672/p-2.html
 
Top