Will Alder Lake ever support PCIe5 SSDs?

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,677
As title.
As far as I know Alder Lake supports only 16 lanes of PCIe5.

Those lanes are usually dedicated to the GPU in the first PCIe slot.

Will we be able to use PCIe5 SSDs on Alder Lake?
 

ZodaEX

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
4,377
Sure, just use a PCI-E to M.2 adapter to get PCI-E 5.0 speeds for your SSD.
 

Falkentyne

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2000
Messages
1,838
Yes but it uses CPU lanes, so it may knock down the GPU to Gen 4 if both are installed.
Keep in mind no one knows the answer to this yet since you can't buy either a PCIE 5.0 video card or SSD yet.
 

ochadd

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
1,139
Would seem logical that they would design it to allow the x16 slot to operate at 8x. Then the other slots could have x8 split between them. Think my 7700k board did something like that with M.2 and SATA ports. If you ran a second M.2 then some SATA ports were disabled due to bandwidth limitations.
To think that we're this close to 15 GBps storage devices in our home devices messes with my brain. Weren't we just talking about WD Raptors in RAID 0?
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,677
Would seem logical that they would design it to allow the x16 slot to operate at 8x. Then the other slots could have x8 split between them. Think my 7700k board did something like that with M.2 and SATA ports. If you ran a second M.2 then some SATA ports were disabled due to bandwidth limitations.
To think that we're this close to 15 GBps storage devices in our home devices messes with my brain. Weren't we just talking about WD Raptors in RAID 0?

ahahahah, good old raprtors 10K RPM :D
 

LukeTbk

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
2,497
Will we be able to use PCIe5 SSDs on Alder Lake?
Apparently via the chipset (when they will show up):
https://www.pcmag.com/about/alder-l...ipset-is-this-intels-most-innovative-platform

The remaining four PCIe 5.0 lanes are intended for use with M.2 NVMe SSDs.


13-119-504-V02.jpg
 

Spicedaddy

n00b
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
62
From my understanding the m.2 slot running off the CPU is PCIE 4.0, and only the 2 PCIE slots are 5.0.

The Asus Z690 Hero can do it with the Hyper m.2 card, but it has to be installed in one of the 2 PCIE 5.0 slots running off the CPU (video card drops to 8X...), not the bottom slot running off the chipset as that's 4.0 only.
 

realworld

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
430
ADL and Z690 are capable of using PCIe 5,0 SSD at full bandwidth. The problem is that you cannot use GPU and SSD together with each running at full blown PCIe 5.0 x16. 🥲
 
Top