Why Tabs Are on Top in Firefox 4

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by HardOCP News, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. Deadgye

    Deadgye [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Like the video said, it's preference. You can say that it makes more sense to have the back and forward buttons and address bar under the tabs so that it's associated with them, and it does. But I think it makes sense to have a function that has the same effect on all tabs to be static.

    Anyway, as long as they give us the option to choose I don't care. What I want is firefox to give me the option to make the new tab "+" button close the current tab by middle clicking on it. That way I can have the functionality of the good old red x back without losing the new awesome new tab +.
     
  2. Deadgye

    Deadgye [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Can't figure out how to edit my previous post.. so I guess I'll have to double post.

    On that subject; this forum is one of the few that doesn't list your tree at the bottom of the thread as well. Every time I want to go from the thread I'm in back to the forum I have to scroll all the way up to click on the links at the top. Pretty annoying when you're all the way at the bottom of the thread and the back button doesn't bring you back to the forum. :( Is there a preference anywhere to add the directory tree to the bottom as well?
     
  3. R0N1

    R0N1 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    I really prefer the way it is, though I could probably live on with a change like that.. :)
     
  4. Deadgye

    Deadgye [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Ah, another thing I want to ask about chrome/etc users- The tabs are on top and the title bar is gone.. so when you have a lot of tabs open doesn't it make it impossible to use the top thingy efficiently? Like if I need to move firefox from my secondary monitor to my main I just swing my mouse up, double click, and then grab and drag firefox to the top of my primary monitor. But if the tabs are there.. wouldn't I just end up moving the tab?

    (Where the heck is the edit button!?)
     
  5. Bahamut

    Bahamut n00b

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    We're not allowed to edit posts in the News forum, so getchershitstraight the first time, bub. ;)

    Preview, Preview, Preview...
     
  6. lordroy

    lordroy Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    [​IMG]

    Huh?
     
  7. piscian18

    piscian18 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,021
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    wow. who gives a shit? really? it's fucking tabs.
     
  8. lordroy

    lordroy Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    If you dont care, dont go into a thread that is talking about tabs. I think they call that trolling, usually with excessive cursing for no real reason.
     
  9. mynamehere

    mynamehere [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,762
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Depending on how the browser handles tooltips & other flyouts, I actually prefer my tabs on the bottom...as in the bottom of the page. Whether they're on top or bottom of the url bar seems more trivial IMO, I can kinda see their point, but everyone has their preferences, so why not let the user choose bottom of the page as well?
     
  10. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,670
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Yes, when you use WinXP + the WinXP default skin + the Opera default skin and have the menu bar hidden (the default now), Opera puts the tabs up top where the title bar would be. Awesome for laptops.

    I can't stand not seeing the title bar. But, it's a *small* sacrifice for more vertical screen real estate.

    (Opera's tabs in this mode don't touch the very top of the screen in maximized mode, which can be a downside if you want to ram your mouse all the way to the top of the screen (without precision) to click on a tab. However, Opera's tabs are like this for a reason so that you can still double-left-click the top of Opera to maximize/restore liked you'd do on the title bar.)
     
  11. jellyhead

    jellyhead Gawd

    Messages:
    723
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    I dunno - piscian is lending the discussion some much needed perspective. I mean, it's fucking tabs...

    Anyway, FF FTL. It got really rubbish a really long time ago.
     
  12. chinesepiratefood

    chinesepiratefood 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,629
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Welp, looks like I am not using tabs on top. If the state of the google search box is dependent on tabs I would kill myself.
     
  13. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,670
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Could you explain why it's a problem? Thanks.
     
  14. 3erious

    3erious n00b

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    The new Firefox doesn't have a title bar anymore so i don't see the problem.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. 3erious

    3erious n00b

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    sorry cant edit .

    [​IMG]
     
  16. TexUs

    TexUs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,746
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    That looks god awful terrible interface to use...

    Google Chrome bests it, honestly. I'm still using FF, only reason I don't use Chrome is because it's Google.
     
  17. lordroy

    lordroy Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    What is wrong with my FF interface? It is small and compact... nothing is in the way.

    Stumble button - Nav buttons - New-tab button - Temp-allow-all-scripts button - Compact Menu - Favorites - Uppity button - [Address Bar] - Mail-to button - Show-me-more button - [Search Bar] - Multi-panel button - Page-info button - Clear-private-data button. Everything you could possibly need, all on the menu bar, and all of them have keyboard shortcuts if I want to use em... using keyconfig.

    I have had MANY people tell me my firefox was the easiest and most intuitive interface they ever used. I really have no idea how you could possibly find fault with it, unless you are just stating opinion, in which you are entitled to.

    I have Chrome as a backup browser, just in case a page doesn't want to behave within Firefox. Not wanting to use Chrome because it is "Google" is like... not using honey because it comes from nature. There is nothing wrong with "Google", "Firefox", "Chrome"...

    ...but I think we can all agree that M$ and IE has to go.
     
  18. TexUs

    TexUs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,746
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    It's time to come out of 1990 interface era.
    If it works for you, great. But Chrome is much more simplistic, space saving, and fluid design. Even after tweaking the hell out of my FF, I still like Chrome's out-of-the-box better.

    "M$", really? That stopped being cool the day it was invented.

    And yea, IE has to go... Because it's beating up on your other favorite other browsers?

    I hate IE as much as the next guy, but just hating it because of brand is ignorant. If Microsoft hits IE9 out of the park and I don't have anymore need to download another browser out of the box, that'd be great.
     
  19. DeathPrincess

    DeathPrincess [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,205
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Does FF have pron mode yet??? If not i'll stick to IE
     
  20. lordroy

    lordroy Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Yep, 1990 was a good year... I was in tech back then too. Oh and in 1980 as well. Of course back then all I had to play with was a HP-85 w/16K of ram and a 5 inch screen, and of course that was the year DOS came out, boy those were the years.

    Like I said, I also use chrome, and it takes more screen real-estate than my Firefox. You can't get much more fluid than having everything you need on one bar. Maybe you tweaked your Firefox a little too far (to hell?).

    Yes, the M$ wasn't really funny, but it is easily recognized for what it is. Maybe you were into computers back in the day, when you had to BUY Internet Explorer for your Windows 3.1, and hope that it worked right.

    I am not hating IE because of it's "Brand", I hate it for what it is. You, sir, are the one who dislikes Chrome because it is "Google" (which I feel is ignorant). And yes I did see where the IE9 beta was shown to do very well in early tests. Guess what, IE6 did very well in early tests, and it is considered to be, by many, the worst browser in modern history. Do I think IE9 will be a hit, well, only time will tell, but I am sure you will let M$ tell you.

    Ya it would be great if I didn't have to download a browser again... my operating system should give me an option to install them when it is installed, but that is a pipe dream right? I use XP over Vista and Win7 for my OS, I use FF over IE., and I download many programs to replace the ones that dont work as well as the ones I have handed to me. When I need to upgrade to something better, I will look for it, but for now I think it works just fine.

    No need to make things personal, I just wanted to know what you did not like about my interface and the placement of the Menu Bar / Tab Bar (trying to keep this thread within the original discussion).
     
  21. Decibel

    Decibel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,806
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2000
    IIRC private browsing was introduced with version 3. I know it's an option on v3.6.4, which I'm currently running.

    *

    Some of you run some ugly interfaces.

    On that note, thanks niconx. Stratabuddy with Strat40 is a great combo. It also gives me a chance to try out tabs on top to see what all this hoopla is about.
     
  22. Grimham

    Grimham [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    I'll admit, I didn't make it through the whole video. But I don't see any reason to move the tabs. Unless you're going to put them all the way at the top like Chrome it's pretty pointless.
     
  23. Knight_of_BAAWA

    Knight_of_BAAWA Gawd

    Messages:
    806
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Actually, when you design the interface you also look at how the language is written and read. And I'm fairly certain that most languages extant read left-to-right. So not only does the button placement (and QWERTY keyboard design) help lefties, it also works out well for the fact that we read and write left-to-right. Yes, I know that there are some (like Hebrew) which are right-to-left, and some which are (or can be) top-to-bottom. It's just a nice confluence of coincidences that lefties have it better for computers.
     
  24. TexUs

    TexUs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,746
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    My FF is much improved over default. The problem is I've got to sacrifice features in FF to rival the same thing Chrome does. It all comes down to the Title bar, really. You can't get rid of it in FF, Chrome will always be more flexible.


    I'm hating Chrome because of Google's PRIVACY issues. Google and Privacy don't go together, most people realize this... Hence why I just said I don't use it due to Google.

    Heck, I'm considering getting an Android device, maybe I'll turn my whole life back over to them again.

    You're hating on IE9 because of IE9. You don't even know what the hell features are going into it yet and you're calling for establishment of it. THAT is hating based on brand.
     
  25. niconx

    niconx 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,945
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    You could always use ChromePlus or Iron. They are the same thing as Chrome only with all the creepy Google'isms yanked out.
     
  26. HaMMerHeD

    HaMMerHeD [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,855
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Their reasons for moving it make sense, but honestly, I just don't care about where the stupid tabs are.
     
  27. badcookies

    badcookies [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,555
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    1) scroll all the way down and look at the bottom right for "Forum Jump"
    2) home key.

    that said, i do like my title bar. under title bar my ff looks like this:
    [​IMG].
    (thats a stock pic cuz im not at home).

    when i have a bunch of tabs open my firefox shows up like this when i ctrl+tab:
    [​IMG]

    just simple double click of this config setting: "browser.ctrlTab.previews"

    and also... i've been having my startmenu/windows taskbar auto hide since win98. does no one who need the screen space auto hide? i mean, you're gonna move the mouse down there anyway to click so why not let it pop up when you need it?

    alternatively, windosws key+tab (alt+tab) works well in win7 to show preview of each screen if content is what matters...
     
  28. TexUs

    TexUs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,746
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Except they aren't updated as Google pushes the updates...
     
  29. 4330thgink

    4330thgink Gawd

    Messages:
    647
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Windowed browsing for me.. ...you all can have your tabs anywhere you want so long as I can do windowed. I'd sooner never get on the internet again than use tabs. (I multitask/power surf several subjects and sites at once cross-verifying stuff).
     
  30. TexUs

    TexUs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,746
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Only advantage to separate windows is alt+tab ability. Which is reproduced between tabs in the browser sigh ctl+tab (or whatever it is).
     
  31. Disposed

    Disposed [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,163
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Gotta love how someone says a browser has a lot of wasted space then a bunch of people show screenshots of modified versions of FF to argue.
     
  32. xXaNaXx

    xXaNaXx Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    i'm with you on this....i much prefer having my tabs at the very bottom of the entire browser window, down by the task bar, and I rearrange the top to only have 2 lines....one for all my bookmarks, and one for file menus, navigation buttons, address bar, etc. right above it. with the tabs at the bottom of the window, i only have to move my mouse a fraction of an inch to move between switching active windows on the task bar and switching between tabs in the browser window....all it takes is a very slight flick of the wrist to move between the two.

    i can't fucking stand how IE7/IE8 won't allow you to put the navigation controls, file menus, address bar, etc. all on the same bar....it drives me crazy having to have 3+ bars at the top of my browser, and not being able to do anything about it.

    i don't need the damn Google "Search" bar at the top of the window either, that thing just makes the browser look cluttered to me.

    i also don't need the "New Tab" button, and definitely don't need the "Close Tab" button on each tab, i simply set my tab bar to always show, then i can just double-click the tab bar to open a new tab, or double-click on an open tab to close it....all of which is made easier because i have my wheel button set to double-click with a single press.

    and i actually do like having that "useless" title bar at the top of the page....it makes a really good place to stick my winamp bar in docked mode at the top of my screen so it doesn't obscure anything else that i may actually need to see....i like to keep it "always on top" when i'm streaming music from the web (Philosomatika FTW!) so i can see the title of the song playing at a glance, or be able to adjust the volume with the scroll wheel without having to locate the player to make it active first.

    they had better not EVER take away my ability to move the tab bar to the bottom of the browser window, or the ability to put everything except my bookmarks bar on a single line at the top of the window

    and for that matter, i can't stand the "Aero" interface....i mean, it's nice & pretty and all, but i much prefer the old windows "classic" look, with just the squared-off edges/corners and the normal gray background color, and the normal rectangular "Start" button that actually says "Start" on it. all Aero does is take up unnecessary CPU cycles that could be better utilitzed for my gaming or video encoding. i almost always keep a browser window open at all times, even when gaming (i only really play WoW, and use the browser to look things up for quests/NPC locations, etc.), and things like Aero just take CPU cycles away from whatever else i'm doing. i much prefer function over form when it comes to my computing.

    to me, it just seems more slim & streamlined this way....i just wish i could find a way to combine the "tabs" bar & the "status" bar into a single bar to get rid of one more line of nothingness.

    [​IMG]
     
  33. HardOCP News

    HardOCP News [H] News

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    The guy that made this video ;)
     
  34. Azhar

    Azhar Fixing stupid since 1972

    Messages:
    18,875
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    is that Windows 95?
     
  35. bigstusexy

    bigstusexy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,146
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Why not put tabs on the bottom, I mean the complete bottom. Tabs on the bottom the status area is above the tab and fades away after the tab load. If you double click the tab it either lets you type on the tab like its the wonder bar or it highlights the wonder bar as if you clicked it. Keep the wonder bar at the top.
     
  36. dandragonrage

    dandragonrage [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,298
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Same. It interferes with the remote desktop bar which I do NOT autohide for various reasons. I have to resize my Chrome in windowed mode every time I RDP.