Why not > 5TB internal HDD drives for laptops?

ChosenUno

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
1,282
Why can't you use an external SSD? I would just have a bunch of 2TB SSDs around and bring what I need with me on each trip.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
27
Yah. That's what I will probably do to replace my 4 TB HDDs, someday, when prices come down.
You could look into a mobile DAS as well. I wouldn't be surprised if there are some neat portable 2.5in or M.2 mini DASes where there are 2 or 4 of each run into a RAID with TB or USB ports
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
386
You could look into a mobile DAS as well. I wouldn't be surprised if there are some neat portable 2.5in or M.2 mini DASes where there are 2 or 4 of each run into a RAID with TB or USB ports
I'm the OP. This thread brings out the best in [H]. Good, smart, useful suggestions. This thread got me thinking about the two 4 TB external drives I schlep around with me when I travel. They are heavy and take up a lot of space in my laptop bag. What about replacing them with NVMe sticks in an external enclosure? Small? Check. Light? Check? Good performance? Check. Enough capacity? Check. Affordable? Absofreekinlutely NOT.
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,342
I'm the OP. This thread brings out the best in [H]. Good, smart, useful suggestions. This thread got me thinking about the two 4 TB external drives I schlep around with me when I travel. They are heavy and take up a lot of space in my laptop bag. What about replacing them with NVMe sticks in an external enclosure? Small? Check. Light? Check? Good performance? Check. Enough capacity? Check. Affordable? Absofreekinlutely NOT.

2TB m.2 drives aren't that expensive anymore especially if you need the speed and the random iops.
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
386
2TB m.2 drives aren't that expensive anymore especially if you need the speed and the random iops.
I was wondering why one NVMe drive external enclosure is limited to 2 TB. Anyone know why? I can't remember if I saw this product on Newegg or Amazon.
 

ChosenUno

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
1,282
I was wondering why one NVMe drive external enclosure is limited to 2 TB. Anyone know why? I can't remember if I saw this product on Newegg or Amazon.

I haven't seen this info anywhere. It shouldn't be a thing unless the OS doesn't support it by default, which judging by the number of 4TB external HDDs I doubt this is the case.

In any case I'd grab a USB 4.0/TB enclosure + 2 cheap 4TB NVME SSDs and call it a day. Bring along a philips head for transfer of drives.
 

ZodaEX

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
4,120
I would point out that the read speed of the Seagate 4TB 2.5" drive I had in a few weeks ago, topped out at 80MBps and by the halfway point was a scorching 20-30MBps. This was with large video files...

If you want to live with that kind of speed for big data you need help.

No, U.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
4,673
Yah. I have these leftover SATA 2.5" HDDs from old laptops, where I bought the cheapest config, then replaced the HDD with an SSD. Now I have no idea what I will do with these extra drives except place them in empty drive enclosures.
That's the best use. Or just put them in extra drive bays internally since there's always more ports on a motherboard.
 
Top