Why does processor report 1/2 the advertised speed? (PICS)

ChrisII

Weaksauce
Hello,

I've been having some difficulties with my laptop. I don't know if it's normal or not so any help is appreciated. Basically my processor (P4 3.06GHz) is running at 1.55-1.6Ghz.

Actually it kind of switches between 3.06 or 1.6. I was running SuperPI (out of curiousity), with CPUz on and that's how I found out.

picture:

http://tinypic.com/kd8xfl.jpg

So what gives? How do I get it to run at 3.06 all the time? Though I'm a newbie, I have done my research (thus finding this site) and have disabled power management in windows (set it to Desktop/Home Computer).

Regards,

Chris

thats completely normal, its to save battery, it will jump to full speed when needed.

Are you running on that battery when you took that picture?

If you're looking to run at full speed all the time, you must plug it in.

If you open up the system in the control panel, you'll see that the core speed changes there too.

I'm plugged in, nearly all the time. This laptop is plugged into so many things it's pratically a desktop.

I've had major performance issues with games, even when running at ultra low resolutions (640x480, Call of Duty, low textures, low everything.). The game would go fast, then slow down to a CRAWL, the go fast again. It would cycle like this forever.

I'm not totally dellusional; laptops aren't gaming PCs. However, I have a relatively fast processor, relatively ok graphics card, and generally a relatively modern laptop (purchased 1year and a half ago, at the time the top speeds were 3.2GHz for laptops).

So basically this is normal? I would have to get speedswitch XP?

Regards,

Chris

My T42 also runs at slower speeds to save on battery, although it always runs at full speeds when plugged in.