WHS v2 "Vail" leaks online

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by Archer75, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. xcetera

    xcetera [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    I have a server box running WHS. I've been waiting for this, wonder when it will come to Technet?
     
  2. Konowl

    Konowl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Hmm was just about to buy WHS even though I could get server 2008 for free. Any idea when this would mjake it to retail? 2010? I don't want to buy WHS now and then have this come out by the end of the year!
     
  3. cavediver

    cavediver Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    It looks like WHS 2010 will require a minimum 120GB system drive.
     
  4. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    I would not expect us to see WHS v2 in 2010
     
  5. Kendrak

    Kendrak [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009

    Messages:
    21,142
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Maybe not retail, But we can hope for open beta and RC.

    /crosses fingers
     
  6. DeChache

    DeChache The ONE - Your Ignorance Annoys Me

    Messages:
    6,881
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    I'm with you. I'm really excited about this.
     
  7. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,571
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    i'll put twenty bucks down on june/july release. call it a hunch.
     
  8. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Hmmm...if they keep their normal 90 day RTM window that would mean RTM version to technet by March/April. I think you may be optimistic - but I like how you think.
     
  9. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    I hope you are right, but i just dont think so.
     
  10. pjkenned

    pjkenned [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,971
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Another thought is that if this is R2 based, they are probably 90%+ completed before they start adding any WHS functionality since they aren't building/ testing from scratch. I could be wrong though.
     
  11. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
  12. R0N1

    R0N1 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Thanks! This is exciting, I've been really waiting for this. Hopefully it gets still released this year..
     
  13. Asposium

    Asposium Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    351
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Hardware requirements for Vail:

    The system requirements for the software are interesting: available in a 64-bit edition only - at least for now - you'll need at least a 2GHz x64 processor, 1GB of RAM, and a storage device of at least 120GB. Vail offers no support for any file system beyond NTFS, but has had a version bump to its code base - bringing it up to Windows Server 2008 R2 level. The 2GHz CPU seems the biggest kicker here, as many WHS boxes are built on Intel's Atom technology that exclusively sits under this frequency threshold.​

    SOURCE WEBSITE

    If true, that CPU requirement will require a server upgrade. Fortunate then that I was planning such an upgrade!
     
  14. Kendrak

    Kendrak [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009

    Messages:
    21,142
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    I'm guessing that that is a single core @ 2GHz.

    And just about any dual core (ex:E1200, E2140) would be fine?
     
  15. Kulith

    Kulith Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    259
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Also, although I'm a huge fan of 64bit software, the x64 exclusivity makes it tough to build a server out of old platforms :(

    I have 2 old p4 systems that aren't 64bit
     
  16. Asposium

    Asposium Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    351
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    maybe, but my current server is atom based

    as are the vast majority of pre-build systems
     
  17. Hunterzyph

    Hunterzyph Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    There aren't any 64-bit Atom CPU's either. Looks like the choice to use Windows Server 2008 R2 (a strictly 64-bit OS) as the foundation is going to pretty much eliminate the same system upgrade option all together.

    Edit: Atom 330 supports 64 bit instructions.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  18. dydx

    dydx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
  19. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Nothing about the WHS app needs more CPU power.

    They made a decision to base it on server2008v2 and these are the same minimums MS quotes for that. They are the platform's requirements.

    My money says you can still run it with less just that MS won't support you (except the x64 part - there's just no getting around that one).
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  20. huskerpat

    huskerpat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    I hope so, because my server has an e2220 in it.
     
  21. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    All of the Atoms (including 230, 330, N230 and the new ones just released) support 64 bit instructions and can run x64 os. I've run Win7 x64 on a 230 (painful) and a 330 (not bad at all). In the WHS application they should do just fine.

    BTW, I downloaded overnight last night. I plan to give it a go loading it on a toy system that does not meet their minimums - an Atom 330. Should have some results to post next week (unless the weekend gets busy with more interesting things...).
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  22. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    I can confirm it loads and runs on an Atom 330. A bit sluggish. It didn't find all the right drivers so I've got some manual updating to do. I was in a hurry - its pretty ghetto, but it does run. And runs nicely.

    BOXD945GCLF2 Atom 330 MB
    2Gb generic DDR2 (single stick)
    2x Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB disk
    PicoPSU 150ATX
    MiniBox M350 case (open, obviously, 'cuz the two 3.5inch drives won't fit...)

    [​IMG]
     
  23. pjkenned

    pjkenned [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,971
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    I use the Asus ION based N330 board as a Win 7 x64 Media Center box. Actually works well. I will say between the second core and the ION graphics it makes my old dell mini 9 seem super sluggish.

    I would think the Zotac board with the PCIe x16 slot would be cool since you could install a real raid card on it.
     
  24. -=Antimatter=-

    -=Antimatter=- 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,342
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Should be fine, all those support 64 bit instructions.
     
  25. Neb

    Neb 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,320
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2000
    I was also thinking of doing something similar to this. Namely, I want to buy a controller that supports spindown as my current card does not and is wasting a lot of energy since my server isn't all that active. What cards were you looking at?
     
  26. MrCrispy

    MrCrispy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,944
    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    I see a big change here - shares are now mapped as drive letters. I'm betting DE went through some big changes.

    [​IMG]
     
  27. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    I dunno, im not convinced its a huge departure from what we already know.

    You can map shares to drive letters in windows XP
     
  28. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    2nd build complete. P5B Deluxe MB, 4x7200.11 1.5TB on ICH8R, 4GB ram, QX6700 (yes, ridiculous, but it was already in this MB...). Things I tested:

    - Load system onto Raid1 drives. PASS. Simple and easy, especially since ICH8R drives are already included in the load. This fixed having to slipstream the install to do this. Big plus.

    - Add >2TB drive to pool. FAIL. DE still limited to seeing 2TB.

    - Driver updates. FAIL. Older WHS had no trouble finding drivers using automatic update. This version struggles. This is likely because not many desktop parts have official support for Server2008 tagged in MS driver database. W7 x64 drivers load fine. This is also something MS could fix before release...
     
  29. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Noticed something else new to Vail: it appears to spin down the disks when they have not been used for a while. I noticed yesterday that the Atom-based build took a while to respond the first time you accessed it after it had been sitting idle. This morning I happened to be sitting next to it when I accessed it and heard the drives spinning up.

    I know the current release does not do this - even if you tried the drive balancer in DE just hit them too often to make it work. Could be a big win for power-conscious users.
     
  30. pjkenned

    pjkenned [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,971
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Dumb question but does V2 let you use more than 4x 2TB MBR disks?

    Somewhat odd if MS keeps the 2TB limit. 2TB drives have been out for quite a while now and I'm guessing 2.5TB drives will see the light of day before Vail is released.
     
  31. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    No you cannot use more than 2TB volumes
    But there is not limit on how many you can use.
     
  32. pjkenned

    pjkenned [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,971
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Well I'm mainly looking at an Areca 1680LP, Dell Perc 5/i (pretty much against this), Adaptec 5805, 3085, or 31605 (well two of them) since they are all sitting around :)

    I will say, this i3-530 is going to make the Atom N330/ION and the new Pine Trail irrelevant for WHS builds. The integrated GPU, 32nm process, DDR3 v. DDR2 and etc + the ability to turn off a core more or less make the power consumption really good. At the same time the boards are coming with PCIe x1 slots (perfect for x1 Intel Pro/1000 PT's), 6-8 SATA ports on board with a PCIe x16 slot (more disk connectivity through a raid controller or simple HBA) and a PCI slot (or multiple) if you have a legacy PCI wireless adapter, TV tuner, or something like that.

    Performance wise... I'm using the same Patriot PS-100 32GB SSD's to run Win 7 x64 off of, and it isn't even close. The i3-530 is FAST, and super scary since it overclocks a ton with stock cooling. With HT you can actually do some encoding, and it does support virtualization so for $30 more (I spent $200 for the Intel mATX H55 board + the CPU v. $169 for the Zotac IONITX-F-E) you are getting a significantly better system. The difference running Server 2008 R2 thus far is night and day.
     
  33. theinv

    theinv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Anyone know if you download the torrents version of the windows home sever V2, will you be able to convert it to full version when it is official release?

    Does it supports upgrade of existing WHS V1 to V2?
     
  34. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
  35. ATWindsor

    ATWindsor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Does it still have the 10 user limit? Thats the main problem with WHS IMHO.

    AtW
     
  36. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Yes. There remains a limit of 10 userids (11, actually, since "administrator" does not count).

    There is also a limit of 10 clients running the connector software (i.e., 10 fully registered clients using WHS backup, etc).

    But they don't impose a limit of 10 total clients using the shares (many of my clients are media players, etc., that share the same user ID and don't set up the connector software).
     
  37. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Well it is windows Home server.

    Not many homes facilitate more than 10 people.

    WHS is not an enthusiast product by any means, and was never intended to be.
    Yea i wish it could do more, but thats not the market M$ was after. Just how it is. :)
     
  38. Neb

    Neb 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,320
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2000
    I'm currently running a 31605, but I'm thinking of upgrading to a 5085 for the spin down features along with the external ports.

    Thanks for bringing up the i3-530. I didn't realize just how little power it used and after looking it over my next build might very well use it instead of my original plan of a ion setup. The fact that it should also be able to run virtualized WHS is also a pro :)
     
  39. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,462
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    You can also turn a core off in the mobo's BIOS to save even more electricity if you want.
    Then turn it on, if you need more kick :)
     
  40. Neb

    Neb 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,320
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2000
    Read about that as well, very spiffy feature! Ironically my desktop is still running a q9550, so I do end up going this route my file server will be more advanced than my desktop technologically :)