Who's in the 16+ GB club?

wazoo42

Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2002
Messages
938
UPDATE2: It looks pretty good with 20GB, or at least memtest is happy.

UPDATE: Well, as I stated 24GB didn't pan out, but it looks like 20GB is doing ok. Now if I could just get my raid controller I'd be set.

I recently got an Iwill dk88 to go with a pair of opteron 275s. Here are a couple of pics with 24GB of ram. Unfortunately it ran into errors with memtest after about 3 hours. Probably from mixing dual rank 2GB pieces with single rank one and two sided 1GB sticks.

dk88_memory.jpg


dk88_post.jpg


dk88_memtest.jpg


dk88_memtest20GB.jpg


dk88_memtest20GB_50hrs.jpg
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
18,001
I'm not part of the 16gb club memory wise but I'm part of the 10tb club storage wise :cool:
 

mikeblas

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
12,776
wazoo42 said:
I recently got an Iwill dk88 to go with a pair of opteron 275s. Here are a couple of pics with 24GB of ram.
What are you usin' it for?
 

lithium726

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,195
holy...

i think there are gonna be very few people in this club with you...
 

mikeblas

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
12,776
Well, we've got some machines in the labs with more than a terabyte of memory. But they're pretty far from being in my office!
 

wazoo42

Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2002
Messages
938
I'm a grad student in physical chemistry. This (and the other computers in the cluster) is being used for computational chemistry, ab initio stuff like MOLPRO and Gaussian.
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
18,001
So this isn't really personal... then it doesn't count. *Counts his GS320's sitting here adding up the hundreds of gigs of ram*
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
15,190
Ockie said:
So this isn't really personal... then it doesn't count. *Counts his GS320's sitting here adding up the hundreds of gigs of ram*

Actually I think he bought that with his own dime and they are his own boxes.
 

wazoo42

Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2002
Messages
938
Thanks Robstar. I should probably have mentioned that. I did buy all of these with my own money, so whatever I had before is now gone, long gone. :) At least they can keep me warm at night, right?
 

ambit

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 7, 2000
Messages
3,249
8Gb (maxed) in a NetServer 6000R at home.
Why? Not sure.. because I had it laying around?
 

visaris

Gawd
Joined
Apr 14, 2005
Messages
842
Yeah, I have 16GB in my dual Opteron 275 (dual-core) system. Great setup. 16GB of RAM, four AMD64 cores at 2.2GHZ... nice. That is my work sytem, my home setup is in my sig:
 

wazoo42

Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2002
Messages
938
Yeah, the screen is a might dusty. The whole cluster setup is less than ideal (it is on part of an extra table that is too tall to use a chair), so I try not to worry too much about the small stuff (read: I'm lazy).
 

spectrumbx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
1,647
I think you should lower it to 8GB+.

I will have 8GB soon. Waiting for parts.

Can you show us your system resource (ram) utilization with all your programs runnng?
 

BillLeeLee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
13,486
Only a member of the 3 GB club, but that's a lot of RAM buddy.

What OS are you running on this machine? Some flavor of Linux?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
3,318
lol, I was looking the other day couldnt find any. As for hotdeals, I dont think they like ebay auctions.
 

unhappy_mage

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2005
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
11,455
Heck, for that matter, here's an 8GB dimm. I don't know if I'd actually buy it, considering the amount of details given, but it theoretically exists! :D

 

Emission

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
4,420
Holy kajoles, for that price I could buy 80GBs worth of 2 or 4 GB modules :eek: . Jeez, and I thought 2GB was a whole hell of a lot :p
 

lithium726

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,195
Lord of Shadows said:
lol, I was looking the other day couldnt find any. As for hotdeals, I dont think they like ebay auctions.
you can as long as its avaliable to everyone, so this would be applicable, i think.
 

unhappy_mage

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2005
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
11,455
Unless I'm reading it wrong, it's only $1549. That's about 15x what a 1gb stick costs, or about 5x what a 2gb stick costs. Five times the cost for four times the capacity seems ridiculously good, given the huge density.

Unless you know somewhere to get 2gb modules for $39? In which case... share! :D

 

AreEss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Messages
2,180
unhappy_mage said:
Unless I'm reading it wrong, it's only $1549. That's about 15x what a 1gb stick costs, or about 5x what a 2gb stick costs. Five times the cost for four times the capacity seems ridiculously good, given the huge density.

SMART Part number Su5721G45D8E8uu. It's a 2.05" 1024x72 (256Mx4) stacked TSOP.

I don't trust that price; that's right around what I pay for ATP 4GBs. SMART makes good DIMMs, and has for many years, but that price is definitely too good to be true. (Not to mention, I don't know any boards that fully support 8GB DIMMs.)
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
981
unhappy_mage said:
640K should be enough for anyone.
hearing this statement 640K times should be enough for anyone.

since you didnt specify what kind of club it was, only a capacity, yes, i'm a member. i have way more than 16 GB of hard drive space. :)

my board supports 16 GB of ram, so i'm probably a future member. but right now, we are jealous of you. when i finally max out this board, people will feel sorry for me that i have *only* 16 GB.
 

lesman

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 30, 2004
Messages
3,913
Like many have asked, what do you do with all thhat RAM?! I seriously doubt any good use can come of all that RAM...well...at least you're future safe, I guess! :p

Seriously, though, what do you do with it? How does the computer run? Is it anything spectacualr?
 
Top