Who's Happy So Far with Ryzen 3000 Series?

BravO)))

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
6,456
Just finished my build today, so it will take time to give an informed opinion. Coming back after a long time with Intel. Sentry 2.0 case, Amd 3600, msi b450i, gskill 16gb 3200 ripjaws v, evga 1080 ti sc2, evga 650gm, and a hp ex920 1tb.

20200125_191719.jpg

20200125_191802.jpg
 

Riptide_NVN

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Messages
2,058
So all this assembling PC thing is a continuation for more than 30 years now.

Good lord has it been that long. Our first system was an 8088. We stuck with that until my mom finally bought us a 486DX/50 (not DX2). That was a $2500 system. We had some issues with it due to heat and I think it ended up needing repair at one point or another. The DX50 ran pretty warm.
 

bobzdar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Messages
1,947
Good lord has it been that long. Our first system was an 8088. We stuck with that until my mom finally bought us a 486DX/50 (not DX2). That was a $2500 system. We had some issues with it due to heat and I think it ended up needing repair at one point or another. The DX50 ran pretty warm.

Same here - started with an 8088 tandy 1000, then an ibm ps/2 80286 (microchannel!), then a 486 dx2 66, Pentium 120, k6 266, athlon 750 (slot a!), Thunderbird 1ghz, athlonxp 1800+, athlon64 3000+, 64x2 3800+, phenom II 955 be, r7 1700, 2700x, 3700x, 3950x.... and a few laptops mixed in there. I call the time between the 955be and the r7 1700 the pc "dark ages" - I spent that time playing with the cell BE in the playstation 3 and the oculus dk1 before amd and the oculus cv1 reignited my interest in PCs.
 

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
316
Same here - started with an 8088 tandy 1000, then an ibm ps/2 80286 (microchannel!), then a 486 dx2 66, Pentium 120, k6 266, athlon 750 (slot a!), Thunderbird 1ghz, athlonxp 1800+, athlon64 3000+, 64x2 3800+, phenom II 955 be, r7 1700, 2700x, 3700x, 3950x.... and a few laptops mixed in there. I call the time between the 955be and the r7 1700 the pc "dark ages" - I spent that time playing with the cell BE in the playstation 3 and the oculus dk1 before amd and the oculus cv1 reignited my interest in PCs.

You lucky son of a gun, an 8088, I only got an 8086 to start with. Lol. And an Orange monochrome monitor to boot. In all honesty my first computer was an Atari 800XL then up to a 1200XL.
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,311
I got my hands on a newer 1600 AF as you know and I was ask how that cpu would run Fortnite .. so I put an RX 570 4Gb in and loaded most current driver and I think the thing is doing very well for itself not to be overclocked as most people would be more interested in the DELL or HP type system . I know noting about this gaming lol ,,

 

tom_ozahoski

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
342
I'm perfectly content with my 3600x. 4.5ghz single core and 4.1-4.4 multi-core depending on the load. Noticeable upgrade from a poorly clocking 2600.
 

Bankie

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
1,981
Upgraded from a 7700k @ 4.9 to a 3700x and it's ok. I'm not exactly unhappy but with a 2080ti it's turned out to be a total sidegrade for gaming; most games run the same while a couple of games like Farcry Primal and LoL are a pretty hefty downgrade even though the FPS is still plenty high.
 
Last edited:

Starfalcon

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
913
Upgraded from a 3770K to a 3900X, been a problem free experience. Now I dont have issues when I tab out of games to do other things, plus I am ready for cyberpunk 2077 whjen it comes out.
 

killroy67

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
1,364
I started with a 2700X and a X470 board, I sold the 2700X and kept the X470, popped in a 3900X and after a few bios updates its just fantastic. Now I cant wait to get a new GPU whenever Nvidia comes out with their new lineup!
 

RamonGTP

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
8,150
Upgraded from a 7700k @ 4.9 to a 3700x and it's ok. I'm not exactly unhappy but with a 2080ti it's turned out to be a total sidegrade for gaming; most games run the same while a couple of games like Farcry Primal and LoL are a pretty hefty downgrade even though the FPS is still plenty high.

That’s a self inflicted wound if there ever was one.
 

mda

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
2,184
Itching for a 3900X and an accompanying X570 board since the 3950X is out of budget.

I'm not going to get a lot of performance for it for what I do though.

Buy a new GPU instead?
 

TheHig

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
976
mda what specs are you running now? I have a 3900x and a 3600. Paired with a 2060 super it’s hard to tell them apart other than core heavy tasks and benchmarks . Yes the 3900x is faster and more “future proof” but also spendy. So much that I’m actually considering moving off my ATX x570 and 3900x and making the 3600 itx box my daily driver.
 

mda

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
2,184
mda what specs are you running now? I have a 3900x and a 3600. Paired with a 2060 super it’s hard to tell them apart other than core heavy tasks and benchmarks . Yes the 3900x is faster and more “future proof” but also spendy. So much that I’m actually considering moving off my ATX x570 and 3900x and making the 3600 itx box my daily driver.

It's a 3700X. I thought as much... thanks for the confirmation. Maybe I'll hold out for 5th gen :/
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,311
I added a water cooler and retune Ryzen Master and my Ryzen 5 3600 games at around 4.3Ghz .



 
Last edited:

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,631
Ok, how the heck do you overclock the 3600's? They made some major changes and now everything seems entirely different. I was using PStates before with the 1600 and 1700 but, now it seems PStates are not really viable, anymore. I have the 1.0.0.4B firmware installed on my B450 mITX Asrock and X370 Taichi boards and everything works. The AB350 mITX Asrock board I also have does not properly work with the 3600, however. (It just does the boot loop thing without ever finished a post, except the one or two times I was able to boot into Windows.)

I added a water cooler and retune Ryzen Master and my Ryzen 5 3600 games at around 4.3Ghz .





It is just easier to leave things as an autooverclock, since I have a Noctua NH-D15 on one and an H100i on the other?
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,631
Ok, what do you guys use to test you cpu overclock with now on the 3000 series? I use P95 and Intel IBT AVX and both crash almost immediately, on both my systems, without any overclock at all.
 

Gideon

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2006
Messages
3,008
Ok, what do you guys use to test you cpu overclock with now on the 3000 series? I use P95 and Intel IBT AVX and both crash almost immediately, on both my systems, without any overclock at all.

Prime95 has been what I used, if your crashing in it then something is unstable. Might want to check memory settings and make sure it's getting the right voltage to the memory as well.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,631
Prime95 has been what I used, if your crashing in it then something is unstable. Might want to check memory settings and make sure it's getting the right voltage to the memory as well.

I will but, both my systems, the X370 Taichi and the AB450 Fatality Gaming mITX end up with the same problems, stress test crashes on stock. Also, I did not have these issues with the 1600 at 4.0 GHz and the 2600 at 4.0 GHz. Not saying you are wrong, just giving all the information I can think of. Strange thing is, Cinebench does not crash nor any 3DMark stress tests. I will try running the ram at non XMP settings but, I wonder if we are looking at a bios firmware problem?

Edit: Ah crap, even setting the ram to 2133 did not help, IBT AVX would almost immediately fail. I am going to contact AMD and Asrock tomorrow, maybe they can tell me what is going on. (I suppose 2 x processors could be bad but, that does not seem likely.) I am running Corsair iCue in the background, I will disable that and see what happens.

Edit 2: In fact, this is the error I get on both computers:

Windows cannot access the file for one of the following reasons: there is a problem with the network connection, the disk that the file is stored on, or the storage drivers installed on this computer; or the disk is missing. Windows closed the program linpack64.exe because of this error.

Program: linpack64.exe
 
Last edited:

Gideon

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2006
Messages
3,008
I will but, both my systems, the X370 Taichi and the AB450 Fatality Gaming mITX end up with the same problems, stress test crashes on stock. Also, I did not have these issues with the 1600 at 4.0 GHz and the 2600 at 4.0 GHz. Not saying you are wrong, just giving all the information I can think of. Strange thing is, Cinebench does not crash nor any 3DMark stress tests. I will try running the ram at non XMP settings but, I wonder if we are looking at a bios firmware problem?

Edit: Ah crap, even setting the ram to 2133 did not help, IBT AVX would almost immediately fail. I am going to contact AMD and Asrock tomorrow, maybe they can tell me what is going on. (I suppose 2 x processors could be bad but, that does not seem likely.) I am running Corsair iCue in the background, I will disable that and see what happens.

Edit 2: In fact, this is the error I get on both computers:

Windows cannot access the file for one of the following reasons: there is a problem with the network connection, the disk that the file is stored on, or the storage drivers installed on this computer; or the disk is missing. Windows closed the program linpack64.exe because of this error.

Program: linpack64.exe

Hmm odd, wish I had more advice for you. Perhaps a bad cable or connection to the hard drive? I know I have had weird crashes caused by that but not just in prime95.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,631
Hmm odd, wish I had more advice for you. Perhaps a bad cable or connection to the hard drive? I know I have had weird crashes caused by that but not just in prime95.

Thanks for the help, you just never know. :) Both my machines are running on M.2 PCIe 3 NVMe SSD's, though. Honestly, the difference between the between the 2600 and 3600 is significant, I got 71fps in Shadow of the Tomb Raider at 1440p with the 2600 at 4.0 GHz, the 3600 at stock speeds got 88fps, which is a huge jump at 1440p. (Settings are at max with a RX5700 Reference card with the XT Bios flashed to it.) Oh well, post times are slower as well now so, I need to reach out to Asrock anyways.
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,311
I am almost finished with the Corsair 220 T build and maybe some pictures of it soon but here (changed to high power plan) is the 3600 benchmarking Far Cry 5 with ReLive as a footprint on driver 20.2.2



some game play ..

 
Last edited:

Forde

n00b
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
11
I sold my 9900K config to my brother and built out a Ryzen system, started with a 3800X which was fine, but when I found the only 3950X in a micro center I couldn't pass it up. I absolutely love this monster of a CPU.
 

dave343

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 17, 2000
Messages
1,853
Same here - started with an 8088 tandy 1000, then an ibm ps/2 80286 (microchannel!), then a 486 dx2 66, Pentium 120, k6 266, athlon 750 (slot a!), Thunderbird 1ghz, athlonxp 1800+, athlon64 3000+, 64x2 3800+, phenom II 955 be, r7 1700, 2700x, 3700x, 3950x.... and a few laptops mixed in there. I call the time between the 955be and the r7 1700 the pc "dark ages" - I spent that time playing with the cell BE in the playstation 3 and the oculus dk1 before amd and the oculus cv1 reignited my interest in PCs.

Jeez... you are a true dedicated AMD fan. Awesome upgrade path, and yeah after the 955 be (which was one of my favorites) it was the dark ages for a few years.

You lucky son of a gun, an 8088, I only got an 8086 to start with. Lol. And an Orange monochrome monitor to boot. In all honesty my first computer was an Atari 800XL then up to a 1200XL.

I have a 8088 CPU, but it sits on some foam beside a Z80 CPU. Someday when I get the time, in the far distant future ha, I'll finally build one of those breadboard 8bit PCs.
 

Brackle

Old Timer
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
8,010
Very happy with my 3800x purchase (when its around $320-330). Able to have all cores at 4.5ghz, and Memory is at 3800mhz speed with very low latency timings.

One of the best purchases in awhile, specially since I did not have to upgrade to a new motherboard at all ;)

Bring on the 4k series!
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,631
Very happy with my 3800x purchase (when its around $320-330). Able to have all cores at 4.5ghz, and Memory is at 3800mhz speed with very low latency timings.

One of the best purchases in awhile, specially since I did not have to upgrade to a new motherboard at all ;)

Bring on the 4k series!

What main board are you using?
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,311
I'm going drop some 3600Mhz memory in this weekend and test it again .. 20.2.2 driver

 
Top