Who is planning on using 3 monitors with their 5870?

Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
754
If so what size and resolution monitors are you going to use?
Is anyone planning on using 3 projectors? I see you can buy the older 1024x768 projectors for around $600.
 

Erasmus354

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
9,450
I am waiting to hear more about the Samsung thin bezel monitors. I plan on eventually going to a 3 monitor setup.
 

Valset

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
6,533
I am serously considering a 3 28" setup. need a bigger desk though.
 

vjcsmoke

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
4,511
I'm thinking about it. Dunno what sizes. Maybe 3x24. If there's a decent U2710 that comes out, mybe 3x27. Not sure if my wallet or desk could handle 3x30. Heck not sure my desk can handle 3x27. A monitor arm is probably required.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,976
The DP requirement kinda kills it for me...

AFAIK, DP isn't required for Eyefinity. Can't you just use the 2 DVI ports and the HDMI port?

There will be a separate card that will come out that has only 6 DP connectors on it. That was the card used in the photos where 6 30" displays where running.
 

vjcsmoke

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
4,511
AFAIK, DP isn't required for Eyefinity. Can't you just use the 2 DVI ports and the HDMI port?

There will be a separate card that will come out that has only 6 DP connectors on it. That was the card used in the photos where 6 30" displays where running.

Currently you need at least 1 monitor plugged by DP to run Eyefinity OR an active adapter that converts DP to DVI or HDMI. Dunno if there will be a fix out for this.
 

DaFox

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
393
Currently you need at least 1 monitor plugged by DP to run Eyefinity OR an active adapter that converts DP to DVI or HDMI. Dunno if there will be a fix out for this.

Hopefully, its killing it for quite a few people right now. :/
 

TotalLamer

Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
761
Yep. Probably 3x24". Maybe Dell U2410's... or if I'm feeling especially baller, NEC 2490WUXi's.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,961


I thought that does not work ? It needs to be an "active" adapter and those cost close to $100. A simple adapter is not working according to Kyle and several other reviewers ? I know your link says "Active" but for some reason every website testing the 5870 with three monitors with no DP say it does not work, even with cheap adapters ?
 

LEVESQUE

Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
774
Me. 30'' + two 24'' LCDs. I will also try it with 3 1080p projector on my 8 foot wide screen in my dedicated home theater.. :)

But I'm waiting for the 5870X2. Sigh...
 

Kinesis

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
66
I am waiting to convert from currently using a (matrox)tripleheadtogo with 3 dell 24"'s to a
ATI 5000 series card(or Nvidia if they announce something better) so I can play in full res(3 x 1920x1200) the whole DP "fiasco" is a sticking point for me too,hopefully ATI sorts the whole mess out,if not in software ,maybe for any subsequent cards released(5870x2 etc)
 

Astrodave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
1,082
I thought that does not work ? It needs to be an "active" adapter and those cost close to $100. A simple adapter is not working according to Kyle and several other reviewers ? I know your link says "Active" but for some reason every website testing the 5870 with three monitors with no DP say it does not work, even with cheap adapters ?

Dude did you read the specs of that adapter even? It says and I quote: "These are active adapters that convert the signals, so they should work with any DisplayPort Device!"

This is no guarantee that it will work but it is apparently an active adapter for $21
 

Astrodave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
1,082
I am waiting to convert from currently using a (matrox)tripleheadtogo with 3 dell 24"'s to a
ATI 5000 series card(or Nvidia if they announce something better) so I can play in full res(3 x 1920x1200) the whole DP "fiasco" is a sticking point for me too,hopefully ATI sorts the whole mess out,if not in software ,maybe for any subsequent cards released(5870x2 etc)

You and me both. I am dying to go 3x28" @ 5760x1200 here for my helo flightsimming. I've decided to wait for nvidia to see if they are offering their own eyefinity solution. If they don't then I will go ATI once I am confident that ATI has fixed the 'issues' with these cards.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,961
Dude did you read the specs of that adapter even? It says and I quote: "These are active adapters that convert the signals, so they should work with any DisplayPort Device!"

This is no guarantee that it will work but it is apparently an active adapter for $21

I know but I read a post by Kyle that said the cheap basic adapters do not work, only the $100 high end active adapters, that have a power source are allowing Eyefinity to work
 
Last edited:

Unknown-One

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
8,905
That $21 "active" adapter can't be for real, I don't see any external power on it.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,961
That $21 "active" adapter can't be for real, I don't see any external power on it.

Exactly...the "active" adapter has a power source to make it work, and not just be a passive adapter or converter, from what I understand ?
 

Erasmus354

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
9,450
Those aren't active adapters. That company is lying. Compare their DVI adapter to the adapters that Monoprice has. Same exact part, except Monoprice says specifically that it is passive and ramelwhatever says that it is active. This is nothing more than a shady company on the web lying about the specs of something they are selling.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,961
So if you do NOT have a Display Port monitor, but want to run triple screens for gaming Eyefinity style with the new Radeon HD 5870, you MUST have one of these ?
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...x?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=330-5521#Overview

Per this forum post;
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16792&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=225

But I can't say 100% if this really does work, will have to watch those widescreengaming forums this week, few of the guys bought the Dell adapter, so we will know whether or not if it does indeed work ?
 
Last edited:

Smiththers2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
501
by the time i have the cash for a triple threat + 5870 nvidia will have released their newest cards... i am pretty much waiting till then to see.
 

Threader

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
155
So if you do NOT have a Display Port monitor, but want to run triple screens for gaming Eyefinity style with the new Radeon HD 5870, you MUST have one of these ?
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...x?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=330-5521#Overview

Per this forum post;
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16792&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=225

But I can't say 100% if this really does work, will have to watch those widescreengaming forums this week, few of the guys bought the Dell adapter, so we will know whether or not if it does indeed work ?

I bought an Apple Mini-DP to DVI active cable and today I am going to pick up from a local distributer a Min-DP to DP cable. Will find out if the Apple cable is any good.

just in case I did put in an order for the Dell DP to DVI active cable with a 15% off coupon and sprung for overnight shipping $21 and should have it tomorrow.

over the next 36 hours I will finally get my Triple Monitor Eyeinfity working and will update all.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,961
I bought an Apple Mini-DP to DVI active cable and today I am going to pick up from a local distributer a Min-DP to DP cable. Will find out if the Apple cable is any good.

just in case I did put in an order for the Dell DP to DVI active cable with a 15% off coupon and sprung for overnight shipping $21 and should have it tomorrow.

over the next 36 hours I will finally get my Triple Monitor Eyeinfity working and will update all.


What monitors you plan on running ?
 

jamhamm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
1,054
if the samsung official eyefinity monitors end up being all that and a bag of chips im going with 3 of those / 1080p and 23" i believe

hard to find specs on them though, no real info on panel types or speeds or or or
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,961
if the samsung official eyefinity monitors end up being all that and a bag of chips im going with 3 of those / 1080p and 23" i believe

hard to find specs on them though, no real info on panel types or speeds or or or

Those a few months off still I believe ? I thought Samsung said to expect a holiday release, so at least two months away.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
2
I went out on a limb and purchased 3 I-Inc 28" monitors for a very reasonable price. They have mixed reviews, but i went ahead and pulled the trigger. They all arrived and are flawless. Not a single dead/stuck pixel (yet...).

After reading benchmarks, I am definitely waiting for a 2gb or a better yet an x2 2gb for trying to push 5760x1200 at a decent frame rate.

Has anybody determined if the $20 adapter works?
 

marcoi

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Messages
1,369
maybe someone can start a post with the following info.
1.Which card they are running. 5xxx
2. What 3 monitors (size, model num, res)
3. Final res when all three are active
4. FPS for various games while running 3 monitors.

Might be useful to determine if spending all that money for setup makes sense. IE if your games only run 20 fps with 3 30inch monitors, not worth it, but if they run 40-60 fps on 3 24inch, might be, etc...

Just my 2 cents,
marcoi
 

Flopper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
1,642
Looking at options for eyefinity.
As I am on budget, would love to get 3 dell u2410 with ips panel but...its way off for me.
so checking TN panel, dont enjoy them but,
3 screens at 1920x1080 is the same price I paid for my current screen a s-pva one.
That is doable.
So, this would allow a budget wise set up, using a 5850 running the games I play and if I need more power, I just get another 5850 when they solved the crossfire software kinks.
If there is a possibility to overclock the 5850 up over 850mhz using either solftmodd for volt or hardmodd, the card should be plenty to run games using 3 screens.

Hopefully this be possible to set up in the coming months.
It be cool to have.
such a junkie for immersion in games. ;)
 

Threader

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
155
The [H] Review displayed a nice BSOD after using apple's adapter.

Apple adapter worked fine for me with the min-DP to DP cable from CA but I too was aware of Kyle's experience and overthe weekend also bought a Dell adapter for $70 ( Dell 15% coupon + Bing Cashback).

I was able to test both (Apple and Dell Bizlink) yesterday and they were interchangeable without having to reset anything in CCC for display group. Both ran my 3x1 5040x1050 setup. So all i can say is everyone's hardware is different and mine just happen to play nice with the Apple adapter.

I decided to return the Apple adapter because 1) It easier to return locally at Fry's and 2) it cost more $100 since I got discounts on the Dell Bizlink.
 

vjcsmoke

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
4,511
Apple adapter worked fine for me with the min-DP to DP cable from CA but I too was aware of Kyle's experience and overthe weekend also bought a Dell adapter for $70 ( Dell 15% coupon + Bing Cashback).

I was able to test both (Apple and Dell Bizlink) yesterday and they were interchangeable without having to reset anything in CCC for display group. Both ran my 3x1 5040x1050 setup. So all i can say is everyone's hardware is different and mine just happen to play nice with the Apple adapter.

I decided to return the Apple adapter because 1) It easier to return locally at Fry's and 2) it cost more $100 since I got discounts on the Dell Bizlink.

What monitors are you using for that 5040x1050?
 

Threader

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
155
I have had 2 older Acer 1680x1050 TN LCDs now for 2.5 years so I just bought a 3rd. Good enough.
 

Intel_Hydralisk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4,743
Apple adapter worked fine for me with the min-DP to DP cable from CA but I too was aware of Kyle's experience and overthe weekend also bought a Dell adapter for $70 ( Dell 15% coupon + Bing Cashback).

I was able to test both (Apple and Dell Bizlink) yesterday and they were interchangeable without having to reset anything in CCC for display group. Both ran my 3x1 5040x1050 setup. So all i can say is everyone's hardware is different and mine just happen to play nice with the Apple adapter.

I decided to return the Apple adapter because 1) It easier to return locally at Fry's and 2) it cost more $100 since I got discounts on the Dell Bizlink.
Interesting. So it's a hit or miss.

Not to be a smartass... but since you had to buy a new monitor anyway, couldn't your new monitor just be one with native dp? I've been eyeing this since I too am considering the 3x 1680x1050 boat: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Displays/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&cs=19&sku=320-8103

I know it's not listed as one of those "official" monitors from ATI, but it has native displayport (minus a displayport cable that you have to buy separately, ~$20 on newegg).
 

Threader

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
155
Interesting. So it's a hit or miss.

Not to be a smartass... but since you had to buy a new monitor anyway, couldn't your new monitor just be one with native dp?
I wanted the 3rd monitor to have as close as possible the same quality screen and technology as my other two. Even at that I am having a hard time getting the new Acer LCD to calibrate like the older two.:rolleyes:
 
Top