Who Has Swapped To Intel Since CD2 release??

Changed To Intel?


  • Total voters
    365

R3MF

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
1,803
yes, this time last year.

I bought a 6600 for £195. to get equivalent performance from AMD at the time would have cost me £650 (FX62)!
 

crewzen

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
584
Still have my Opty 175 but built a 2-quad core server with intel. FB-Dimm sucks.:D
 

Crosshairs

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
24,833
I have both Intel and AMD systems, but when I bought my C2D I replaced an AMD system..only because that was the oldest system still in my possession, which made it the most logical choice to replace.
 

BigMacAttack

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
1,563
No need as of yet. Still on AMD skt 754 on both work and home systems. I'm looking at the AM2 X2 5000 Black Edition as it seems to be a pretty good bargain atm, but to go AM2 will require mobo, cpu, video card (for work system) ram and psu. I'm going to continue to hold out a bit longer since my 3700+ Clawhammer at work is chugging along at 2.6ghz and my 3400+ Venices are doing 2.7 and can go faster still if need be.
I have an Intel 2.2 Celeron in my Dell laptop (2 yrs old or so) which is just fine for what I need.
Its all good.
 

DeChache

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
7,088
When my Opty 170 stops doing what I want it to I'll take a step back look at both and see which one fits my needs better and go that route. I going to newegg and looking at the IP-35 and the E6750 and then I stop and go what do I do right now that my comp can't handle the only thing I would be gaining is a few extra FPS in a couple games. Not worth it right now. I'm going to wait till Phenom Launches and then look real hard at Quad Core.
 

compslckr

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
8,910
my previous computers were

1.33 t-bird
1600+ athlon
3000+ athlon-64 s754
3400+ athlon-64 s754



now I just have a 2ghz c2d macbook.
 

Monkey God

Mangina Full of Sand
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
6,723
AMD 3700/754
AMD X2/4600/939

Still have them and use them for other purposes.
Primary rig is now a QX6700.
 

kent

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 8, 2001
Messages
2,602
Pentium 100MHz -> K6-2/450MHz -> Athlon "AXIA Y" 1GHz@1.3GHz -> Athlon XP "Barton" 1.83GHz@2.4GHz -> Athlon 64 754 3400+ -> Core2 E6400@3.4GHz
 

dook43

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
2,992
Yeah, I mean, I still use my Winchester 3000+ as a HTPC, but not primary anymore. Didn't think that was what they were asking.
 

Tazman2

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
4,965
I just switched a few weeks ago after seeing the new AMD release's #s and because i wasn't too impressed i figured i'd switch now. Bought a nice e6300 capable of 3.5 on air from a Opteron 165 that maxed out a bit before 3 ghz but obviously slower mhz for mhz! :D
 

schenks

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,642
Haven't changed any of my desktops yet, but I replaced an A64 3400 laptop w/ a C2D T7400 convertible tablet. However, if the current trend doesn't change, my next desktop build be probably be a C2Q
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
59,087
I was using a dual Opteron 254 setup then switched to an E6600 and finally a Q6600.
 

j1979

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
291
not had an intel since my 286. but depending on phenom vs 45nm c2d, i may switch!
 

Glow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
4,834
I spent a lot of money on my 939 board then the switch to AM2 pissed me off seemed pointless since they could make dualcore just fine on 939s so I couldn't justify an upgrade to a AM2 which is an upgraded 939 that is 20% slower than a c2d. I didn't spend much money on the switch as u can see but I'm happy. My next upgrade will hopefully be back to AMD if they don't do anything that annoys me. I'm sad my Barton 2500+ rig just died too that was a champ but now my 939 is my htpc chip
 

Snowdog

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
11,267
I just bought my new Intel box last week.

I was using a Barton 2500 till then. My 9700Pro croaking made me finally go and buy a new box.

For CPU have used about 50% AMD/Intel. I don't really have brand loyalty, I just buy what makes the most sense at the time.

I had never bought a Nvidia Graphics Card until my 9700Pro croaked though.

So far I am liking my new machine a lot. The upside of long upgrade cycles is the massive jump in performance when you do. I purposefully bought low end on the CPU/GPU planning for one CPU upgrade to Quad-Penryn and one graphics upgrade when I feel constrained, something like the 8800GT, or equivalent in the next generation. Even though these are the "low end" components, they are still super fast to me.
 

Kangg

Ad Blocker - Banned
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
1,994
I switched from an FX55 to a Core2 E6750 end of July. AMD screwed the pooch when they killed off 939 so damn quickly. I did not want to spend 350 bucks on an Opty 185 and still be running DDR ram, so ....... I gave Intel a shot after being an AMD man for years. Loving every minute of it. :D
 

Unabomber

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
4,759
I'm still using my Opteron 170 on my Socket 939 platform. It's a rock-solid stable machine, even running at 2.6 GHz. Combine this with dual Radeon x1950GT cards, and you have a system that can still run all of today's and tomorrow's games respectably.

The day that I can't use this rig anymore, I'll move it to my office, and replace my old Athlon XP 2400+ system with it. That should be great for molecular modeling.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,140
I switched because of performance. I could care less who's name is on the CPU as long as it gives me the best price for performance.

I see no sense in being a brand fanboy for technology.

I believe in this as well! Well said!
 

Charger69

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
145
I'm a backstabber. Evil empire go go go on your blazing chips of fury!

On a side note, I just saw my 2100+ crying... what a OCer she was. :D
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
15,190
Been on socket "940" for several years. I had quad core 2.6ghz last november =)
 

hmz

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
3,209
Well, here is the history..

Intel Celeron 300A==> AMD Duron 800mhz==> Intel P4 3.0C==> E6600 :rolleyes:
 

skifreak

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
24
Pure AMD fan here, still running a S754 and a S939 system.....will wait for AMD Quad core prices to fall before upgrading again. Why should I spoonfeed more money into Intels profits.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
59,087
I believe in this as well! Well said!

No it isn't, the expression "I could care" less is wrong.

I switched because of performance. I could care less who's name is on the CPU as long as it gives me the best price for performance.

I see no sense in being a brand fanboy for technology.

You mean you "couldn't care less"?
 

enginurd

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
21,825
I have no brand loyalty. My loyalty is to myself. I want to give myself the best performance for my money.

See sig.
 

ewb302

Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
727
No real brand loyalty here. Had a few P4 Intels, went to an Opteron 144 @ 2.75 for a year or so. Now, I am on to the E6750 @ 3.2 and love it. If AMD comes out with something great, I will switch in a year or so. It doesn't matter to me, I am just a big fan of price vs. performance and I think the C2D's are the answer at the moment. It might be AMD again soon...
 

DejaWiz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
21,321
I don't see a need to upgrade. My Opteron 170 runs everything fast and fine.
 

DeathFromBelow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 15, 2005
Messages
7,316
Someone was interested in buying my X2 rig and I wanted to go Quad.

I probably would have stayed AMD if there was a consumer level quad available.
 

APOLLO

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2009
Joined
Sep 17, 2000
Messages
9,089
That's what mine was. I switched for the fun of it really. I wanted to overclock more than anything. Socket 940 overclocking options are pretty limited.
True, on the motherboard there's nothing you can do, but software-wise there's a significant OC potential. My 280s are running at 2.8GHz, a 400MHz OC. Not bad but I realize a Q6600 OC above 3GHz will make my system seem slow. I just don't want to undergo the hassle and expense of motherboard+CPU+RAM+OS+apps install for a performance increase I don't really need ATM.
 

Sabrewulf165

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,949
I upgraded from an X2 4200+ because I could, not because I needed to. It takes a lot of willpower every day for me to not buy a Q6600. It's made easier by the fact that I know I wouldn't benefit from the extra cores yet, and Penryn is right around the corner.
 

RADCOM

n00b
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
10
I agree it is quite even, there must be a lot of AMD fanboys that are sticking with them or genuine Intel haters. I go for bang per buck and AMD were champions until C2D. AMD pricing has also been a little erratic! I recomend not being an early adopter of any technology prices are way to high at first :)
 
Top