Which type of antenna is this?

x8612

n00b
Hello there :)

My wireless card has issues (it drops connections every so often) on my Asus UX32VD. So I decided to replace my Intel Centrino 6235 with an Atheros or Broadcom based wireless card.

However, I hit another roadblock, since my laptop is an Ultrabook, it uses smaller than standard (Hirose U. FL being the standard) antenna connectors. I currently don't have the necessary Torx screwdriver to disassemble my laptop, but I have found images of my laptop on the internet with the same antenna connector. I would appreciate it if some one could provide some insight into this wireless card.

Wireless card (Ifixit breakdown):
http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/diQ4deAFrSqvHFkU

Antenna Cable:
http://i.imgur.com/Del7qYb.jpg

I would really like to use a wireless card with a big antenna connector on my laptop. Is it possible to somehow use a pigtail? I am really new to this kind of stuff, and I would appreciate any help.

Thanks!

P.S I have done researching and other people have said that it's either an MMCX, FME, or IPEX MHF4 (I don't know which one is correct).

Hello there :)

My wireless card has issues (it drops connections every so often) on my Asus UX32VD. So I decided to replace my Intel Centrino 6235 with an Atheros or Broadcom based wireless card.

However, I hit another roadblock, since my laptop is an Ultrabook, it uses smaller than standard (Hirose U. FL being the standard) antenna connectors. I currently don't have the necessary Torx screwdriver to disassemble my laptop, but I have found images of my laptop on the internet with the same antenna connector. I would appreciate it if some one could provide some insight into this wireless card.

Wireless card (Ifixit breakdown):
http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/diQ4deAFrSqvHFkU

Antenna Cable:
http://i.imgur.com/Del7qYb.jpg