Which Switch? (24 Port Gigabit Managed)

I have been running two of those netgears for almost 3 years.... never had a single problem.... flawless operation. FWIW.

I've used a lot of the Linksys SRW series....matter of fact this week getting quite a few of their higher density 48 port models with fiber SX miniGBICs for a nursing home upgrade. Been using the SRW series for a few years now since they came out.

Years ago I was a Netgear reseller also..but one time their support really threw me under the bus with a client....as far as an RMA process...so I stopped.

At NewEgg the Linksys one is $150 more expensive than the Netgear one. Is there that much added value in the Linksys switch?

I noticed that too. I don't know much about some of the protocols and standards listed on the spec sheets to know if they are important. So I'm hoping someone here will tell me the difference and what it means to me.

Well first..what are you looking for a managed switch for? Doing VLANs? What features are you seeking? Do you need all ports to be giga? Do you need fiber?

Is this is just for a home setup, you could probably get by with an unmanaged.

At 24 ports, unmanaged and web-managed are similarly priced. Might as well get an inexpensive web-managed one. The firmware will be upgradeable, and you can also totally screw up your network if you want to...

The linksys supports 802.1x authentication, the Netgear doesn't. Probably not important for a home user.

Unfortunetly the Linksys really is worth the extra money. We're about to buy 3 of the same switches after doing some research. I've always been a big Linksys fan for awhile now, these switches are good stuff.

Never buy netgear man, it's like a ford, made to break

Unfortunetly the Linksys really is worth the extra money. We're about to buy 3 of the same switches after doing some research. I've always been a big Linksys fan for awhile now, these switches are good stuff.

Never buy netgear man, it's like a ford, made to break