Which Mobo for E8400 Out of the Box

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Flexion, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    OOTB support, means recent purchases and installs of motherboards and CPUs without bios updates, etc. I'm posting updates as they're made available from real experiences by HardForum members. Also, if I find an article from a major site, that's probably credible too.
     
  2. vengence

    vengence Level capped

    Messages:
    18,471
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Flexion, I guess you didn't see my post. I HAVE THE XFX780i board and a E8400. Was a true OOTB install. Brand new board and E8400. No bios updates. Worked fine.
     
  3. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Hi,

    I saw your post, check the first page the XFX is listed without any comments now, another forum member asked me to put all updates on the first page now. I was writing to the other guy because, the list consists of results by HardForum posters, and major sites, unless noted.

    But yes it's up there and thanks for posting your findings.
     
  4. PanzerKrieg13

    PanzerKrieg13 Gawd

    Messages:
    983
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Hey, can you tell me the date of your board??
    (on the box, there is a manufactured date, mine says 1/08 I believe)

    And what BIOS version??

    - Joey
     
  5. spaceman

    spaceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,731
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    MSI P6N SLI Plat mobo? I have a trade for a 8400 but need to know if it will work or not.
     
  6. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    http://forums.overclockersclub.com/index.php?showtopic=78039

    Google is your friend! Check it out. Please post if you're successful too! OC results too! E8400s OC'd with a pair of 9600GTs could be sweet!

    Thanks!
     
  7. vengence

    vengence Level capped

    Messages:
    18,471
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007

    Ahh ok my bad. I just saw the reply and figured you missed it.

    Be more than happy to. Can you send me a PM so I don't forget. Can't look at the box when I'm at work it's about 15 miles away and I'll forget by the time I get home.
    :D
     
  8. SepDawg

    SepDawg n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Just swapped out my old MB and a FX-57 with a Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R and the E8400. No problems Thanks for the thread
     
  9. chrisf6969

    chrisf6969 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,014
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
  10. talkhw

    talkhw n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    GA-EP35-DS3R rev 2.1 mobo works OOTB with E8400. Comes with F1 BIOS. Upgrade to F2 to run Dominator 1066 memory.
     
  11. batai37

    batai37 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    71
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    I concur with the above.
     
  12. golfjam

    golfjam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Maximus Formula x38
     
  13. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Hi the two motherboards are listed. Please check the first page, as that's where the list is located. Thanks for posting and confirming the items listed further.
     
  14. rezilient

    rezilient n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    I know the GA-EP35C-DS3R mobo works OOTB with the E8400, mine came with the F1 BIOS and worked but I just wanted to mention I had the continuous BIOS reset issue, it would always restore the BIOS back from disk. Upgrading to F2 BIOS didnt help. Also not sure if related but the board couldnt run my 2gb Crucial Ballistix PC-8500 at 1066mhz, no matter what I tried. I am running a brand new Antec Earthwatts 500w psu and Evga 8600gts.

    Kinda turned off Gigabyte, so because of that I'll try Asus since I had zero problems with my soon to be retired Asus A7V and Athlon 2100+. :rolleyes:
     
  15. rezilient

    rezilient n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Don't think anyone answered this... Also what about the DFI DK X38-T2R - anyone try these X38 DFI boards with a e8400?
     
  16. Leepox

    Leepox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    why is the MSI neo2 fr not on the list in the first page
     
  17. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Because this list is compiled from Hardforum members' actual results. Do you have an MSI Neo 2 fr running with an e-8400? Please post back and I'll edit the first page to include that board.

    Also, it's been a while since anyone has posted with something new and I'm sure there are lots of boards running with the E8400s that aren't on my list. Please post to this thread, so we can keep it updated.

    Remeber we're looking for OOTB (out of the box) support on recent purchases.

    Thanks!
     
  18. Leepox

    Leepox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    oh i see, i should be getting the e8400 and the motherboard by the end of the week, ill give you an update by then
     
  19. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Pretty sure that all X38 boards can run wolfedale chips successfully. The only way to know is to try it out. Good luck and let us know if you're successful.
     
  20. techpriest

    techpriest Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    479
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    bump, very good thread. specially since I'll be getting a q9450. Just hope abit gets their shit together
     
  21. Cactus Jack

    Cactus Jack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    508
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    You can add the IP35 Pro out of the box, I'm running an E3110 on it works fine. Has some weird voltage/temp things but a future bios should fix that.
     
  22. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Great! I've updated my post on the first page. The IP35Pro is confirmed working out of the box.
     
  23. Dragon Heart

    Dragon Heart n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    you can add asus P5K-C ( hybdrid DDR 2/3 )

    both E8400 or Xeon E3110 run fine with .

    did 4.78 ghz booting under vista air cooling with xeon 45 nano

    [​IMG]

    wolfie E8400
    [​IMG]<< E8400@3.96 Ghz batch Q746A326 sold

    this board has a very nice max fsb

    540 max with multi 8.5 and 532 with x 9 on AIR with northbridge voltage set at 1.40v ( my board is little buggy with Vmch lol )

    cons: vdroop is around 0.1v :D but with pencil mod no pb

    actually running at 3.6 ghz 24/7 with only 1.16v load prime stable .

    Regards
     
  24. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Updated. Thanks for posting your results! :D
     
  25. Dragon Heart

    Dragon Heart n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    :)

    for info this one is batch Q746A534

    will post some result when I get Q807 and if good too .
     
  26. Enlightened Viet

    Enlightened Viet [H]Lite

    Messages:
    98
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Can the ASUS P5N-E SLi work with the e8400 after a certain bios update? If yes...which one?
     
  27. Retro6464

    Retro6464 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    I have the MSI P6N SLI Platinum. It came with Bios ver. 1.4 . I updated it to 1.6. Then I bought the 8400, and it worked fine.No problems. I dont overclock (I dont know how),so I dont know about that.
    PS: You do need Ver. 1.6 to run 8400.
     
  28. stc3

    stc3 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
  29. jamsblast

    jamsblast [H]Lite

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007