Which Degree is right for me?

• Thread starter Deleted member 143938
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 143938

Stupid question and I haven't done much research but I'm hoping someone with experience can answer my question.

I'm starting college in August and I'm thinking of becoming a systems administrator. Which degree would be right for me?

Well, I am a Sr. System Administrator and I graduated with a Degree in MIS (Management and Information Systems). So, you could try that. Then again, I found/find my major rather useless, as I learned more about network and technology *outside* the classroom. Lame.

Well, I am a Sr. System Administrator and I graduated with a Degree in MIS (Management and Information Systems). So, you could try that. Then again, I found/find my major rather useless, as I learned more about network and technology *outside* the classroom. Lame.

Well what I mean was should I go after a bachelors, or just associates? Sounds stupid but I really don't know much of anything about college yet. I went and had a chat with the college councelor that I'm going to next year but she didn't know a thing about the computers major so she didn't answer any of the questions I asked related to my career.

And by useless you mean just knowledge-wise, or do you mean employers won't give a damn if you have a degree in MIS or not

Go for you bachelors. Hands-down. Don't read too much into that last line I wrote. To me, MIS was "useless" in terms of knowledge gained. The best thing about MIS to me was the business portion of it. Having the ability to tell a recruiter you understand accounting, finance, and how to invest wisely makes the world of difference in an interview.

If you plan to pursue MIS come to the University of Arizona, and apply to Eller. /plug. :)