Where is Vista 64's add/remove programs icon? Stopping startup programs

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Rob94hawk, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,067
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Where is Vista 64's add/remove programs icon? Stopping startup programs

    I've got a few useless start up programs that I have no use for and I want to prevent them from starting up. Some annoying EA download manager, Adobe, etc. I want them to stop checking for updates every time I boot up or kick me out to windows in the middle of a game.

    I looked in control panel but I do not see the icon for add/remove programs or anything where I can run msconfig like in XP. How can I remove or shut them down in Vista 64? Thanx
     
  2. owkia

    owkia Offensive?

    Messages:
    3,654
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    To remove them, it's now under Control Panel -> Programs and Features. That one threw me for a small loop when I first installed Vista and couldn't find it.
     
  3. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,459
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Press the Windows key on your keyboard and type:

    add remove

    at which point it'll be the first option on the list, just press Enter. No shorter way to get to it, really... people should spend time breaking those old habits of point-click-point-click-etc, it's much easier to press that Windows key and type a word or two and get precisely what you want almost immediately.

    If you don't have a Windows key, one click on the Start orb gets the menu up and then you type...
     
  4. owkia

    owkia Offensive?

    Messages:
    3,654
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    That would be a great way to get to it...if it actually worked. Since it's no longer named Add/Remove in Vista, that doesn't seem to work. Or it at least didn't when I just tried it right now.
     
  5. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,067
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Thanx. Is "run" in there as well? I'll do this later, at work.
     
  6. owkia

    owkia Offensive?

    Messages:
    3,654
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    It's under Start -> Programs -> Accessories. Or you can do similar to described above and just hit Start and type Run in, which will work. To make Run show back up in the Start Menu, you should be able to do this.

    Let me also remind you that Google is your friend.
     
  7. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,067
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Thanx for the advise.

    I know google is my friend but I like to talk to live people :)
     
  8. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,459
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Ok, so... that's something they improved on in Windows 7, being able to find most anything with the naming people are actually used to, so...

    In Vista, press the Windows key and type:

    programs

    and it'll show up as Programs and Features, one or two taps of the down cursor key and Enter or a left click of the mouse, there ya go.

    Also, there's no need for a Run entry on the Start Menu anymore: if you have a program installed typically you can just type the program name (and yes, it works in Vista also but it seems to work better after the drive is fully indexed which takes a few days in most situations).

    As for the second part of the original question, that one does work from the Start Menu as I was meaning earlier. Windows key + typing msconfig will make it appear for selection. If that's what you meant about stopping startup programs, that's the one.