When I enable XMP with this memory computer will not boot?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by eddie500, Jan 14, 2020 at 5:21 PM.

  1. eddie500

    eddie500 Gawd

    Messages:
    948
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    I have this memory I bought a couple of years ago.

    https://www.newegg.com/corsair-16gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820236160?Item=N82E16820236160

    I believe on my old motherboard it was never set at 4266 with XMP enabled, it worked at like 4000.

    I got a new Z390 motherboard and enabled XMP. The profile came up with 4266 MHZ and the timings for the memory, but when I exited BIOS my computer will not boot.

    I then manually set the speed to 3800 and it did boot fine.

    Does anyone know why my memory does not work at the profile speed of 4266? Would Corsair sell memory that actually did not work with its internal profile?

    What should I do at this point?

    Thanks
     
  2. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Try manually setting the memory to the XMP settings. If you do get it to boot, run memtest86 on it.

    Try the sticks one at a time to see if one or the other posts at 4266Mhz. Might be a bad stick.
     
  3. eddie500

    eddie500 Gawd

    Messages:
    948
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    I got it up to 4000 with the rated timings of 19-26-26-46 and it works. It seems like if I go to 4266 computer will not post.

    My question is if my computer runs stable at 4000 with those timings should I be happy and call it a day?
     
  4. motqalden

    motqalden [H]ard|DCOTM Feb 2018, June 2019

    Messages:
    1,359
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    some people enjoy ringing every last bit out of hardware and the journey is the fun part. Some do not. Do you notice a difference in the software you are running? I would say the speeds you are getting are good and call it a day.
     
  5. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Nobody can answer that but you. If you feel like it is good enough then let it ride. If you want the actual timings that you paid for, then RMA the RAM.
     
  6. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Gawd

    Messages:
    577
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Were you able to run them at 4266 on your original mb?
    Is the voltage correct for those modules with xmp enabled? If so, you may want to bump the voltage .5 and see if it helps.
    What mb are you running?
    Give corsairs tech support a call, they are solid. They will walk you through troublshooting and rmaing if needed.
     
  7. eddie500

    eddie500 Gawd

    Messages:
    948
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Actually, this is going back 2 years, but I believe the memory did not work at 4266 advertised speeds on my Z370 motherboard. So I just ran it at around 4000.

    On my new Z390 motherboard, if I enable XMP and it does come up with the correct speed and timings of 4266 19-26-26-46 and I think a 1.4 is in there. But the computer will not boot up with those settings unless I run it at 4000.
     
  8. eddie500

    eddie500 Gawd

    Messages:
    948
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
  9. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Yes. It's just as good as it was. There might be newer ICCs available now but you still have a fast kit.