What's the disadvantage of a gaming laptop vs a SFF?

chx

Gawd
So, it turns out I am probably heading out ... indefinitely... again. Happens :) I have lived digital nomad for 19 months once and 5 months another time so it's not really news but it's been quite a few years (I've been sitting at this desk since 2010 with at most a month break) so computer wise I need ... more :) I have a monitor and a keyboard in the suitcase, that's a given. I need a portable desktop, though. Here's the requirements:

1. E3 1270 CPU level. Single thread performance is important and quad cores too. Previously I had an i3 2120. But let's be realistic, I work on a T420s laptop which has a 2520M so this is not such a hard requirement. But the faster the CPU, the better -- as long as it's like 35W or so.
  2. GTX 660-RX 460 level graphics performance. (Heroes of the Storm, Civ 6, not much.) Here the faster - the better is not true, a faster GPU is more expensive and the cooler is heavier.
  3. 32GB RAM is better than 16GB. I can live with 16GB, though.
  4. At least 128GB SSD. The rest can be HDD but if it's a 512GB SSD, I am good.
Some ways
  1. Short 1U case (that's the best fit, thin is very important if I don't want to check it in), ITX MB, i5 6400T, my existing single slot RX 460 and run it from whatever Flex ATX PSU I can find... Yes I could also run from a PicoPSU, is that much lighter weight though? There are like 1.25 lbs 200W Flex ATX PSUs, I wonder how much lighter weight a 10-12A 12V external adapter would be. Case weight can be an issue.
  2. Skull Canyon but the graphics performance is like half the performance of the above and that's a sad.
  3. Add the RocketStor 6361A to the Skull Canyon or whatever smaller TB host can be found (with quad core, I am not sure what else there could be) and again my RX 460 -- all the other Thunderbolt enclosures are bulky. This strategy requires a TB3-to-TB2 converter which is again a cost and now we have two AC-DC adapters.