What Z690 board are you eyeing?

robbiekhan

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
475
12700KF here running super cool and laptop quiet all round on this build.

I got the Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X DDR4 based on its aesthetics mainly but also because some of the hardware specs are fit for my needs.
Sadly as usual for Gigabyte it takes a few months for the BIOS to mature and the latest F7 had stability issues for me so rolled back to F6.

I also had to play with the VCCSA (system agent voltage) and DRAM settings (XMP does not work so manually set timings) to get full stability for my 3600MHz 64GB of Vengeance LPX (2x32GB in DR @ 18-22-22-42-64 2T).

After running RAM tests multiple times seeing what works I found the following:

System Agent (VCCSA): 1.3v
Gear mode: 1
DRAM voltage: 1.46v
DRAM Timing Mode: Fixed (default was Dynamic)
CPU C-States Control set to Enabled then C1E in the expanded section disabled (solves the coil whine noise but has no negative impact anywhere else)
Above 4G Decoding enabled in order to unlock Resize BAR support option for the GPU

6Cq5qOg.png


pc_RTX3080Ti_sideangle_2021.12.18_1404-06_00004.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
951
Been out of the pc building game for a long time...
gonna try and build a computer over the next few months.. by buying case, fans, controller, etc.. all the stuff that prices do not flex much...

then
mobo/cpu
hope to move my ddr4 ram and gtx 1060 over.. to just get running
then get a 30xx card....

but my question here...
I am seeing people say.. wish there was a DDR4 version of this board or DDR5 is so $$$$$
so you cannot buy the DDR5 board and use your DDR4 memory, then just upgrade ram?

differnet pin out on DDR4 to DDR5?

thx guys...
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,907
Been out of the pc building game for a long time...
gonna try and build a computer over the next few months.. by buying case, fans, controller, etc.. all the stuff that prices do not flex much...

then
mobo/cpu
hope to move my ddr4 ram and gtx 1060 over.. to just get running
then get a 30xx card....

but my question here...
I am seeing people say.. wish there was a DDR4 version of this board or DDR5 is so $$$$$
so you cannot buy the DDR5 board and use your DDR4 memory, then just upgrade ram?

differnet pin out on DDR4 to DDR5?

thx guys...

Totally different. Everything from the pinout to the voltage regulation.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,965
Been out of the pc building game for a long time...
gonna try and build a computer over the next few months.. by buying case, fans, controller, etc.. all the stuff that prices do not flex much...

then
mobo/cpu
hope to move my ddr4 ram and gtx 1060 over.. to just get running
then get a 30xx card....

but my question here...
I am seeing people say.. wish there was a DDR4 version of this board or DDR5 is so $$$$$
so you cannot buy the DDR5 board and use your DDR4 memory, then just upgrade ram?

differnet pin out on DDR4 to DDR5?

thx guys...


Just get DDR5 might cost arm and leg but the performance is worth it higher fps in games. I have DDR4 but wish I went DDR5 for my Alder Lake build. Raptor lake is a drop in upgrade for current Z690 boards due in fall.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
951
Just get DDR5 might cost arm and leg but the performance is worth it higher fps in games. I have DDR4 but wish I went DDR5 for my Alder Lake build. Raptor lake is a drop in upgrade for current Z690 boards due in fall.

ok so yes sounds like when i get to that point.. look for slower DDR5 memory for time being until fully built with new video card which will be last, then circle back and save for DDR5 memory.. gotcha...

By the time I get to the Mobo/CPU/memory time - the 13th gen's might be hitting, so who knows then... jump there possibly..
havent built a pc since my q6600 build yall recommended.. lol

other than that, been using dell and lenovo pc's... so it is time to step up the game..

current gaming rig only hits 40-50fps in COD Warzone with EVERYTHING off or as low as can go... sucks... but I do keep 1440p resolution.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,907
Just get DDR5 might cost arm and leg but the performance is worth it higher fps in games. I have DDR4 but wish I went DDR5 for my Alder Lake build. Raptor lake is a drop in upgrade for current Z690 boards due in fall.

https://www.techspot.com/review/2387-ddr4-vs-ddr5/

I think the average is maybe 4% tops with 6000 CL36 DDR5 (super expensive).

Honestly, I'm not sure the difference is worth it until DDR5 is mainstream.

If the game you play likes memory bandwidth, DDR5 is a winner. If the game you play likes memory latency, DDR4 is a winner.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
951
https://www.techspot.com/review/2387-ddr4-vs-ddr5/

I think the average is maybe 4% tops with 6000 CL36 DDR5 (super expensive).

Honestly, I'm not sure the difference is worth it until DDR5 is mainstream.

If the game you play likes memory bandwidth, DDR5 is a winner. If the game you play likes memory latency, DDR4 is a winner.
how do you tell?

call of duty warzone, call of duty vanguard, microsoft world war z is really it.
do run autocad inventor
on machine
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,907
how do you tell?

call of duty warzone, call of duty vanguard, microsoft world war z is really it.
do run autocad inventor
on machine

Off the top of my head, I would think that games that rely on high FPS would be more memory bandwidth sensitive (shooters, etc) and CPU intensive games (turn based, RTS, etc.) would be more latency sensitive.

Not really sure about Autocad.
 

TheHig

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
1,031
I chose a DDR4 board for 3 reasons. Fist I had several decent DDR4 32gb kits on hand. And Second I caught an open box deal with the $20 off CPU combo at Microcenter on a D4 board. So I updated a PC to a new platform just purchasing 2 components. Third DDR5 was still hard to come by and stupid expensive instead if just really expensive like now. As long as you can do 3600 gear 1 DDR5 isn’t enough of an improvement yet IMO so there is that. With that being said If you are buying ram anyway may as well spring for the current stuff. I’m not buying any brand new DDR4 personally at this point. If I need some it will be purchased second hand going forward. My 2c
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,672
You'd probably be better off spending the extra $100 that DDR5 would cost on something else in the pc that would have a bigger impact like going from a 6-8 core, gpu, or more storage.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
553
So which z690 board is proving to be best all around? price/performance/oc etc? I was looking at a few MSI boards.
 

Niner21

Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2018
Messages
525
So which z690 board is proving to be best all around? price/performance/oc etc? I was looking at a few MSI boards.
I have the MSI MPG Z690 Edge DDR4 board and really like it over the Aorus Elite DDR4 board I had previously. Are you looking for a DDR4 or DDR5 board?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
553
I have the MSI MPG Z690 Edge DDR4 board and really like it over the Aorus Elite DDR4 board I had previously. Are you looking for a DDR4 or DDR5 board?
I'm considering going with the MSI Z690 Carbon EK-X although It is very expensive It would drop into my loop perfectly lol. The problem is I can't find any good selection on DDR5 6000mhz in 64GB dual channel kits. I think I read that have 4 modules of 16GB isn't as good as have 2 modules of 32GB on Z690? Any truth to this?
 

Niner21

Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2018
Messages
525
I'm considering going with the MSI Z690 Carbon EK-X although It is very expensive It would drop into my loop perfectly lol. The problem is I can't find any good selection on DDR5 6000mhz in 64GB dual channel kits. I think I read that have 4 modules of 16GB isn't as good as have 2 modules of 32GB on Z690? Any truth to this?
I believe Jayztwocents mentioned that at some point from a overclocking perspective. I run 4 sticks of eight compared to two 16GB sticks previously without issue, but I'm not a heavy overclocker. Just running them at the advertised 4400mhz is all.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
60,864
I'm considering going with the MSI Z690 Carbon EK-X although It is very expensive It would drop into my loop perfectly lol. The problem is I can't find any good selection on DDR5 6000mhz in 64GB dual channel kits. I think I read that have 4 modules of 16GB isn't as good as have 2 modules of 32GB on Z690? Any truth to this?
The truth is, running four sticks is akin to running eight. Each DDR5 module is dual-channel to begin with. Two modules makes quad channel, four becomes eight and so on. The problem is that you can't clock DDR5 nearly as high running four sticks as you can using only two.
I believe Jayztwocents mentioned that at some point from a overclocking perspective. I run 4 sticks of eight compared to two 16GB sticks previously without issue, but I'm not a heavy overclocker. Just running them at the advertised 4400mhz is all.
Those speeds are very low for DDR5 but that's all you are likely to achieve running four of them. In my opinion, DDR5 isn't worth using at all unless you push for higher speeds. Preferably exceeding DDR5 6000MHz.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
553
The truth is, running four sticks is akin to running eight. Each DDR5 module is dual-channel to begin with. Two modules makes quad channel, four becomes eight and so on. The problem is that you can't clock DDR5 nearly as high running four sticks as you can using only two.

Those speeds are very low for DDR5 but that's all you are likely to achieve running four of them. In my opinion, DDR5 isn't worth using at all unless you push for higher speeds. Preferably exceeding DDR5 6000MHz.
The issue is there are no DDR5 6000 64GB kits available right? Do you know of any? I only see them in 32GB. I've ran 32GB for over 5 years or more I am not going to buy another 32GB kit. I want this next build to last me another 5 years or more so I def want a 64GB kit this time.
 

Niner21

Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2018
Messages
525
Those speeds are very low for DDR5 but that's all you are likely to achieve running four of them. In my opinion, DDR5 isn't worth using at all unless you push for higher speeds. Preferably exceeding DDR5 6000MHz.
Should have mentioned I'm running DDR4.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
951
The issue is there are no DDR5 6000 64GB kits available right? Do you know of any? I only see them in 32GB. I've ran 32GB for over 5 years or more I am not going to buy another 32GB kit. I want this next build to last me another 5 years or more so I def want a 64GB kit this time.

hah 5y expectancy??? i am building and last build was 2009!!!! lol
hope to see what ya do cuz i am wondering what mobo to go with next
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
951
is there a board with ddr4 x8 slots? i have 8x16gb ddr4 i would love to move into a new system (got case and psu now and looking into mobo/cpu)
 
Top