what to do?

idk what to say

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 16, 2021
Messages
100
so my power supply has one 4*2 pin and 3*2 pin but my cpu takes 4*2 and gpu also does. what should i do?
 

auntjemima

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
8,505
They are not the same. They will be keyed differently. The 8 pin, in your case, will be cpu and the 6 pin will be GPU. If you need an 8 and a 6 pin for your GPU, you need a better power supply.
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
3,525
You can use an adapter to go from the 6 pin (3*2) to the 8 pin for the gpu. The extra wires on the 8pin are just grounds
 

idk what to say

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 16, 2021
Messages
100
oh and btw i care about my gpu more so if anything happens i would like my gpu to survive. the cpu i dont realy care about
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
3,525
One gives 150w and the other 75w. Those grounds matter.
The grounds dont do anything to supply that extra 75w. The psu most likely has a minimal number of 12v rails and the limits of the rails will determine if it will work. You can pull ~300w from a 6 pin connection/wires.

What power supply do you have op? Also what GPU are you trying to run?
 

idk what to say

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 16, 2021
Messages
100

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,896
i have a tr2 thermaltake 600 https://www.amazon.ca/Thermaltake-600W-V2-3-Power-Supply/dp/B0058FAYQ2

and im going to buy a zotac with 4*2
that psu should have a 6+2 for the gpu.
1627265184990.png
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Yeah Seasonic is also solid. Whatever you do, don't get Corsair, I had two duds.
 

Kamamura

n00b
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
16
I tell you what to do. As others said, don't neglect the PSU!!!
Really - when I was young and stupid, I was building a computer for a girl that is now my wife, and I used a cheap Morex PSU (she was on a budget, so I said hey, it's good enough for an office computer), and it burnt all the components, because Morex had a faulty batch of PSU, we built the computer together, I switched it on, and bam, smoke from every chip and from the MOBO, everything burnt! Luckily, the seller took responsibility and RMAd all the burnt components, but the only thing that survived was a floppy disk drive. So that cheap PSU might have cost me not only a batch of brand new hardware components, but also the love of my wife! Since that day, I learnt my lesson, and I NEVER use cheap, unreliable PSU!
So when I bought my new 3080Ti a few weeks ago, I did not skimp on a new PSU, and I bought Seasonic 850W Platinum - pretty expensive, but do I want to burn a 2200 USD Gfx card to save a hundred bucks on a PSU? Of course I don't, and you don't either!
So go and buy a proper PSU - Seasonics are good, as people say, but anything that has at least Gold certification, enough Wattage and quality components and safeguards that would make sure when there is a thunderstorm or a problem on the electric grid, it won't let a power current surge into your computer no matter what, and would protect and safeguard your expensive hardware for years to come!
That is what you should do, if you, as you said, care about your GfX card!
End of rant.
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
335
Yeah Seasonic is also solid. Whatever you do, don't get Corsair, I had two duds.
I have been rocking an old, old Corsair 850 AX for about 7-8 years now. Solid, but I also bought a Thermaltake PSU tester. https://www.thermaltakeusa.com/dr-power-ii.html. I don't use it often, but when I do need it, it's a lifesaver.

On the other hand I have had to RMA Corsair memory at least twice now, so I avoid it for new builds.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,904
I have been rocking an old, old Corsair 850 AX for about 7-8 years now. Solid, but I also bought a Thermaltake PSU tester. https://www.thermaltakeusa.com/dr-power-ii.html. I don't use it often, but when I do need it, it's a lifesaver.

On the other hand I have had to RMA Corsair memory at least twice now, so I avoid it for new builds.

Corsair SPU have a bad rep due to their cheap CX line which up until a couple years ago was pretty bad, seems that since they hired Jonnyguru the quality has improved somewhat. The more expensive lines have always been better quality wise.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Yeah, it was CX I got that was bad. I mean, it worked, no fire or anything, but it made the loudest coil whine I've ever heard.

Also has a high-end 1500W one, it was good for a while but had some problem with the 2080 Ti.

Switched to EVGA and no problems so far.
 

Hakaba

Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
980
so my power supply has one 4*2 pin and 3*2 pin but my cpu takes 4*2 and gpu also does. what should i do?

The cables should be identified as CPU and PCIe…. They are also keyed differently and will not, unless you force it in. Doing so will apply multiple 12V lines into grounds on your motherboard or GPU. Help us help you by stating…

What is your motherboard?
What is your PSU?
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,186
Corsair SPU have a bad rep due to their cheap CX line which up until a couple years ago was pretty bad, seems that since they hired Jonnyguru the quality has improved somewhat. The more expensive lines have always been better quality wise.
This is why you should look at who the OEM is. Many of their units are CWT up through their mid-range and even some high-range stuff. The more expensive ones are Seasonic and Flextronics, used in their AX and AXi series. EVGA uses Superflower for many of their units, which is why they generally have a good reputation.
 
Top