What Sata 6 controller for P67?

Discussion in 'Intel MoBos' started by zod96, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. zod96

    zod96 Suspected BAD TRADER

    Messages:
    2,709
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    I want to make sure I get a P67 motherboard that has a Intel Sata 6 controller and not a marvel or highpoint one. Dose anyone know if the asus or msi boards have the intel controller?
     
  2. loki7

    loki7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    239
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    I assume all boards have at least 2 Intel SATA 3.0 ports, considering it's the P67 Intel chipset.

    Edit:
    What strikes me is which boards have Intel Gigabit controllers. I haven't seen all P67 boards, but have only noticed upper-end ASUS boards with Intel Gigabit and of course Intel's own. Disappointed the UD7 doesn't. Any $200+ board should. Any $300+ really should. :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2011
  3. zod96

    zod96 Suspected BAD TRADER

    Messages:
    2,709
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    yes I know that. I'm talking about the sata 6 controller
     
  4. loki7

    loki7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    239
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Did I not answer the question? I'm confused. :D
     
  5. todlerix

    todlerix 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,244
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    sata3 = sata6.0Gbps
     
  6. Hostile

    Hostile Gawd

    Messages:
    687
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    lol you sure?
     
  7. E4g1e

    E4g1e [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,056
    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    The Asus P67 motherboards (the P8P67 series) all have at least three internal SATA 6 Gbps ports - two of which are native to the Intel P67 PCH, the other two (P8P67, P8P67 PRO, P8P67 EVO, P8P67 Deluxe) or one (P8P67 LE) using a Marvell controller. What would have been a second Marvell-controlled SATA 6 Gbps port on the P8P67 LE is instead used by an eSATA port.
     
  8. zod96

    zod96 Suspected BAD TRADER

    Messages:
    2,709
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Ops :) My bad I didn't even notice that. I always just thought it was called sata 6 :) you learn something new every day...
     
  9. Pretzel

    Pretzel Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Here's the Asus P67 P8P67 boards, as you can see below you'd want to use the (gray) ports for 6.0 Gb/s through the intel chipset.. instead of the the slower Marvell which are (navy blue)

    Intel® P67 Express Chipset
    2 xSATA 6.0 Gb/s ports (gray)
    4 xSATA 3.0 Gb/s ports (blue)
    Intel® Rapid Storage Technology Support RAID 0,1,5,10
    Marvell® PCIe 9128 SATA 6Gb/s controller with HyperDuo function*
    2 xSATA 6.0 Gb/s ports (navy blue)

    The MSI also has 4 x Sata 3 (6.0 Gbs) I assume 2 are intel and 2 are marvell like the Asus.
     
  10. Hostile

    Hostile Gawd

    Messages:
    687
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    They're white actually. :p

     
  11. Pretzel

    Pretzel Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    In all the benches the Intel chipset is far superior to the Marvell.. makes you wonder why they even included the Marvell and instead went with 4 x Intel 6 GBs sata. :confused:
     
  12. JamesL

    JamesL Gawd

    Messages:
    657
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    afaik, Intel sata 6.0Gbps controllers were integrated into the p67 chipset.
    If the p67 chipset only supports 2 ports, than you need to find other means of providing additional sata6Gbps ports which is where the Marvell controller comes in.
     
  13. Finny76

    Finny76 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,170
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    +1

    What about the PCIex16 lanes?
     
  14. JamesL

    JamesL Gawd

    Messages:
    657
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    what about them?

    I think the controller and bandwidth enough for a single pcie-x16 lane is integrated into the CPU and not the chipset..
    Single pcie-x16 slot is simplest/cheapest to implement for budget motherboards, while other motherboards may find ways to split the bandwidth (x8/x8 or some other configuration), implement sli/xfire(they also probably have to pay for SLI licensing), or find another workaround; ie. nf200

    everything above is "AFAIK".. and/or speculation though...