what Guest VM OS uses the least RAM. What browser uses the least RAM

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by holden j caufield, Apr 3, 2017.

  1. holden j caufield

    holden j caufield Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    453
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    What guest OS and browser uses the least amount of ram? I like to dedicate one guest vm for random browsing and for watching instructional youtube videos.
     
  2. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,558
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
  3. DeChache

    DeChache [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,322
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    You can get some minimal version of linux running on 100-200mb
     
    muz_j likes this.
  4. muz_j

    muz_j Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    161
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    there may be others with lower foot prints, but Minix is in with a shot at low resource use. Something like QNX for embedded systems may be lower.

    http://freesoftwaremagazine.com/articles/minix/

    MINIX 3 runs on 386, 486, or Pentiums or compatible CPUs, and can be installed on a system with as little as 50MB of disk space and 8MB of ram
     
  5. holden j caufield

    holden j caufield Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    453
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    I think my problem is my preferred browser is chrome and firefox with a zillion tabs and each tab seems to suck up RAM. My macbook seems to run my vmware vm better given the same allocated cpu and ram than my thinkpad.
     
  6. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,607
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Holden, that might be a woefully under stated comparison. what is the hardware in your thinkpad, and what is the hardware in your macbook? Is virtualization support turned on on your thinkpad? So many options to tinker with to help and you're throwing out the mac is better than the thinkpad at hosting vmware. Ok YOUR'S is but we know nothing as to give you info on why.... not that you care any longer.
     
  7. holden j caufield

    holden j caufield Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    453
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    I know this vm pretty well as I have the same vm since 2008 just moved around, it's been run on a thinkpad t61, t420, w520, w530, w540, and now a p50 with 48gb ram. Basically just moved around. It's been on a macbook retina 2011, 2012, late 2013, and 2015. Vmware fusion on osx sierra seems to require less than on a win7, 8.1 or 10 host machince with workstation. Mostly because I have to allocate less ram simiply because I have one entertainment vm and 4 work vms I have to fit on the machine at the same time. This is no problem on my newer thinkpads all with 32gb or more ram. The macbook maxes out at 16gb so I have to allocate abot 1/2 the vm ram. I can't say I've done some great detailed study but fusion running the same vm doesn't require as much ram as workstation.