What does everyone use now days to show FPS?

David97

n00b
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
24
I broke down and bought a evga rtx 2080, i used to use fraps but now in all the benchmarks i see FPS, CPU and mem usage overlay.

What software is that from?

Thanks in advanced!
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,628
msi Afterburner with RTSS is the most common for showing the most info
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
6,180
Afterburner mostly, but both Nvidia and AMD include this themselves (for Nvidia it's in Geforce Experience, and AMD in the driver menu).

I do like Afterburner better though, because the display is highly customizable (font face, color, size, etc.) but may be overkill if you just want the fps.
 

waderunner

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,092
If the game has one, I just use the in-game overlay. I believe that both AC Odyssey and Colossus do, for example. If a game has one, they usually have options for things like FPS only or verbose, for more data.

FRAPS wouldn't even display in the last couple of games I tried it with.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
22,819
If the game has one, I just use the in-game overlay. I believe that both AC Odyssey and Colossus do, for example. If a game has one, they usually have options for things like FPS only or verbose, for more data.

FRAPS wouldn't even display in the last couple of games I tried it with.
FRAPS is so 2010.
 

SvenBent

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
3,171
FRAPS

but really dont have the FPS counter on a lot. only if i feel like the game is slugiggsh and to tweak settings
 

cyklondx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2018
Messages
419
msi afterburner *riva stat server. hwinfo for feeding more detail for them.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
956
I don't like overlays This is why I always have a 2nd monitor with MSI AB (detached) and Aida64 Extreme OSD or Custom Sensor Panel always running for an at a glance look-see of everything I want to know.
 
Top