What can cause this type of display corruption?

Erebus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
2,428
I have a new-ish VisionTek 7970 that seems to have a display corruption issue. I'd say once every one or two days I will be working at the computer and all of a sudden this happens (on one monitor OR the other):

2012-10-31_22-58-00_698.jpg


Rebooting fixes it immediately. I can be doing absolutely nothing when it occurs (sitting at the desktop, surfing, etc)

Any ideas?
 

Serpent

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
2,106
Wild guess, but it seems like a driver problem. I think I had something similar way back and rolling back drivers fixed it.
 

Ajiki-kun

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
484
I've been following this issue since I sold off my 7950 (which may or may not be related to your problem), in hopes that new drivers will fix it one day.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1709338
http://www.overclock.net/t/1037034/how-to-fix-dual-monitor-screen-flicker-ati-amd-guide

I've also had the display crap out on me (but not system hang, like I first thought). Majority of the time it was browser-related, but a couple of times was when I opened video files.

Does any of this sound familiar?
 
Last edited:

Erebus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
2,428
I've also had the display crap out on me (but not system hang, like I first thought). Majority of the time it was browser-related, but a couple of times was when I opened video files.

Does any of this sound familiar?

I have seen it occur more often than not with video files..Thanks for the information, I'll start looking through it
 

Ajiki-kun

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
484
dave3533, what Catalyst version are you using?

I am personally interested in finding out if this is still an issue even now, because I would still like to own an AMD card, but I will not buy one as long as this issue persists.
 

BababooeyHTJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
6,951
I have this happen too. Thankfully I've only had the full lock up like that twice. Its usually just a few bars flashing up. I notice that I didn't have that happen with the latest 12.11 beta, probably because of the card not downclocking with that driver.
 

rtangwai

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
1,369
Are you connecting directly to DVI or are you using DisplayPort adapters? My adapters occasionally crap out and I have to unplug and plug them back in to reset them.
 

Erebus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
2,428
Are you connecting directly to DVI or are you using DisplayPort adapters? My adapters occasionally crap out and I have to unplug and plug them back in to reset them.

One monitor is plugged into DVI, one is plugged into HDMI via a HDMI to DVI adapter. The corruption occurs on both monitors (and never at the same time). Unplugging the monitor while this is happening does not resolve the issue.
 

Uncle

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
2,194
I let amd do their auto update with those drivers and the previous,I started to have problems of the rendering of windows onto my desktop slowing down. Couldn't correct it. Uninstalled and reloaded 12.4 and everything went back to normal. If it aint broke don't fix it.
 

crzykid71

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
276
That looks familiar to me from a past card years back.. not good at all, possible vram failing... it will only get worse & stay that way if that's what it is.
 

Erebus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
2,428
*Update*

Upgrading to Windows 8 appears to have resolved whatever underlying issue was causing this.
 

Nocens

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
365
Oddly I had one of my displays do this the other day for the first time. I was using the same drivers as you.
 

wand3r3r

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
422
*Update*

Upgrading to Windows 8 appears to have resolved whatever underlying issue was causing this.

Strange. I'd already be close to the RMA button.

That's good it solved it, it must have been software (windows or drivers).
 
Top