Went from Intel Pentium II 450 MHz to AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0 GHz

Krayzie135

Gawd
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
641
wow, some of you guys had 4mhz comps :D

i went from a amd k-6 300mhz, 32mb ram, 4.01gb
to
p4 3.0ghz, 1gb ram, 120gb

big difference in performance :p

 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
The Cobra said:
My jump was the following:

Compaq Pentium Pro 200, 256MB RAM, 16GB SCSI Drive, Nvidia TNT 16MB Viper 550 (WooHoo), Diamond/3DFX Monster II (G-L-I-D-E), Soundblaster AWE32 w/ 2MB of RAM.

Pentium Xeon 2.4 Duel Proc, Nvidia Geforce 4 Ti 4600, 1GB of RAM, Scsi Drives, ect ect...

Just purchased AMD FX-55, Asus SLI Deluxe, 2GB of RAM, SCSI Drives Raid (From old computer, can't beat 10K RPM) Apple 23" Cinema Display.

No GF for a while now, I love me :)

Each time I saw a spectacular increase in performance.

Anthony
Nice jump! From a Pentium Pro 200 to Xeon 2.4 - that's a pretty damn big leap.

Too bad I haven't done anything "intense" w/ my new PC yet. But I'll do some gaming, DVD burning, and heavy file transferring this weekend. :cool:
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
Krayzie135 said:
wow, some of you guys had 4mhz comps :D

i went from a amd k-6 300mhz, 32mb ram, 4.01gb
to
p4 3.0ghz, 1gb ram, 120gb

big difference in performance :p

I agree - you outleapt me in terms of performance increase. :cool:
 

YourPaceOrMine

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
304
banGerprawN said:
Jeez, dude. Settle down. We're just reliving our past here, no harm in that, is there? Got something against old people, punk? :p

jeez dude, where in my post was i insulting people naming their old systems. i said "you" as in the thead starter, not "you people" which would imply everyone. reread, kthx. ;)
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
YourPaceOrMine said:
you amaze me. OF COURSE you're going to see the difference between a 450mhz p2 and an a64. youll see a difference if you switch to a 3.8e or a 2.0ghz PM. no effin duh.
I try my best to amaze people. :D
 

banGerprawN

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
1,113
YourPaceOrMine said:
jeez dude, where in my post was i insulting people naming their old systems. i said "you" as in the thead starter, not "you people" which would imply everyone. reread, kthx. ;)
I know who it was directed at. You just made it so....HARSH, I spose.
Also, please note the " :p " at the end of my post. This, last I checked, denotes humour in the preceeding statement.
I'm refraining from the oft-used "kthxbye" statement here because it shits me so much...
 

SomeoneWhoIsntMe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
362
Computers that I was the main user (I'm only 14)

1. Athlon XP 1700+ tbred, 512mb PC2700, geforce4 (upgraded to a radeon 9000 pro) - dad made
2. Athlon XP 2700+ tbred, 1024mb PC2700, 9600XT - I made, dad helped
3. Athlon XP-M 2400+, 1024mb PC3200, 6800 - I made

I'm waiting for socket M2/F before upgrading.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
58
My story goes like this

1987 Apple II (with only BASIC and LOGO, using tapes to load games)
1992 386
1994 P75
1998 P200 (second hand computer used in college dorm)
2000 Compaq PIII 750 laptop (used till now :( )

And I will make my big jump at the end of this October as stated in my sig. :p
 

megawzrd

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
750
commadore 64
p90
pII 266
pIII 450
athlon xp 2000
athlon xp2500 barton
athlon 64 3200 venice (for three weeks then to:)
athlon 64 3700 san diego (current)

woohoo all the good memories
 

CHAoS_NiNJA

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,577
Well, it may not have been as impressive as a jump from a 20Mhz proc to an FX-55, but I did go from:

Celeron (Pentium II) 333HMz
64MB SDRAM
ATi Rage II 8MB (On-Board)
8GB Seagate

to:

AMD Athlon XP 2700+
Abit NF7-s2
Kingmax 512MB (2x256) PC-3500
ATi Radeon 9800 128MB
40GB Seagate


Whhooaaa buddy. It was like a kick to the nuts. The first time I used that puppy I was in heaven. Then I slapped in Quake III Arena (only game I had at the time) and it was like...Heaven, Overclocked. Boy was it good. I've changed my mobo and proc since then (as shown in my sig) but man, I can only hope my jump to A64 will be as blissful. :D
 

Unabomber

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,076
Krayzie135 said:
wow, some of you guys had 4mhz comps :D

I wish I had a 4 MHz CPU in those days, but my Apple //c had a 1.02 MHz 65C02 CPU.
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,601
There are too many upgrades and changes made throughout the years to try and list what I've had.

I will say my biggest jump was from an XP-M 2400+@2.5Ghz to a dually PII 266 system. No, you are not ready that wrong. Went from a semi-modern system to a nice and old one. I'll have the newer system back when I can finally afford internet access. :)

 

object88

n00b
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
13
TI-99/4a
Osborne 4.77MHz PC clone (1 of only 4 they ever made before closing shop), 640KB!!, DOS
386sx-16, ???, DOS
486dx-33, 2MB?, DOS, Linux
PII-350, 64MB, Linux, Win95, WinMe, BeOS (later upgrated to two PII-350!)
BeBox 133MHz (another piece of history!), BeOS
Dell P4-2.2Ghz, 512MB, WinXP

I've still got the PII and Dell; my dad's still got the TI and Osborne, probably the 386 and 486 too!
 

cripy

Weaksauce
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
64
pentium mmx 233
pentium 2 450
pentium 3 1000
amd 2000
amd 2200
Intel P4 2.4C
Intel P4 2.8C
Intel P4 3.2EE
Intel Pentium D 830
AMD X2 4600+
AMD X2 4800+
AMD FX55
AMD FX-57

I still own the last 6 pc's, I have them because I have gotten into competitive benchmarking so now im a hardware/overclocking junkie.
 

DuffMan72

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
246
Some Compaq 50mhz (I don't even think it was a Pentium) - 1994 or 1995
Pentium 100 mhz, 24 MB of ram, and a video card that couldn't run NHL97 - 1997 or 1998
Pentium III 933 mhz, 128MB (now 384 MB), a HUGE leap - Beginning of 2001

Soon to be Amd 64 3200+ with 2gb ram, and hopefully a 7800gt. This should be interesting :)
 

visaris

Gawd
Joined
Apr 14, 2005
Messages
842
OOoo! I want to list my upgrade path!

Intel 386
AMD 486
AMD K6-2 450
Dual PIII 300
AMD T-Bird 700
AMD 1000
AMD 1400
AMD 2200+
AMD Dual Opteron 242
AMD Dual Opteron 265 (dual-core)

I currently have the 265's, and the dual PIII is my HTTP/DNS server
 

skudmunky

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,462
AMD Athlon XP 1600+, 256 mb ram, Geforce 2, 20 gig hard disk

AMD XP 1600+, 512 mb ram, Geforce 4, 120gb hdd space

yeah, that's it. :(
 

josh_1413

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
344
I went from a P2 350MHz with a 32MB Radeon 7000 PCI 20GB HD and 192MB of ram.

I then got P2 266MHz with 64MB from my dad and a 8GB HD, with a Voodoo 2 AGP. ( I still used my P2 350)

I then bought a P3 700Mhz and i had the Radeon 7000 PCI, i then bumped it up to a Geforce 4MX 440 PCI (what a regret :( )

I then got a Athlon XP 2200+ with 512MB of DDR 2700. I've had 5 different video cards and 2 different processors in this ASUS A7V8X motherboard. I first had the Geforce 4 MX 440 PCI in it, but it was messing up the sound from my sound card Sound Blaster Live 5.1( 5 year old sound card still going strong :D ), then i switched back to the Radeon 32MB 7000, I then got a AGP Radeon 64MB 7000, then i bought a Radeon 9000 64MB, and now i have a MSI 6600GT AGP and a 3000+ athlon XP with 1.5GB Ram. I've done all of this without reformating :D I love building my own computers, because i know what i can put in and what i can't when upgrading.
 

Rob978

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 5, 2005
Messages
85
Yeah, well in 2001 i went from:
Intel 486
2Gb HDD
too little ram to mention
integrated graphics
to a:
P4 1.8
256MB Ram
ATI Rage Card
Turtle Beach Soundcard
and a 20GB HDD
to: (current pc listed in signature)
 

serbiaNem

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
2,165
cripy said:
pentium mmx 233
pentium 2 450
pentium 3 1000
amd 2000
amd 2200
Intel P4 2.4C
Intel P4 2.8C
Intel P4 3.2EE
Intel Pentium D 830
AMD X2 4600+
AMD X2 4800+
AMD FX55
AMD FX-57

I still own the last 6 pc's, I have them because I have gotten into competitive benchmarking so now im a hardware/overclocking junkie.


Seems like you started off with nice smooth 100% gains, and now you upgrade every 2mo it seems =D
 

The Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
2,972
Going from a Duel PPro 200 to a Duel 2.4 Xeon w/HT was an amazing jump. That compaq is from 1995 and still going strong after 11 years. I had a SB Live 5.1 sound card to replace the AWE32 was a nice jump. My mother has the machine now and uses it for internet, email and AOL, and some word processing. The operating system on there is Windows NT 4.0 SP6. Auto login and everything else with FIREFOX :D

I sold the Xeon machine to a friend in NYC, he uses it for video editing and loves it. I replaced the GF4 Ti 4600 with a BFG Geforce 6800 GT, that was a great jump as well. But I had to take my Scsi drives out of there and transfer them to my new BEAST :cool:

I have fallen in love with AMD, the FX-55 rocks my world. I use it for gaming mainly, will rip some DVD's and music every once ina while, but that is why I have my Powerbook :p

THe powerbook is where I do all my banking and music and dvd's and internet surfing and web design for my school that I teach it.

Being single is alot of fun, as I said, I love me too much, LOL
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
Some of you (such as cripy) must be growing money in your garden or something in order to upgrade to the latest and greates processors so often! :eek: I wish I could do that. Wait a sec, I'm single, so I guess I could. :D

If I wait another (almost) 7 years before I replace my PC, someone please knock some sense in me. :rolleyes:

serbiaNem (the guy who went from a K6-II 400 to 3400+) made a hell of a leap as well. :cool:
 

Elios

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
7,282
yea i wont be upgrading till M2 now :D dual core A64 with DDR2 1000 sounds good to me lol
soon nothing on your pc will run under 1Ghz lol
 

DieLate

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
236
First computer we had at home was one of the (if not the) first Apple Powerbooks. Don't remember the model #. Black & white screen, 90MB HD space, about 8MB RAM.

Then a Performa 6400/180 (CD-ROM, w00t!)
To a G4 400 Sawtooth (AGP graphics)
Sold it when moved in with the girlfriend who had a G4 450 dual CPU
Sold it and built a P4 2.4C which is where I'll be for awhile.

Next will probably be a Socket M2 or Intel's new 65nm processors late in 2006.
 

CobraSC

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
30
C64 / 128
IBM 486/66
Pentium 75 w/o mmx
Cyrix 100 laptop - upgraded to 24MB ram, 1GB had drive
P2 300 - 64MB / 6.4 GB
...later upgraded to Celeron 300a @ 464 / 384 MB ram / 40GB / Voodoo2 SLI
Dual Celeron 333 @ 550 on a BP6 / 384MB / 120 GB / Geforce 2
Celeron 600 @ 900 / 512 MB / 120 GB
Duron 900 @ 1050 / 512 MB / 120 GB
T-bird 1400 @ 1533 / 512 MB / 120 GB (Still running - now my work computer w/ 1GB ram)
Intel P4 2.4 @ 3.2 / 1 GB / 300 GB IDE RAID

Wow, I had no idea I had such an addiction there for a few years...
 

wtiger

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
1,600
333 celery oc'd to hell I think I got 500 something mhz and everything since has been oc'd
celery667
1400 t-bird oc'd
xp1800+
xp2500+
xp2500+barton mobile
s939 a64 3200+ winchester @2.6
and I've got an opteron 170 in the mail
These are only my personal comp's that I built myself and overclocked I've had hardware back to the 486 days.
I can't even name off the vid cards; basically 1 every generation or two since the original voodoo.
 

Bona Fide

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
2,382
Wow...nearly an 800% jump (450 -- 3200)

My last PC was a P4 1.6GHz. Before that was a P2 400MHz. And before that was a PPro 200MHz. This was by far my cheapest one. :)
 

Enjoicube

Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
530
I came from a

K6-2
64 MB pc 100
2 MB rage
no sound
15 inch curved
5 GB HD

to a
2500
512 333
64 MB geforce 2
Hurricane theatre
same 15 in
80 GB HD

now I have upgraded by rig greatly
3500
1 GB ddr 400
128 MB 6800
Audigy ES
19 inch flat screen
same 8 GB HD
 

HyperTension

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2002
Messages
1,215
:: Chuckles ::

P-233
P-600EB with Rambus (Stupid, I know. Fell the the sales pitch)
AMD 2000+
Intel 2.4 533
Intel 3.0C
...... In 3 weeks will be ordering an Opty 175, or 180 :) Thank christ its time!!!
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
The thread is alive again!! These new posts made today also indicate some very impressive upgrades. :cool:

So far, I have absolutely no regrets from upgrading that ancient P2-450 to my Athlon 64 3200+, except for not doing it earlier.

A few weeks ago, I "donated" my old P2-450 to a co-worker. I don't know what he plans to do w/ it, but I did warn him that it sucks. Of course I took my hard drive out and a couple peripheral items.

Then on Sat., I took my 19" CRT monster to my parents' house and "donated" it to my brother. He's got a crappy 17" CRT that's starting to die on him. So the only Dell components left from my original 1998 computer purchase are the unsightly shipping boxes stacked in a corner of my living room that I haven't got the chance to discard just yet.
 

lithium726

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,195
haha, i upgraded some older folks from a p2 400 XPS dell to a sempron of some sort, they were blown away.
 

speculative

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
252
Went from:

Apple IIgs>
Gateway 200MMX with 32MB RAM and 2gb hard drive>
AMD Tbird 1ghz with 512MB RAM and 45gb hard drive

Decent jumps. :D Of course, in the past 5 years those jumps have gotten much smaller... ;)
 

SKy042

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,037
ok I'll jump in.
commodore 64
286 8/16mhz(turbo button) 1mb ram later added a 80MB hard drive
386 33mhz I think 2mb
386 DX40 2mb ram
486 DX266 with 4mb of ram and a 1MB VLB GPU
PII 450mhz 192MB of ram and a Riva 128zx....later added SLI Voodoo2
then a PIII 750 (only vaugely remember this system) 128MB Voodoo5 5500
Athlon XP 1900 512mb ram
Athlon XP 2600
Athlon XP 3200
Athlon 64 X2 4400+
then sold it.
rebuilt it Athlon 64 X2 4400+
Opteron 165
 

jbailey

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
502
386dx/33
P1 75mhz
P2 266mhz
Celeron 400mhz
P3 800mhz
P4 2.26ghz

I'm in the processing of buying parts for a new computer. Probably going to go with 3200+ and A8N-SLI Deluxe or Premium.
 

enlightenedby42

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 19, 2005
Messages
4,412
Well, since everybody else is doing it....

-Packard Hell 486 DX2/50 4mb on board ram, later upgraded to 100 mhz DX4 overdrive
(I actually used this system with a compressed 340 mb hard drive for years..lol)
-IBM/Cyrix PR300 MX w/ Voodoo2
-Slot A Athlon 750 w/GF2 GTS (screaming beast in its day)
-Dell Inspiron 8100 P3 1.2 w/ radeon 7500 (giant turd with a flip screen)
-P4C 3.0 ghz w/ 9800 pro and later 6800 gt

Quite a journey its been...Anybody else ever have a Packard Bell system? Sweet mother of god I don't even know how I used that thing ever. Those people made abysmal quality a fuckin art form...I am a much smarter geek for learning how to upgrade/maintain computers on that pos though!
 

Shane

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
1,356
atari 400
atari 800xl
atari 1200xl
amiga 500
486 sx 33
486 dx 66
486 dx 100
p 233
p2 400
amd 900
amd xp 1400
p 4 2.4c
p 4 3.0 prescott
amd x2 amd 64 3800 current oc'ed up from 2.0 to 2.6ghz with 7800gt

btw in the days of the amiga's geez they were super computers just blew intel out of the water in graphics / sound etc i fukn loved em hehe long live amiga!
lol I run emulator for amiga games still I like alot of them and have around 10,000 amiga programs on my computer right now basically every game ever made.
 

ALL4AMD

I Go to Court for Fun.
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
7,076
lets c:
286 with 640kb ram

386 with 8mb ram 250mb hd

p100 upgraded to amd k6-2 500Mhz
these^^^^ were b4 i built my own and were dads

now the next 2 systems in my sig
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
enlightenedby42 said:
Well, since everybody else is doing it....

-Packard Hell 486 DX2/50 4mb on board ram, later upgraded to 100 mhz DX4 overdrive
(I actually used this system with a compressed 340 mb hard drive for years..lol)
-IBM/Cyrix PR300 MX w/ Voodoo2
-Slot A Athlon 750 w/GF2 GTS (screaming beast in its day)
-Dell Inspiron 8100 P3 1.2 w/ radeon 7500 (giant turd with a flip screen)
-P4C 3.0 ghz w/ 9800 pro and later 6800 gt

Quite a journey its been...Anybody else ever have a Packard Bell system? Sweet mother of god I don't even know how I used that thing ever. Those people made abysmal quality a fuckin art form...I am a much smarter geek for learning how to upgrade/maintain computers on that pos though!
LOL I remember Packard Bell. I always thought of them as cheap impostors of Hewlett-Packard, much like I thought Hyundai was the lower class version of Honda. :D

Those PB computers were always (relatively) dirt cheap. I remember my geek friends and I getting excited to see the weekly deals in the newspaper for PB computers to see what the price drop would be or what upgrade would be featured. Oh man, those were the days. :D
 

Tanky

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
1,787
Whitebox built by IT Guy at Dad's work:
Pentium 233 MMX
64megs of ram
8gig hd
Ati something or another
28.8 modem
2x CD-Rom
No Sound
Started with Windows 3.1->win 95->win 98

To

Athlon 64 3300+ Socket 754
1gig DDR400
6600GT
160gig HD
DVD-RW
CD-ROM
8 in 1 Media Reader
Wireless LAN
300 Gig Maxtor External Hard Drive

Like night and freaking day differance

My parents replaced that computer with a HP Pavilion with a Pentium 4 520 2.8GHZ with HT
 
Top