WELL..BOYS.. I done did it.. slightly inebriated video card purchase.. RTX 3070 from BB @ $499~ coming from RX580

atarione

2[H]4U
soo... it has been long known that the absolute best time to look for items to buy is at 2:30~AM while having had a number of intoxicating beverages... Knowing this well I decided to employ this knowledge to browse "SlickDeals" and saw this RTX3070 @msrp from BB for $499..... I have been using this XFX RX580 Black Edition card since 2019 and honestly I should have RMA'd it while i could but I got busy / distracted... whatever and didn't it has a very annoying habit of blanking out my 2nd monitor repeatedly while gaming...

Currently I have a Ryzen 5 3600 :: B550 AORUS Elite :: 16GB of DDR4 3200 and a Seasonic X750 power supply... I actually believe (correct me if I'm mistaken?) the Ryzen 5 3600 is going to bottleneck the 3070? which is not a problem because my wife's computer is ancient it is my old pc from 2014 (i7 4770K / Z87X-UD3H / 16GB DDR 3 (something or other it is corsair of some sort??) (a rather uninspiring in 2022 HD7950) and a Corsair 600w psu..) Sooo... my wife is probably getting my Ryzen ..etc rig and I am likely getting a i5-12400 ..etc

My Monitors are 2 ViewSonic XG2705-2K monitors I bought on sale at xmas that my RX580 is somewhat under powered for ?

anyways... how y'all figure this has worked out considering I was about 3 Vodka Tonics in when busting out my credit card?

This is the card in question:::
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/nvidia...rk-platinum-and-black/6429442.p?skuId=6429442

Last edited:
Agreement all around. Your 3600 is still plenty good enough for the 3070.

My Son’s PC is a 3600 and 3060ti so not too far off and if you feel like the cpu is holding you back just crank up the IQ settings in games and boom back being GPU bound! 😎

heck of an upgrade.
im sure itll be fine. (cpu/gpu combo)