Weird XMP Issue (AMD x570 board)

Andrew_Carr

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
2,126
I've been trying to figure out why my 5800x benchmarks at about 50% what other people's do, and it looks like my performance issues are probably related to XMP not being enabled only my memory. I just noticed that... Anyway, I went back to my motherboard BIOS to double check, and even though I had enabled XMP (Profile 1 set it to 1.35V, 3600MHz), it wasn't applying. So I manually adjusted the DRAM voltage to 1.35V and then 1.5V hoping that would fix it. It seems to have fixed it, but for only 1 stick of RAM. Really not sure what is going on right now. I bought 2 sets of 16GB RAM kits separately, but they're the same spec and they're all the exact same part number. But looking at my CPUz info now, they're all running at different timings and only one is running at the XMP settings. I don't believe there's any way for me to adjust voltage on the modules individually, so I'm kinda confused why the manual adjustment didn't apply to all four modules. Any thoughts?

Motherboard is an aorus x570 gaming wifi with the latest BIOS and I've updated the chipset drivers on my computer as well in the last month. Anyone have an idea what's going on here?

1614669168359.png


1614669303316.png

1614669318150.png



Looks like I might just be misreading this. HWinfo64 is reporting memory speed as 1800MHz and showing the XMP profile correctly. Still not sure why I'm only scoring 8900 in the CPU test of Timespy when I should be getting 11-13k.
 
Last edited:

dasa

Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
519
You also need to set the timings
it is running 1800=3600 now that you have set it to do so but the timings are still on auto at 26\25 you want to set them to 16-19-19-37, or 39 tiny OC ;)
Both sticks will be running the same speed as it is not possible for them to run separate.

But 50% performance drop seems a bit extreme this should make no where near that difference in most programs. Cinebench for example should score about the same regardless of RAM speed.

Grab HWiNFO64 and see if the CPU is running ~4.5GHz during Cinebenech multi.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
28,668
Something is definitely wrong with the XMP setting. It's getting the memory speed right, but the timings are super super loose. I'm surprised that you're having that issue though. I set the XMP settings on my Gigabyte B550 board and it works without any problems.

You should be fine if you manually adjust your timings to better reflect the rated speeds.
 

Andrew_Carr

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
2,126
You also need to set the timings
it is running 1800=3600 now that you have set it to do so but the timings are still on auto at 26\25 you want to set them to 16-19-19-37, or 39 tiny OC ;)
Both sticks will be running the same speed as it is not possible for them to run separate.

But 50% performance drop seems a bit extreme this should make no where near that difference in most programs. Cinebench for example should score about the same regardless of RAM speed.

Grab HWiNFO64 and see if the CPU is running ~4.5GHz during Cinebenech multi.
Yeah, I just stress tested my CPU again and it seems like over long periods it hits the high 80C temp range so I think that could be the other part of the issue. Will have to repaste again.
 

mda

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
2,072
Try setting the XMP, and THEN bumping up the RAM to 1.4V or something.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
13
I had a similar issue with my x570 elite. Disabling Power Down Mode in the bios allowed the speed and timing settings to be corrected by setting manually.
 

dasa

Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
519
Yeah, I just stress tested my CPU again and it seems like over long periods it hits the high 80C temp range so I think that could be the other part of the issue. Will have to repaste again.
80c is actually a good temp and it doesn't start to throttle till 90c.
My 5800X hits 90c instantly with y-cruncher despite being under a custom loop.

But it may only hit 80c as the CPU is already throttling for another reason which is why I asked you to check on the clock speed and benchmark score in a program that wont be affected a great deal by RAM speed.
 

Andrew_Carr

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
2,126
80c is actually a good temp and it doesn't start to throttle till 90c.
My 5800X hits 90c instantly with y-cruncher despite being under a custom loop.

But it may only hit 80c as the CPU is already throttling for another reason which is why I asked you to check on the clock speed and benchmark score in a program that wont be affected a great deal by RAM speed.
Ok, yeah, it immediately pegs to 90.4C in cinebench multi. CPUz shows about 4.5-4.6GHz pretty consistently though so it doesn't seem to be going too far below that. I've got the RAM timings fixed now so at least that's worth something.
 

dasa

Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
519
How is it performing now you have that fixed?
Few tests you can run.
Cinebench (not sensitive to RAM)
Userbenchmark (ignore the fudged % numbers but if you link the score it can help us see if anything else in your system is not performing as it should)
3dmark timespy physics (somewhat sensitive to RAM)
 
Top