Weird 5800x Symptoms

Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
So my buddy was upgrading his pc (his 2nd build) and hit me up because his PC wouldnt post after swapping out the cpu/mobo/ram. Did some remote troubleshooting with him and determine he had hooked up his pci-e 8pin to his eps connector. Fixed that and everything booted. So everything works fine except for one thing. The SHA validation fails on every Steam download. Did fresh installs with just steam installed, safe mode with networking, etc so it didnt seem software related. Weve replaced every part piece by piece and isolated down to the cpu. Verified no bent pins on the 5800x but an athlon cpu downloads fine and other machines on his network download fine.

Is it possible he partially damaged the cpu? Is the SHA algorithm stuff require a particular feature that uses pin "x" and that was damaged supplying the wrong voltage to the socket? Seems like a very unique scenario but that could be my ignorance. Again battle.net, epic game store, literally everything else ive tried works fine on the machine, its JUST steam that doesnt work.

Hope everyone is having a good one.

Edit: steam SHA validation failing means he downloads for a few seconds, the download stops and requeues to start the download again in 5 minutes. Some games that are services (destiny 2) cannot authenticate to allow him to log in. I thought id be slick and place the game files on my ftp server. He was able to saturate his isp circuit and download the files from my server without any drops. But likebi said, in game auth fails and crashes the game.

Edit 2:
Thank you for all the input!
 
Last edited:

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,975
That's a very strange failure, but with the history of Ryzen CPUs having weird issues, not really surprising.

I would say try to disable SMT in the BIOS and try to download again and see if it fails. Another test would be to try Prime95 and see if it throws any errors. Yet another test would be to find some application that does SHA hashing and see if it returns errors.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
That's a very strange failure, but with the history of Ryzen CPUs having weird issues, not really surprising.

I would say try to disable SMT in the BIOS and try to download again and see if it fails. Another test would be to try Prime95 and see if it throws any errors. Yet another test would be to find some application that does SHA hashing and see if it returns errors.

Disabling smt isnt something id thought of, will try that.

CPU was running at stock so im not sure what Prime95 would error out on? Not suggesting its a poor idea just dont understand.

I didnt know any other programs that specifically use SHA but also didnt dig in to it. Do you have any suggestions?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
start by listing specs/os/etc, then maybe try updating the nic driver?

Asus b550-xe - tried with out of the box and latest bios, replaced with a different one and symptoms followed, installed drivers from asus website as well as direct from intel, issue followed on wired eth, built in wifi and usb dongle wifi

2x16gb ddr4 3600 (have to look up specific model but known working ram kits had same symptoms)

5800x

Evga 3080 ftw3

Win 10 pro - fresh installs. Literally used edge to download steam and nothing else and problem showed. Slowly installed all drivers with no change

Multiple m.2 and 2.5" ssds - installed windows on multiple drives and issue followed

LAN - replaces his outdated modem and router for funsies, no change

No OC on any part.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Hes up and running in an Athlon we got for testing. I would just like to learn/understand and help him fix it or understand the cpu limitations before he thinks about selling it and screwing someone over. Hes got a custom loop so ill prob end up borrowing the cpu at some point for further testing instead of him breaking down his loop for the 5th week in a row.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Also for funsies...here is the steam content_log about. Im assuming the sha failure is why the download stops. Looks like the hash doesnt match so it chucks the data.

[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 state changed : Update Required,Update Queued,Update Optional,Update Started,
[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 state changed : Update Required,Update Queued,Update Optional,Update Running,Update Started,
[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 update changed : Running,
[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 update changed : Running,Reconfiguring,
[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 update changed : Running,
[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 update started : download 33222324400/33969317664, store 0/0, reuse 0/0, delta 0/0, stage 77725439294/78484447729
[2021-08-02 09:38:03] AppID 232090 update changed : Running,Downloading,Staging,
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Got 30 download sources and 0 caching proxies via ContentServerDirectoryService::BYieldingGetServersForSteamPipe (CellID 50 / Launcher 0)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Created download interface of type 'SteamCache' (7) to host cache1-atl1.steamcontent.com (cache1-atl1.steamcontent.com)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Created download interface of type 'SteamCache' (7) to host cache3-atl1.steamcontent.com (cache3-atl1.steamcontent.com)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Created download interface of type 'SteamCache' (7) to host cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com (cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Downloading 726 chunks from depot 232091
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Failed unpacking chunk "7a6964ce4173eac7da053756be17fd6a6aa59e89" from "cache1-atl1.steamcontent.com/depot/232091/chunk/7a6964ce4173eac7da053756be17fd6a6aa59e89" (Wrong SHA bd910351e69827629fc4b10948a5fa6941968684, 1048576 bytes)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Marking bad download source cache1-atl1.steamcontent.com, 1 jobs
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Failed unpacking chunk "029b325fde3cebf516331ddd9e1c5c04894d8469" from "cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com/depot/232091/chunk/029b325fde3cebf516331ddd9e1c5c04894d8469" (Wrong SHA 8b94505216c36e7ea3b7afc171b79d5753c477da, 1048576 bytes)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Marking bad download source cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com, 1 jobs
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Downloading 2 chunks from depot 232091
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] HTTP (SteamCache,15) - cache1-atl1.steamcontent.com (162.254.199.131:443 / 162.254.199.131:443, host: cache1-atl1.steamcontent.com): Closing connection
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Created download interface of type 'SteamCache' (7) to host cache4-atl1.steamcontent.com (cache4-atl1.steamcontent.com)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] HTTP (SteamCache,16) - cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com (162.254.199.195:443 / 162.254.199.195:443, host: cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com): Closing connection
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Created download interface of type 'SteamCache' (7) to host cache2-dfw1.steamcontent.com (cache2-dfw1.steamcontent.com)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Failed unpacking chunk "8fe6f6838216360805509755e091153593305db1" from "cache2-atl1.steamcontent.com/depot/232091/chunk/8fe6f6838216360805509755e091153593305db1" (Wrong SHA 074a8dd00a9ae94b696a699823c1c52745e1b133, 1048576 bytes)
[2021-08-02 09:38:04] Downloading 1 chunks from depot 232091
[2021-08-02 09:38:05] Failed unpacking chunk "12fd484538c5c946ac38c89811cc2d7340febe00" from "cache2-dfw1.steamcontent.com/depot/232091/chunk/12fd484538c5c946ac38c89811cc2d7340febe00" (Wrong SHA 77e0ecc7cf4f1ede1467b9378cbfc7e158018a97, 1048576 bytes)
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,975
CPU was running at stock so im not sure what Prime95 would error out on? Not suggesting its a poor idea just dont understand.

Stability testing. If the CPU can't run Prime95 without throwing errors or causing the computer to crash, then the CPU is defective. You'll need to make sure the CPU cooler is sufficient, because Prime95 will torture the CPU so it cranks out tons of heat.

I didnt know any other programs that specifically use SHA but also didnt dig in to it. Do you have any suggestions?

You can try an old SHA-256 coin miner and see if it throws bad hashes.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Stability testing. If the CPU can't run Prime95 without throwing errors or causing the computer to crash, then the CPU is defective. You'll need to make sure the CPU cooler is sufficient, because Prime95 will torture the CPU so it cranks out tons of heat.



You can try an old SHA-256 coin miner and see if it throws bad hashes.


Rgr thanks! Whenever i get the cpu ill try the miner. Hes got a thick 360mm rad cooling his CPU and GPU so temps are well under control, especially at stock settings.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
33,991
have you tried using a different usb stick? maybe theres some corruption on the one your using. have you tried testing the ram or dropping it down to stock speed? tried prime to check for cpu crashing?
theres also mention of deleting everything in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\downloading might help.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
10,527
I would try running Memtest on there and see if you have any memory errors. Even if the memory itself is fine, keep in mind that the memory controller is on the CPU. Memory errors can cause all kinds of issues just like you described. The errors can be particularly elusive if it's just one occasional flipped bit - but anything that does a hash check to verify file integrity will probably fail. If memtest gives errors, you could try to run your memory at a lower speed or relax the timings.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
have you tried using a different usb stick?
-yes

have you tried testing the ram or dropping it down to stock speed?
- yes

Tried prime to check for cpu crashing?
-on my to do list now

theres also mention of deleting everything in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\downloading might help.
- yea, i know every steam trick in the book at this point. Steam files, clear download cache, change region, disbale that task service, etc. We retried on multiple clean windows installs
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
I would try running Memtest on there and see if you have any memory errors. Even if the memory itself is fine, keep in mind that the memory controller is on the CPU. Memory errors can cause all kinds of issues just like you described. The errors can be particularly elusive if it's just one occasional flipped bit - but anything that does a hash check to verify file integrity will probably fail. If memtest gives errors, you could try to run your memory at a lower speed or relax the timings.

I didnt think of it like that. Good suggestion, will add that to my next steps list. Thanks!
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,181
Asus b550-xe - tried with out of the box and latest bios, replaced with a different one and symptoms followed, installed drivers from asus website as well as direct from intel, issue followed on wired eth, built in wifi and usb dongle wifi

2x16gb ddr4 3600 (have to look up specific model but known working ram kits had same symptoms)

5800x

Evga 3080 ftw3

Win 10 pro - fresh installs. Literally used edge to download steam and nothing else and problem showed. Slowly installed all drivers with no change

Multiple m.2 and 2.5" ssds - installed windows on multiple drives and issue followed

LAN - replaces his outdated modem and router for funsies, no change

No OC on any part.
Its likely you need to increase the SOC voltage in the bios, for the system to be stable/no errors/weird behavior, with RAM at 3600mhz.

Its generally accepted that SOC voltage shouldn't be set higher than 1.2v. I would start with 1.2v and see if it fixes your issues. If it does, then you can try lowering it until you start to have issues again.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Its likely you need to increase the SOC voltage in the bios, for the system to be stable/no errors/weird behavior, with RAM at 3600mhz.

Its generally accepted that SOC voltage shouldn't be set higher than 1.2v. I would start with 1.2v and see if it fixes your issues. If it does, then you can try lowering it until you start to have issues again.

Noted! Wouldn I need to do this when running the RAM at 2133? Not sure what stock voltage is for ddr4.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,181
Noted! I wouldnt need to do this when running the RAM at 2133? Not sure what stock voltage is for ddr4.
In the Asus Bios, it should be something like VDDR_SOC voltage. Its for the memory controller, infinity fabric, etc. Its separate from the DRAM/RAM stick voltage.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Interesting. And its possible that can cause the SHA failute specifically? Or is it just to help with weird scenarios, which could include the SHA failure?

I also want to say this was happening on his z270/6700k combo which was why he upgraded in the first place. But ive tried so many things at this point i cant rememeber. His new setuo included new ram/cpu/mobo. Is it possible the PSU is failing or not delivering clean power?
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,181
Interesting. And its possible that can cause the SHA failute specifically? Or is it just to help with weird scenarios, which could include the SHA failure?
I can't say for sure its THE reason for your friend's SHA failure, specifically. But its common for Ryzen systems to need a bump to the SOC voltage, in order to behave normally with high speed RAM. And the symptoms can vary a lot.

It will be a pretty simple thing to test. Put the SOC voltage at 1.2. retry the downloads. You can also try lowering the RAM speed or turning off XMP/DOCP memory profile.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
To Do List:

1.2V on SOC
memtest
Prime95
Disable SMT
Some other application that uses SHA

Thanks everyone! Just have wait for him to break down his loop again. I think after he tries playing a game on his 2C/4T CPU for 5 minutes he'll be ready to keep troubleshooting lol. Ill update whenever finish these next steps. Thanks again!
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
792
Did your testing include trying a different mother board as well? Comparing the eps and pcie connector pinouts I would think the board would more likely be damaged than the cpu. The athlon would require less power from the mosfets than the 5800x.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
792
Was the same bios update flashed to both motherboards? I would make absolutely certain the correct bios was flashed and if it checks out then an rma is the only thing left to do.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Yeah i manually did the bios upgrades on both motherboards. Another fuck you in this whole process is amd website says the serial# is the wrong format. I know he bought it off ebay so who knows if the sticker is genuine. I tried the s# from my 5900x and it worked fine. Hes going to call AMD Monday.

More updates to follow...
 

Eymar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 15, 2005
Messages
291
Was the same bios update flashed to both motherboards? I would make absolutely certain the correct bios was flashed and if it checks out then an rma is the only thing left to do.
Yeah think the 12v pins are opposite for eps and pci-e on non psu side so thinking the successful athlon test and replacing the mobo most likely means cpu got fried. Maybe the psu ocp prevented fireworks, but killed the cpu/mobo. Seems like when you test cpu on different working system, you'll know the root cause :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Thats where im at too. I may be able to use it in my server since i dont think it uses sha for anything. Just hate for it to be a complete loss for him but im pretty sure weve all fucked something up when we were getting started. He cabled it right when he installed the athlon rofl.

Just such an oddly specific failure. But yea, at this point ive sunk 30+ hours into so im ready to rma everything and say fuck it lol
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
519
Should get the CPU this weekend and i'll throw it in one of my PCs and see what happens.
 
Top