WD Easystore 14TB External USB 3.0 Hard Drive - $200

TheSlySyl

2[H]4U
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
2,120
Both of mine already arrived, both show up as WD140EDGZ-11B1PA0
RPM reads as 7200 and both have power on count: "4" and zero power on hours.

My last 14TB shucced drive was a WD140EDFZ, so a slight difference in model. Firmware on the new one is also 85.00A85 and the old one was 81.00A81

Doing some testing before I shucc em.
 

Luke M

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
501
They might have a sale on the 16TB or 18TB closer to Christmas. But this is a decent deal, especially considering the chaos in the hard drive market earlier in the year.
 

elavanis

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
70
Both of mine already arrived, both show up as WD140EDGZ-11B1PA0

I ordered 3 for pickup and 1 more for delivery. The 3 that were pickup were WD140EDGZ-11B1PA0 as well.

What program did you use to tell what they were shucking them? Nevermind, just found that crystal disk info will tell me.
 
Last edited:

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,557
Both of mine already arrived, both show up as WD140EDGZ-11B1PA0
RPM reads as 7200 and both have power on count: "4" and zero power on hours.

My last 14TB shucced drive was a WD140EDFZ, so a slight difference in model. Firmware on the new one is also 85.00A85 and the old one was 81.00A81

Doing some testing before I shucc em.
one I bought 3 months ago was the EDFZ and the one I got a couple of weeks ago is the EDGZ
WD-14TB-Elements-5400-7200rpm.jpg


Speed test of the EDGZ
WD-14TB-Elements-CrystalDiskMark_20211029021447.png
 

TheSlySyl

2[H]4U
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
2,120
For moving big files (my entire movie database) it was sustaining about 190MBPS. In the external enclosure they both topped out around 50c, which is way hotter than I like. This is through USB, both drives connected to the same USB 3.0 port through a bus and while everything else was going on with my system that normally runs - so it's hardly scientific or accurate. They were being moved off of a 10TB WD shucced drive thats 4 or 5 years old.

I actually use a program called Hard Disk Sentinel for my drive monitoring.
https://www.hdsentinel.com/
I will have 8 internal HDDs and 4 NVME drives by the time I'm done shuccing these two. It's been good to me and makes reliability and temperature charts that I like.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,827
They might have a sale on the 16TB or 18TB closer to Christmas. But this is a decent deal, especially considering the chaos in the hard drive market earlier in the year.
Well the beauty is if you don't need it right htis second, you can buy it now and if something better comes up, buy that and return these before the return date (which is sometime in January).
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,827
can you bring in multiple devices and get extra coupons? I've got some ancient hard drives (some probalby that came out of a TIVO) that have no value to me...hell I think I even have some 90s SCSI drives somewhere around here...if I had a way to read them, I'd pull off my old college papers, but I don't so eh...I can live without them.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,855
can you bring in multiple devices and get extra coupons? I've got some ancient hard drives (some probalby that came out of a TIVO) that have no value to me...hell I think I even have some 90s SCSI drives somewhere around here...if I had a way to read them, I'd pull off my old college papers, but I don't so eh...I can live without them.
I have heard of people doing that, but many times people are told it is a one time deal. go in separate little trips or stores if you need multiple drives.
 
Last edited:

vibe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
1,491
So I have decade-old 1TB and 500GB drives I can still fire up to check for stuff or old backups.

When the helium slowly leaks out of these over a decade, are they basically going to be dead then?

(helium atoms leaks through everything and anything, ultra small compared to anything they are sealed in, it's definitely going to happen to hard drives)
 

TeeJayHoward

Limpness Supreme
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
11,603
Bought the max (3) I could online. Guess I'll try out the local store tomorrow AM for another 3.

edit: Logged out, bought three more, logged in during checkout process, and it let me buy 'em. Maybe I WON'T need to drive around town tomorrow!
 
Last edited:

jzodda

Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
657
Last edited:

Erebus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
2,427
In for 5, thanks OP

Can only buy 3 at a time, but just adding 2 more to cart after the initial order worked fine.
 

ZeroBarrier

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
448
Just ordered on of these, thanks for the heads up. Hoping I also recieve EDGZ instead of EDFZ. I'll report back when it arrives.
 

TheSlySyl

2[H]4U
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
2,120
Majority are for Plex for me as well. As well as raw data from video recording.

Though one of mine is being used as a game drive and its accelerated by a 1TB Corsair MP600 NVME drive - something i've found works incredibly, incredibly well.
 

westrock2000

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
9,353
What are you and other people here using all this storage for?
My iTunes server is currently around 12TB for ~1700 movies. That's across 3 drives. So I can replace 2 of my older drives with this 1 while still expanding. Good movies are coming less and less, so my collection growing has slowed substantially over recent years. Plus h265 does a really amazing job of saving space.

And I got another computer that is using about 20TB doing gods work on Soulseek. :whistle:
 

westrock2000

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
9,353
Majority are for Plex for me as well. As well as raw data from video recording.

Though one of mine is being used as a game drive and its accelerated by a 1TB Corsair MP600 NVME drive - something i've found works incredibly, incredibly well.
Using PrimoCache? If so, yes, that is an exceptional product for these gigantic spinners.
 

rcat1

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
189
yep! Absolutely love Primocache.
+1 for Primocache. Starting using it a few weeks ago and man what a difference. Have an 8Gb WD that I shucked a few years ago and it is so much faster with Primocache.
 

mikeo

Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
660
Definitely NOT for porn, definitely not.
/s

I have a 4TB I can barely fill up and I make YT videos! I too want to know what they're using it for.
I'm good on storage right now but for photo / video people, my EOS R5 uses about a TB an hour if you shoot 8k raw.
 

Erebus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
2,427
If anyone is looking to test their new HDs, here is a rough guide to what I've used. Disclaimer, I don't claim to be an expert at this, just passing along some notes that helped me! If you have any suggested alternative methods or changes, happy to hear them!

I have a Raspberry Pi 400 that I'm doing this initial testing on, but the method works with a VirtualBox VM with Ubuntu/Linux distro of your choice or live USB distro.

TLDR: Use Linux tools "badblocks" and "smartctl" to determine if your WD drive is ok to shuck prior to your return window running out. Ie, this process should tell you if your drive has any potential early failure modes before you void your warranty by shucking the drive. This process will take on the order of 2 days for the 14tb drives in this thread.

Prep:
Need to install this in Ubuntu (or any Linux distro in a virtual machine) / Raspberry Pi OS/Raspbian (if not already installed). This is the SMART toolset you will use to check for SMART errors after the badblocks run:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt install smartmontools

Badblocks should already be installed (at least in Raspberry Pi OS it was).

Then, if running in a VM, you have to pass your USB hard drive through to the VM. Figure out what device name Linux has assigned (/dev/sdXX, typically sda1 or sdb1) using:
"lsblk" in console.

If Linux automatically mounted your hard drive, you must unmount it before running badblocks:
sudo umount /dev/sdXX (replace XX with your actual device)

Note: you can plug multiple USB external drives into your Linux device of choice, and run the below commands in separate command windows for each drive, which will allow you to test multiple drives concurrently.

To test:
Once you have the /dev/sdXX name, run:

badblocks -b 4096 -e 1 -svw /dev/sdXX
Replace the XX with what it actually is, then run the command. Will take ~16-17s day to scan for errors. Warning, executing this command will destroy anything on the target hard drive, so make sure you are performing this on the right device.

After the scan is complete (assuming it didn't fail with any badblocks errors), you can use the following command to determine if any SMART errors have occurred on the drive:
smartctl -t long /dev/sdXX

Failures during the badblocks scan OR in SMART data would indicate a (potentially) bad disk. If the drive passes both tests, there is a pretty good chance you can shuck it without too much concern for early drive failure.

Taken mostly from this link:
https://old.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/7hqm63/what_should_i_do_before_i_shuck/

badblocks.jpeg


Pic of testing setup with Raspberry Pi 400 (screen is a Pimoroni HyperPixel connected to an Adafruit CYBERDECK, with Cyberdeck connector 18 diode removed). I also have a USB powered fan cooling the two WD drives under test.
 
Last edited:

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,426
I've found using a parted magic live cd and then just using the long smart tests there are sufficient to validate almost any drive. And you can do multiple drives in parallel too. I cleared all my 6x 16TB Exos drives this way over a single day of testing. (y) Badblocks is definitely more intensive, so if the drives matter more, then that's probably the route to go. But imo if the data is that important, I would be using enterprise sata or sas drives instead.
 

Ikasu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
1,208
Hmm...Would these methods be superior compared to using HDTune Pro with their error checking option? I've been using it with quick scan off, does a full sector scan...Took about 10 hours to complete on each of my 14tb drives I got, just ran two instances at once.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,426
Hmm...Would these methods be superior compared to using HDTune Pro with their error checking option? I've been using it with quick scan off, does a full sector scan...Took about 10 hours to complete on each of my 14tb drives I got, just ran two instances at once.
Dunno. It depends on what it's doing. I know badblocks will write to the drive while the long smart does not, but reads every sector.
 

Ikasu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
1,208
Dunno. It depends on what it's doing. I know badblocks will write to the drive while the long smart does not, but reads every sector.
Hmm, it scans every single sector for damaged blocks (hence the 10 hours). So far hasn't let me down, so will probably do the same still. Although I have a spare raspberry pi laying around, might try it just for kicks. Haven't used parted magic in a while, was definitely useful for me in the past, may load up the newest version just to see how things have changed =P. Thanks.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,426
Hmm, it scans every single sector for damaged blocks (hence the 10 hours). So far hasn't let me down, so will probably do the same still. Although I have a spare raspberry pi laying around, might try it just for kicks. Haven't used parted magic in a while, was definitely useful for me in the past, may load up the newest version just to see how things have changed =P. Thanks.
Yep, it seems like any scan worth its salt will take many hours (overnight) to scan the drive. I know It took over 16hours to do my 16TB drives with just a smart long test. I was very thankful I could load up all the drives in my esata enclosure and test them in parallel--otherwise that alone would have been a week!
 

Ikasu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
1,208
Yep, it seems like any scan worth its salt will take many hours (overnight) to scan the drive. I know It took over 16hours to do my 16TB drives with just a smart long test. I was very thankful I could load up all the drives in my esata enclosure and test them in parallel--otherwise that alone would have been a week!
Which esata enclosure are you using? if you don't mind me asking, peaked my curiosity =P.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,426
Which esata enclosure are you using? if you don't mind me asking, peaked my curiosity =P.
It's actually an older sansdigital 8 bay one. It came with its own sata card that supports the port multiplying that the enclosure needs. I have the card installed in my z600 which I just boot to a parted magic live cd and then run smart tests on multiple drives at a time. I also have a usb adapter for ide drives so I can test them the same way. Works really well to find out how good a drive is or clear it prior to use. I just ran the smart long test on 2x 10TB WD Golds the other day. I run the short test and make sure that passes before running the long test overnight. By morning, both drives were showed good (as expected). (y) When I got my 16TB Exos a few years back, I didn't realize I could do more than one test at the same time--so I had actually spent 2x days on 2x drives. Then I realized I could do more than one and loaded up the remaining 4x drives in the enclosure and had the rest done in just a day.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ikasu
like this

Vile

Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
801
Top