WD 2TB drive almost to market

devil22

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 1, 2003
Messages
3,837
I'm not concerned about the cost, hell I paid $370 for each of my 1TB drives...
 

Justintoxicated

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
14,455
Depending on your configurations, this could be a HUGE QFT.

In the past, I have worked on $120 cost of overhead per drive, this is the port cost, hot swap cost, cost of a more expensive case for drive capacity, increased psu size, increased power draw, etc.

Now when you factor two 1tb drives for say 100 bucks (200 dollars) and the cost of an extra drive usage, that puts a 2tb in the cost savings zone by far (200+120=320). And if these drives are 199, that would make them a bargain in my senario.

Even if hotswapping a drive causes the array to fail?
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Depending on your configurations, this could be a HUGE QFT.

In the past, I have worked on $120 cost of overhead per drive, this is the port cost, hot swap cost, cost of a more expensive case for drive capacity, increased psu size, increased power draw, etc.

Now when you factor two 1tb drives for say 100 bucks (200 dollars) and the cost of an extra drive usage, that puts a 2tb in the cost savings zone by far (200+120=320). And if these drives are 199, that would make them a bargain in my scenario.

I agree.

Less drives is usually a better deal all around even if they cost slightly more, but usually the $/GB is similar.

With less drives there are not as many points of failure. And therefore less of a chance of something getting screwed up.
You need less electricity.
Sounds like a better deal to me.

Now I just need them to get stocked at ZZF
 

PC_User

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
5,022
has anyone found a retailer that has these in stock yet?

Not yet...be patient! Even WD doesn't have them listed on their website. I'm sure they would be listed there before they start appearing for sale. There hasn't been an official announcement yet...
 

PC_User

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
5,022
Here's a post from Anchen from another thread:

According to Anandtech they should start shipping this week to etailers, so expect the 2TB Green's to start appearing within the next few weeks actually. No idea on when other versions will appear and if the Green Edition appeals to you (lower drive speed, most likely 5400 rpm, but low power consumption, nice acoustics supposedly, and 500 GB per disk leads to high density and improved speeds). Here's a link to the article:

http://www.anandtech.com/weblog/showpost.aspx?i=546

Other editions I would expect to be closely following though.

Shipping to e-tailers: soon
Price: $299 USD
Specs: 4 x 500GB Platters
 

FM 3370

Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
787
Why do I think that if I just had 3 of these 2TB HDDs I would be set for life? I've love to fill these up with Blu-Ray movies and HD-Porn. :)
 

Syntax Error

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
2,681
$299 is pretty steep for the MSRP, but if the market was any indication, that should go down pretty fast. :)

Now we play the waiting game. :D
 

undyingshadow

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
87
God, these need to go down in price ASAP. I've got a server with limited case space, and I need greater than 1 gig drive density. I was putting in 1.5 tb hard drives, but these have had very poor failure rates. As soon as they drop to $200, I'm buying 3 :)
 

PC_User

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
5,022
$200 is a good price for these drives. I just paid $115 for a WD10EADS. If I would've known about these, I may have waited. Although not too keen on getting them for $300 a piece.

I wonder how much the WD 1.5TB will sell for...?
 

epimetheus

Gawd
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
815
I've got a request in to Directron to see when they can get these drives in stock. Hopefully soon - Directron seems to have the best pricing on more popular hard drives that I have seen.
 

FM 3370

Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
787
$299 is pretty steep for the MSRP, but if the market was any indication, that should go down pretty fast. :)

Now we play the waiting game. :D

If they want to sell these fast they should price them at $200 or hell...$150 would be nice. :)
 

PC_User

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
5,022
If they want to sell these fast they should price them at $200 or hell...$150 would be nice. :)

$150 for 2TB??? I doubt WD would price them that low. Seagate's 1.5TB are currently around $130 so WD's will be somewhere around $135-145. I believe the 2TB drives will be within $200-220.
 

XS Janus

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
416
MY bet is $100=1TB, $200=1.5TB, $300=2TB
At least that's what they might try and pull off on us! :D
 

theDreamer

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
2,513
With the 1.5TB from Seagate already down to 130, Western Digital will have to match. I could see them starting at 140 and putting the 2TB just over 200.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
3,342
1TB drives have been $90-95 for a while now, especially older models.

I'm hoping to pick up two of these when they drop to the $180 range.
 

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,811
Once 2TB drives drop below $200, I'm in for at least 8. Hopefully pretty soon as I have under 2TB free again.
 

spressa112

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
422
man, i hit this thread thinking that i was the shit with my space

(i have 12tb's) - but man....yall seem like have 20tb's +
 

novadude

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
1,108
Too bad you didn't bother to read the thread and notice that it's already been posted.

Oh noes, I skimmed a page of what looks like more idle chatter about prices at which people will buy the drives at and bitching that for the last seven weeks rumor had it that it was coming out that week :rolleyes:
Now everyone that just hits the last page link will see it.
 

bruceyg

n00b
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
58
The transfer rate of 80Mb/s is kinda slow to me, since the transfer rate of Seagate 7200.12 drive is over 100mb/s. This drive might be ok if used for a HTPC, definitely not good for a gaming rig.
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
It is a ~5400 rpm....."green" drive so to expect some high performance from it would be quite unreasonable.
 

Rune75

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
1,343
It is not supposed to have high transfers... The green drives were made for cool, quiet operation.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
3,342
+1. They are actually still quite fast and on par with some of the faster drives.

I have a couple of the 1TB EADS models, and they maxed out my gigabit connection, more than the EACS versions ever did.

i wouldn't install my OS on one, but for storage it's still overkill.
 

XS Janus

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
416
the drive runs 90MB/ abg reads and 80MB/s avg writes and is 12ms... anyone who calls that slow is spoiled by quad SSD numbers we keep seeing these days.

I love it how they made the 2TB inscription on the drive visible from a mile away! :D
Usually you have to look capacity number with a magnifying glass! :D
 

Elledan

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2010
Joined
Oct 18, 2001
Messages
15,885
the drive runs 90MB/ abg reads and 80MB/s avg writes and is 12ms... anyone who calls that slow is spoiled by quad SSD numbers we keep seeing these days.

I love it how they made the 2TB inscription on the drive visible from a mile away! :D
Usually you have to look capacity number with a magnifying glass! :D

Some HDDs don't even list capacity directly, but you have to calculate it from the sector, head and other data. Especially (older) OEM drives seem to have this issue. Quite annoying.

I wish 5,400 RPM drives were more common. They're great for storage drives :)
 

Drudenhaus

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
3,116
My main problem seems to be that I can't hotswap WD drives without them causing problems with each other - upon hotswap insertion of a WD greendrive it causes any other WD drives in the same backplane to "reset", which would cause a drive removal/insertion on a raid card and kill the raid.

I don't have this issue with my fileserver:

Supermicro X7DBE
3ware 9650SE-8LPML
2x Supermicro M35T
8x WD10EACS (RAID 5)
 

alamone

Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
588
I've only had the problem with the WD backplane power reset on particular backplanes - unfortunately, that includes the Norco 4020 w/ the revised backplane (SATA only). I've also experienced it with the Kingwin 4-in-3 multibays. I believe the Athena power backplanes work if you leave the power buttons on, and my Fusion 500P seemed to work without problems. So, I think it might be more of a backplane compatibility problem w/ WD drives. It might also be the particular model of drives I used, but it happened on the WD10EACS (3 and 4 platter versions) and the Caviar black 1TB. It only happens upon hotswap insertion of a new drive, so people might be running RAID arrays just fine if they populated them coldswap, but they might run into problems if they hotswap a replacement. I'd advise doing some tests if you have WD drives and one of the backplanes I mentioned.
 

Drudenhaus

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
3,116
I've only had the problem with the WD backplane power reset on particular backplanes - unfortunately, that includes the Norco 4020 w/ the revised backplane (SATA only). I've also experienced it with the Kingwin 4-in-3 multibays. I believe the Athena power backplanes work if you leave the power buttons on, and my Fusion 500P seemed to work without problems. So, I think it might be more of a backplane compatibility problem w/ WD drives. It might also be the particular model of drives I used, but it happened on the WD10EACS (3 and 4 platter versions) and the Caviar black 1TB. It only happens upon hotswap insertion of a new drive, so people might be running RAID arrays just fine if they populated them coldswap, but they might run into problems if they hotswap a replacement. I'd advise doing some tests if you have WD drives and one of the backplanes I mentioned.

Good to know. I was considering getting a Norco 4020.
 

theDreamer

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
2,513
I will have to look into this, just finished my media storage build with the Norco 4020 and was hoping to use the 2TB drives, if they ever arrive. ;) Though I do not plan on taking drives out that often.
 

Rune75

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
1,343
Why do I think that if I just had 3 of these 2TB HDDs I would be set for life? I've love to fill these up with Blu-Ray movies and HD-Porn. :)
I already have a bit over 7TB on my storage puter... Trust me, set for life you are not. :(
 

Farva

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
36,776
I already have a bit over 7TB on my storage puter... Trust me, set for life you are not. :(

I went from 4TB to 8.2TB thinking I'd be good for a long time. Well, 4 months later, I ran out of space. I'm now at 12.2TB and already planning my next storage server because I know I'll probably fill this up in another 4-5 months.
 
Top