Warzone on Xbox series X (1440p, 120mhz) crazy lag

sh0rty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,130
I am having major lag playing warzone on xbox series x at 1440p, 120mhz. I get it occasionally on Cold War, but almost every game on warzone. For the record my internet is solid and even try the network test via xbox settings and getting 200-300 MBs/20MBs with 50 ping and no latency. Hard wired PC hits over 400MBs. To me the game is basically unplayable.
I read on Reddit that some are having luck going back to 60hz, but curious if anyone else is having issues.

UPDATE: 2/9 changed console to 60hz and still had no change in lag...it is just unplayable for me. Cold war is playing fine at 120hz though....crazy

UPDATE 2: nevermind....lag on cold war on 120hz just now....disconnects as well.

UPDATE 3: ran a hardline from router to xbox and still lagging. It has to be the game and/or settings since Warzone does not support the higher resolutions.
 
Last edited:

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
18,347
Total bandwidth doesn't have much to do with how good your connection is for gaming; you can be pulling 1Gb/s and still have latency issues with gaming depending on a number of factors; NAT traversal (NAT type shown in your console's connection test), QoS/packet queueing issues, or just a crappy host that you're connecting to. A 50ms ping is not good too if that's only the first hop from your console to your router, or even to your ISP's gateway.

I doubt what graphics mode you're playing in is a factor either and it's purely a networking issue with your router. First thing you should do is to make sure you at least have UPnP enabled on your router, or preferably have the appropriate port forwarding rules set up for XBL on your router. Once you do that, test again and see if that helps. Also try another game online to see if you're having latency issues there to rule out that specific game and whatever graphical configuration you're playing on (which again, I don't think should factor much into it).
 

sh0rty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,130
Total bandwidth doesn't have much to do with how good your connection is for gaming; you can be pulling 1Gb/s and still have latency issues with gaming depending on a number of factors; NAT traversal (NAT type shown in your console's connection test), QoS/packet queueing issues, or just a crappy host that you're connecting to. A 50ms ping is not good too if that's only the first hop from your console to your router, or even to your ISP's gateway.

I doubt what graphics mode you're playing in is a factor either and it's purely a networking issue with your router. First thing you should do is to make sure you at least have UPnP enabled on your router, or preferably have the appropriate port forwarding rules set up for XBL on your router. Once you do that, test again and see if that helps. Also try another game online to see if you're having latency issues there to rule out that specific game and whatever graphical configuration you're playing on (which again, I don't think should factor much into it).
Thanks for reply. I forwarded a few more suggested ports, but still find it strange that this issue has only recently appear and nothing on my end has changed. I dont really have any other games that function like COD, but will see what I can do to validate. Again, thanks for reply.
 

sharknice

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
2,321
What do you mean by lag? Like you're playing multiplayer and people are teleporting around? Or you're paying single player and it's just choppy?

There are free to play games like Fortnite you could download and compare it with.
 

sh0rty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,130
What do you mean by lag? Like you're playing multiplayer and people are teleporting around? Or you're paying single player and it's just choppy?

There are free to play games like Fortnite you could download and compare it with.
Both in ColdWar multiplayer and Warzone via Modern Warfare & ColdWar while running my character will suddenly move4 times as fast as though it was catching up or stops moving and then a burst move passing where I intended to go/look. also in coldwar I get lost connection midgame every few games or so...sometimes it is every game back to back and I just reboot xbox to see if that changes it.
 

sharknice

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
2,321
Both in ColdWar multiplayer and Warzone via Modern Warfare & ColdWar while running my character will suddenly move4 times as fast as though it was catching up or stops moving and then a burst move passing where I intended to go/look. also in coldwar I get lost connection midgame every few games or so...sometimes it is every game back to back and I just reboot xbox to see if that changes it.

I haven't played those games with lag so I'm not sure if it's a result of your network connection or the console hardware crapping out. If you play through the single player and don't get anything weird like that it's most likely your internet. You could also try Fortnite or some other multiplayer game and see if you get any weird behavior like that.

You could try doing this speed test which will give you more information http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest If your internet is inconsistent it might not show up as bad there. You could try running the test as soon as something weird happens in game and maybe catch it.
If it's your internet you could try replacing your modem and router, but it's also possible it's beyond your control and your ISP just sucks.
 

sh0rty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,130
I haven't played those games with lag so I'm not sure if it's a result of your network connection or the console hardware crapping out. If you play through the single player and don't get anything weird like that it's most likely your internet. You could also try Fortnite or some other multiplayer game and see if you get any weird behavior like that.

You could try doing this speed test which will give you more information http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest If your internet is inconsistent it might not show up as bad there. You could try running the test as soon as something weird happens in game and maybe catch it.
If it's your internet you could try replacing your modem and router, but it's also possible it's beyond your control and your ISP just sucks
I did open a few other ports specific to XBL and although Coldwar has been playing well, Warzone is the same. I might try it on my PC as I have the game installed there as well just to see what that does. I have had a few network drops in the last week or so, but overall the network is solid and all test results show at or higher than what I am paying for.
BTW:
Spectrum cable; my personal CM1200 (V1.02.01), my personal R9000 (V1.0.5.28) with wifi disabled and DECO M9 plus mesh.
R9000 hard wired main PC, plex server (connected aggregate), tmobile signal booster
DECO M9 plus supports all wireless to include work laptop, personal laptop and xbox series x that all sit side by side. I normally play COD while running torrents (maxed) and streaming spectrum tv on personal laptop. This has never been an issue before with older xbox one x (proj scorpio). Now that i have the new xbox using the xbox series x version of Coldwar...I am getting this lag....weird.

Also:
Xbox series x; settings 1440p @120mz connected to Samsung CHG70 via HDMI; settings 120hz and freesync off

Again was working great for months with these settings and then all of the sudden it has been really bad.

I could try replacing the router...just not sure I want to do that yet.
 

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
4,561
Definitely sounds like internet problems. When it comes to gaming, download and upload speed is far, far less important (in most cases) then connection *quality* (ping, packet loss, jitter.) There used to be a fantastic site called pingtest that would test these things, but it went down a couple years ago and AFAIK nothing has come along to replace it, but that sort of test would be ideal in your situation.
 

sh0rty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,130
Definitely sounds like internet problems. When it comes to gaming, download and upload speed is far, far less important (in most cases) then connection *quality* (ping, packet loss, jitter.) There used to be a fantastic site called pingtest that would test these things, but it went down a couple years ago and AFAIK nothing has come along to replace it, but that sort of test would be ideal in your situation.
I have been running test and looking at hardware changes, but this is still an issue for me. I appreciate the reply and feedback.
 

sharknice

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
2,321
Definitely sounds like internet problems. When it comes to gaming, download and upload speed is far, far less important (in most cases) then connection *quality* (ping, packet loss, jitter.) There used to be a fantastic site called pingtest that would test these things, but it went down a couple years ago and AFAIK nothing has come along to replace it, but that sort of test would be ideal in your situation.

dslreports, the one I linked tests all that.
 

gamerk2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
1,836
I think I know the problem, because my friend had the same thing happen to him. The fix was to disable the alternate MAC address then hard reset the console. No idea *why* that affected anything, but we confirmed it worked and he hasn't had a problem for about a month.

I think the setting is under System->Settings->Network->Advanced.

EDIT

I should note that while he and I were debugging this we did a bunch of ping tests (through the built-in browser at ping-test.net) and we observed ping spikes up to the mid 500's. It was BAD. After the "fix" he was at a constant 20. This sounds like the same problem to me.
 

sh0rty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,130
I think I know the problem, because my friend had the same thing happen to him. The fix was to disable the alternate MAC address then hard reset the console. No idea *why* that affected anything, but we confirmed it worked and he hasn't had a problem for about a month.

I think the setting is under System->Settings->Network->Advanced.

EDIT

I should note that while he and I were debugging this we did a bunch of ping tests (through the built-in browser at ping-test.net) and we observed ping spikes up to the mid 500's. It was BAD. After the "fix" he was at a constant 20. This sounds like the same problem to me.
I just checked and my settings are clear or reset, so I selected clear. I will try to get into a game later and see if this helps. Thanks for the reply.
 

gamerk2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
1,836
I just checked and my settings are clear or reset, so I selected clear. I will try to get into a game later and see if this helps. Thanks for the reply.
I think Clear is in fact the one you wanted. Hopefully it fixes the problem.
 
Top