Want to go old school and remove Asus AI suite.

Discussion in 'Intel MoBos' started by djgizmo, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Ok, after a scare the yesterday day (due to the AI suite really messing up my cpu voltage), I'd like to remove it completely and just OC from the bios.

    Is there any instructions on how to remove the AI suite and just set things from the bios instead?
     
  2. Kranium

    Kranium Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    430
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Should be able to remove it in control panel add/remove programs and then set everything up in BIOS. No special steps really required.... unless you're nervous about registry entries left behind, then you could use an uninstaller like Revo or something.
     
  3. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,254
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    I uninstalled mine a while back through the normal Programs - Uninstall method and it seemed to uninstall completely with no issues.
     
  4. Ticker305

    Ticker305 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,078
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    What's wrong with it? Must have been too engrossed in the whole ocean marketing fiasco today and missed the thread
     
  5. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Hey Ticker, in short, I set an OC profile, and somehow it jumped the the CPU voltage to 1.44. (I never choose to move it to that. I'm 110% positive) This caused my old OCZ psu to go hary cary and basically scare the shit out of me. (smoked).

    Not risking a mistake like that again.
     
  6. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,115
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    People really use that software? Real men oc in the bios!
     
  7. jdk

    jdk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    406
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
  8. XBarbarian

    XBarbarian [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,354
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    yep..simply uninstall from add /remove. waa laa~ gone.
     
  9. xxEIEIOxx

    xxEIEIOxx 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,281
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Are you sure that worked? I had to remove it, delete files, and it still left 2 running services behind. It actually took me quite a bit of work to remove it completely.
     
  10. HenryBravo

    HenryBravo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    You had me curious so I did some checking. Using the Antec power supply calculator I compared the wattage drained by a 2600k at different voltage levels.

    Assuming a 4.2 GHz clock speed (this is the speed listed in your sig) and a 90% TDP

    1.25 volts = 117 watts
    1.3 volts = 127 watts
    1.35 volts = 137 watts
    1.4 volts = 147 watts
    1.44 volts = 156 watts

    Assuming your CPU was supposed to be at 1.3 - 1.35 volts, your wattage only increased by 19 to 29 watts when it accidentally jumped to 1.44 volts. I bet your power supply was on the fringe of failing anyway. Just a thought.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  11. Kranium

    Kranium Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    430
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    That's why I said "should". :cool:

    Some versions seem more problematic that others. I've had 4 that I know of and 2 were hard to remove but the most recent version was easy.
     
  12. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    You're probably right. It's been replaced now with a TX650 V2 psu. Great power... noisy fan even with low power draw.
     
  13. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,492
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    lol