Want to go old school and remove Asus AI suite.

djgizmo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
1,429
Ok, after a scare the yesterday day (due to the AI suite really messing up my cpu voltage), I'd like to remove it completely and just OC from the bios.

Is there any instructions on how to remove the AI suite and just set things from the bios instead?
 

Kranium

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
432
Should be able to remove it in control panel add/remove programs and then set everything up in BIOS. No special steps really required.... unless you're nervous about registry entries left behind, then you could use an uninstaller like Revo or something.
 

Forceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
9,243
I uninstalled mine a while back through the normal Programs - Uninstall method and it seemed to uninstall completely with no issues.
 

Ticker305

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
1,077
What's wrong with it? Must have been too engrossed in the whole ocean marketing fiasco today and missed the thread
 

djgizmo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
1,429
Hey Ticker, in short, I set an OC profile, and somehow it jumped the the CPU voltage to 1.44. (I never choose to move it to that. I'm 110% positive) This caused my old OCZ psu to go hary cary and basically scare the shit out of me. (smoked).

Not risking a mistake like that again.
 

xxEIEIOxx

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
2,276
Should be able to remove it in control panel add/remove programs and then set everything up in BIOS. No special steps really required.... unless you're nervous about registry entries left behind, then you could use an uninstaller like Revo or something.

Are you sure that worked? I had to remove it, delete files, and it still left 2 running services behind. It actually took me quite a bit of work to remove it completely.
 

HenryBravo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
357
Hey Ticker, in short, I set an OC profile, and somehow it jumped the the CPU voltage to 1.44. (I never choose to move it to that. I'm 110% positive) This caused my old OCZ psu to go hary cary and basically scare the shit out of me. (smoked).

Not risking a mistake like that again.
You had me curious so I did some checking. Using the Antec power supply calculator I compared the wattage drained by a 2600k at different voltage levels.

Assuming a 4.2 GHz clock speed (this is the speed listed in your sig) and a 90% TDP

1.25 volts = 117 watts
1.3 volts = 127 watts
1.35 volts = 137 watts
1.4 volts = 147 watts
1.44 volts = 156 watts

Assuming your CPU was supposed to be at 1.3 - 1.35 volts, your wattage only increased by 19 to 29 watts when it accidentally jumped to 1.44 volts. I bet your power supply was on the fringe of failing anyway. Just a thought.
 
Last edited:

Kranium

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
432
Are you sure that worked? I had to remove it, delete files, and it still left 2 running services behind. It actually took me quite a bit of work to remove it completely.

That's why I said "should". :cool:

Some versions seem more problematic that others. I've had 4 that I know of and 2 were hard to remove but the most recent version was easy.
 

djgizmo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
1,429
You had me curious so I did some checking. Using the Antec power supply calculator I compared the wattage drained by a 2600k at different voltage levels.

Assuming a 4.2 GHz clock speed (this is the speed listed in your sig) and a 90% TDP

1.25 volts = 117 watts
1.3 volts = 127 watts
1.35 volts = 137 watts
1.4 volts = 147 watts
1.44 volts = 156 watts

Assuming your CPU was supposed to be at 1.3 - 1.35 volts, your wattage only increased by 19 to 29 watts when it accidentally jumped to 1.44 volts. I bet your power supply was on the fringe of failing anyway. Just a thought.

You're probably right. It's been replaced now with a TX650 V2 psu. Great power... noisy fan even with low power draw.
 
Top