vista media center 360 beta test

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by JonnyK, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. JonnyK

    JonnyK 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,216
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
  2. zero002021

    zero002021 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,317
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    I signed up, let's see what happens.
     
  3. theNoid

    theNoid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,438
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Sweet! Thanks for the link, I signed up :D
     
  4. Klintor

    Klintor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Welcome to two weeks ago.


    But, yeah...

    I still signed up. :D
     
  5. ThirtySixBelow

    ThirtySixBelow Gawd

    Messages:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    0M6!! oLD n3WZZZ!!!!!
     
  6. killedaway

    killedaway Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    weak. everyone else apparently has known about it. i go click it right now, and i'm assed-out...

    TEEEEERIFFIC.
     
  7. Arkanian

    Arkanian [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,667
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    From Website:
     
  8. SC385

    SC385 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    so if i were to try vista beta 2 with the 360 it wouldnt work right now as a media center extender?
     
  9. hungryduck

    hungryduck [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,531
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    try it and find out
     
  10. R1ckCa1n

    R1ckCa1n [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,355
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Yes it will work as a media extender. M$ seemed to pick the applicants that had a 360 because this is the "HUB" for their digital living room. Works great so far.
     
  11. Staples

    Staples [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,828
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    I signed up for it a week ago. I want to know when the acceptance mails are sent out.

    I am really disappointed on how terribly the 360 works off Media Center. Hopefully it will work better with Vista.
     
  12. Blauman

    Blauman [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,550
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    It is now full and closed :(
     
  13. MasterShredder

    MasterShredder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,998
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Are you serious? What don't you like about the 360 + media center? I think it works fantastic and haven't had any issues since I started using it...
     
  14. Arkanian

    Arkanian [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,667
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    ^prob a training issue
     
  15. Staples

    Staples [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,828
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Try rewinding a video. This does not hold a candle to TIVO.

    Since the dashboard update, you are now able to rewind and ff game trailers and it works just as poorly.I now conclude what I suspected earlier, WMV is just very limited. Apparently it is not easy to FF or rewind. I figure it needs calculate the data from the previous ten frames to get the picture for the tenth frame making rewind very very CPU intensive. Whatever TIVO does, it does it great for searching a video.

    I don't think this will change with Vista. MS just needs a faster video codec.
     
  16. Tetrahedron

    Tetrahedron [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,579
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    I was using the Vista beta 2 Media Center with the 360, though I switched back to Windows MCE 2005 with rollup 2 since transcode360 (to stream divx/xvid videos) doesnt work with the Vista beta 2 Media Center.
     
  17. Kersk

    Kersk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Bah, I was hoping the big feature that they were holding out on to get everyone to upgrade to vista was divx/xvid support.

    "Upgrade to vista! All of your pirated tv shows will work now!"

    Oh well, thank god for transcode 360 :_x
     
  18. squeezee

    squeezee Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    504
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    WMV is about the same in terms of performance as most MPEG4 variants, such as Divx/Xvid/H.264 which is to say it requires more processor power than MPEG2 which is used in your TIVO. The Xbox360s cpu should be more than adequate to playback/fastforward/rewind WMV video even WMVHD content, i'd suspect its the dashboard software that is poorly coded/optimised.
     
  19. MasterShredder

    MasterShredder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,998
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    I never rewind or FF.. I just skip ahead and back. It's faster IMO.
     
  20. Staples

    Staples [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,828
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    The only problem is that skipping is in 30 second intravels. I wish you could set it to skip by 5 minutes or so. Maybe they will add this in the future.
     
  21. Tetrahedron

    Tetrahedron [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,579
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004

    yes thank god for transcode360 for MCE'05 but curse god for not allowing transcode360 to work with the vista MCE :(