Vista 64 and torrents

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mproth, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. mproth

    mproth n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    So after finally making the switch to Vista 64 Ultimate i have run into so weird issues with downloading torrents. with utorrent, or any other torrent app for that matter, when downloading, i can not surf the net. i could have nothing going up or down and i can not view the web. after closing the app, it takes about 30min(or a reboot) for me to be able to surf the net again.

    any suggestions?
     
  2. MrGuvernment

    MrGuvernment [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,159
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    update NIC drivers?

    are you using a router?

    your ISP could be filtering P2P traffic thus killing your connection, i know Rogers cable does this in toronto canada.

    i use x64 and utorrent just fine.
     
  3. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,459
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    It's going to end up being something tied to UPnP and the torrent client trying to make the router adjust itself for BitTorrent usage, I promise. I've noted this on over 150 different client machines of late and I still can't figure it out. The one thing I know for sure is that whenever the client attempts to use some software - whatever it is - that has UPnP control capability for making router adjustments (the router supports UPnP, of course) the client's entire damned Internet connection just up and dies until the router is physically reset; rebooting the computer doesn't help because the issue lies with the router itself.

    I don't know precisely why this occurs, but what I've come to realize is that by disabling the UPnP capabilities in the router the issue mysteriously vanishes. That's the only change I make: I go into the router's admin stuff and disable UPnP capability - poof, problem solved.

    Another issue that crops up sometimes is the same issue with the connection dying when trying to stream certain content because of the non-standard protocol handlers, like mms:// links or something similar. Some routers just choke and die with such content, not all, but some and a complete router reset is the only thing I've been able to say consistently "fixes" the problem(s).

    Good luck...
     
  4. ScretHate

    ScretHate [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,889
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Yes, disable UPnP and manually forward a port.
     
  5. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,831
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I have Vista 64 and use utorrent with 100% success.
     
  6. mproth

    mproth n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    disabling UPnP does not help, and everything was working fine before the switch. all drivers are updated. i know its not the router because my other xp boxes work fine. weird.
     
  7. ScretHate

    ScretHate [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,889
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Go back to the OS that works?
     
  8. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,459
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Ok, next trick is disable every single thing on the Vista networking stack except what you actually require which for 99.999% of people means keeping IPv4 and File and Printer Sharing, everything else goes - uninstall it or disable it.

    There's too much shit on the Vista networking stack and it's been an issue since before Vista even came out, not even SP1 has resolved all the issues created by so much junk on it.
     
  9. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000


    Shhhh.....not that crap again.
     
  10. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    hahaha

    I would try checking to see how your torrent program is setup, I would also check the event viewer to see if it is having issues with tcpip.

    Something along the lines of:

    TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts.
     
  11. rapperwith1p

    rapperwith1p Gawd

    Messages:
    670
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Your problem is not the result of using Vista64 but utorrent. I had the same problem in Vista32 and switched to Vuze (Azureus) and the problem went away. However, I couldn't stand Vuze after a whiile and missed utorrent so went back and attempted to find a fix. I did many things from disabling upnp to increasing max tcp connections with a modified tcpip.sys and to disabling the Vista's auto-rwin adjustment feature. In the end I'm not sure which one fixed it but I no longer have that problem. So you can either switch to Vuze or try what I did above.
     
  12. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,989
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Uhhh, he is. He mentioned using Vista x64. That works. Unfortunately, you didn't get the memo that it has been declared as working and perfectly fine. Sorry.

    As for the problem, I've had that on several OSes with uTorrent. Ditch that crap and use something else. Honestly, I've had the best results for the plain old BitTorrent client.
     
  13. mproth

    mproth n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    i would go back, but really this is the only problem i have had so far with Vista...... for now. lol


    but i think im going to try what rapperwith1p said and see if that works. oh another of frustrations.
     
  14. Proteos

    Proteos Gawd

    Messages:
    653
    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Why does everyone insist on "going back." I am sure you can get it to work with a little bit of time. There really is no point in reformatting your drive and putting a different OS back on if you are having little problems. It would be a different story if you were getting BSOD's a lot.
     
  15. OldMX

    OldMX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,532
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Set your upload speed correctly in utorrent or whatever torrent program you use, then if problem persist, lower the number of max connections, maybe your router is crapping out :(
     
  16. griffinhart

    griffinhart [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    What are you using for a router?
    Some cheaper consumer routers can't handle more than a handful of concurrent connections from the internet and go flaky once that number has been hit. Bit Torrent clients often wreak havoc on routers. I know they did on my old Linksys WRT54G.

    You can test it by limiting max connections allowed in your client. The WRT54G, for example, can only handle a maximum of 8 connections.

    use this chart:
    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/component/option,com_chart/Itemid,189/chart,124/

    Find out what your router can handle and limit the client to something less than that number and see how things behave.
     
  17. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    uTorrent also sucked for me on Vista.....I currently use BitComet and love it.


    uTorrent....well, it sucks.
     
  18. Cyrilix

    Cyrilix 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    I'd check the connections too. WRT54GL with DD-WRT can have 4096 connections. Back when it was set to 512 connections and an hour wait-time before releasing them, I had this problem too.
     
  19. MrGuvernment

    MrGuvernment [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,159
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    XP didn't have uPnPP with routers like Vista does, if i recall correctly...

    i use uTorrent 1.6, try an older version.
     
  20. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,459
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    XP most certainly does have UPnP capability, it's one of the default services in the OS as well.

    Doesn't matter which OS I use with uTorrent (in terms of Windows), once it's configured properly - uTorrent, nothing else - I've never had issues with it on any OS platform.
     
  21. Oneos

    Oneos Gawd

    Messages:
    596
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    I can tell you it is 100% caused by hitting the max allowed tcp connections of the OS.

    To fix it, you can replace the tcpip.sys file like another poster did, however I do believe this requires you to hit F8 to ignore the improper file at every boot. You're better off lowering the max connections in the uTorrent options to keep it from going over.
     
  22. pxc

    pxc [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    33,064
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    utorrent works fine for me under Vista x64. I use it to get all large files (even multiple files at once) since I have a relatively slow broadband connection (1.5M/384kbps) and I can pause/resume at will. I haven't hit any OS limits.
     
  23. Ragenrok

    Ragenrok 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,993
    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    same, I use vista x64 and Utorrent and I have no problems. I also have a WRT54GL W/ Tomato
     
  24. Gorankar

    Gorankar [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,156
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    I have had no issues with Utorrent 7.1 on Vista 64. As long as I set my max upload limit to half my available upload speed or less. Otherwise, I can't surf the web or do much of anything else web based. This problem occurred in Xp32 and Xp64 as well however. So, I am fairly sure my router, modem, isp, or some combo of them is to blame.
     
  25. Mister Natural

    Mister Natural 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,448
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    I've read a few posts from people who use Eset Smart Security and have experienced the issue described by the OP. If he uses ESS it could be an issue. As much as I hate to suggest uninstalling anti malware, try removing it (if you use it) and use the standalone AV product temporarily.