Vista 32bit VS 64bit (im a noob)

McRackin

Limp Gawd
Whats the diff between 32b and 64b vista?

ps. im a noob with XP for the past 7 yrs

The biggest real world difference is the amount of addressable memory. With a 32-bit operating system, normally the OS can only address 2^32 bytes or 4 GB of RAM. With a 64-bit OS, that number is 2^64 theoretically though in real life I don't believe any current mass market CPU's actually can address that much RAM, and even as cheap as DDR2 RAM these days, that much memory would cost millions.

And with more memory, software can do more things though from a desktop perspective with current technology, there's not a lot that would take advantage of that kind of memory.

So what you're saying is someone with a simple quadcore processor and 4gig ram it makes maybe 5% performance difference?

So what you're saying is someone with a simple quadcore processor and 4gig ram it makes maybe 5% performance difference?

Probably something like that. Vista x64 does run faster than 32-bit though, so you may as well go with it if you have a 64-bit-capable CPU unless you need to run a particular application that isn't compatible.

Probably something like that. Vista x64 does run faster than 32-bit though, so you may as well go with it if you have a 64-bit-capable CPU unless you need to run a particular application that isn't compatible.

And keep in mind that 64-bit Vista can run 32-bit applications just fine with no performance loss. The compatibility issues are programs that have to deal directly with the OS (disk defragmenters, virus scanners, etc). Every game I've tried runs fine on 64-bit Vista.

What you lose with 64-bit Vista is 16-bit application support, predominantly old DOS programs. You can still emulate them with a program like DOSBox.

No, he's just saying that while adding memory will help your computer to a certain point, eventually you will add more memory than you need and you will no longer see any benefit from more memory.