Viewsonic VX2025wm arrived! First impressions and pics

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Coldtronius, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. sanitystream

    sanitystream Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    LOL, what is up with the stupid font in Oblivion? It's such a state of the art game in every other respect, but the first time I saw that text I had flashbacks to playing low-res dungeon games in my old Atari 800 days.
     
  2. scottyd

    scottyd [H]Lite

    Messages:
    113
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Yes, I believe it did.
     
  3. HoodooGuru

    HoodooGuru Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    190
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    I too tried this on mine to no avail. Seems dependent on the app- some games don't do it whereas Windows Media player does. The option in my ATI Omega driver is called "Scale Image to panel size" found in Display Properties...Advanced Settings... Displays tab.
     
  4. Nephandus

    Nephandus [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
  5. Dillusion

    Dillusion [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,465
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    im using an X1800XL and i have this lcd. it plays BF2 just fine with the shortcut res fix to force it...
     
  6. Ripped85

    Ripped85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    I'm leaning way towards this monitor now...only thing is the height adjustment...i like that flex stand..is there one that offers high adjustment too?
     
  7. tautitan

    tautitan n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    So you can play BF2 with the black bars round the edge when u change the res to something like 1024x768?
     
  8. Nephandus

    Nephandus [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006

    If you have an nvidia card, you can go to driver options and click Fixed Aspect Ratio, thsi will scale so that there are black bars on the sides
     
  9. Power and Glory

    Power and Glory n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    What kind of framerates kind I expect with this monitor playing at it's native resolution 1680x1050? How does Oblivion and Fear run at that resolution?

    In other words do I need the very top of the line parts to have my games run well at that resolution? I really like what I am hearing about this LCD, but not sure if it will be a waste of money for me if the framerates are going to be poor.

    I know you can change the resolution and have it scale properly with a Nvidia card, but I'm not going to plunk $400+ on something to run games at 1024x768.

    I am upgrading my computer in the early summer anyway, but I want to see how far I have to upgrade to make sure my games run well at 1680x1050 :D
     
  10. Jodiuh

    Jodiuh [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,275
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    While I do not have this monitor, I'm gaming at that res. With the rig in sig, I have to turn some stuffs down in both games. Mainly AA, but it's "barely" getting by with max details. I'm doing my best to single card it, but Oblivion and the upcoming 2407 are making that hard. :(
     
  11. buzzfunk

    buzzfunk n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    woa...so i finally after all these years got my lcd for gaming. Im so sick and tired of the boring crts and my sony is starting to just look old and once u play 360 games on a widescreen theres just not turning back to the regular square tube...

    Already have a big plasma hooked up to my 360 so that wasnt even an issue.

    Frys here in Burbank has it for $399 with a $100 rebate only valid til tonight. So if you around in the area, you got an hour left. Hurry.
     
  12. DigitalEdge

    DigitalEdge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    150
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Do you mean $399 after a $100 rebate?
     
  13. killedaway

    killedaway Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    while that price might be wrong, i bought mine from Amazon.com a week or two ago for $339.95 new with no rebates, so it's not outside the realm of possibilities.
     
  14. Dillusion

    Dillusion [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,465
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    I dont play at 1024, i always play at my monitors native res.
     
  15. jedicri

    jedicri n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    If you're going to upgrade your computer to play the latest games, you might as well get a widescreen 20" LCD and you won't be sorry that you got this particular model and make. I'm not. Most games nowadays have widescreen support and more developers will continue this trend; Oblivion is no exception; the Tomb Raider: Legend demo also has the option of playing in widescreen. If you have the latest video card to back your CPU and at least 1 gig of RAM, I'd personally say it's a worthy investment.
     
  16. sgrush

    sgrush n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    I bought this monitor last week at buy.com. I have not been able to get the DVI to work. I've tried both nvidia 6800 and nvidia quadro 4. Is anybody else having problems getting the DVI to work?
     
  17. FS Effects

    FS Effects [H]Lite

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    since this monitor is not hdcp compliant. when blu-ray and hd-dvd drive comes, do you guys thiink there will device or hardware that can bypass this hdcp so you can view hd movies on this viewsonic monitor without having to replace it with another hdcp monitor?
     
  18. Sent

    Sent Gawd

    Messages:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
  19. DigitalEdge

    DigitalEdge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    150
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    I would say prob not.
    Not planing on watching hd dvd on my computer, I have a HD TV for that ;)
     
  20. rj2

    rj2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    how far away are people sitting away from the monitor.i am looking at getting one.i sit approx 3 feet from the monitor
    i use a 17" lcd right now and my eyes are about even with the top of the screen.is it possible the 20.1 lcd would be too big for my particular desk-setup,which is a corner unit
     
  21. jcll2002

    jcll2002 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,656
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    wow, i ive next to burbank. Im too late :(
     
  22. wonkman

    wonkman Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    336
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Don't worry about HDCP. Even though BR and HD-DVD will be out later this year, major studios have said that they are not going to use HDCP until many, many people own HDCP capable monitors/TVs (couple of years at least).
     
  23. tautitan

    tautitan n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    I agree, don't let the lack of HDCP support put you off this is a damn fine monitor. I did hear of a device that bypassed the HDCP, that or decrypted it before it got to the monitor anyways, ill try to dig out the link from somewhere.
     
  24. FS Effects

    FS Effects [H]Lite

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    ??? are you saying the first generation blu-ray , hd-dvd drives are free of HDCP? and as it progresses they will imply HDCP on second gen drives?

    when did the Viewsonic VX2025wm first came out?
     
  25. wonkman

    wonkman Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    336
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    No. HDCP is in the BR and HD standards but the companies that produce the content can choose whether they use it or not on any given video release. Its a flag on the disk that determines whether HDCP is "on", not the player.

    If the flag is "on", then you will need all HDCP compliant equipment to play HD resolution.
     
  26. buzzfunk

    buzzfunk n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    I have to say im pretty impressed with this lcd. Widescreen gaming is worth giving up the still yet to be matched specs from crts...and i got this for $399 (rebate) at Frys. ;) Pretty sweet deal....
     
  27. DrDoug

    DrDoug Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    325
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    I have to say I am impressed with this monitor too! I was worried about picture quality for both gaming and video editing, and before this I felt that I would have to compromise one way or another if I went with an LCD.

    While using Premiere Pro 2, viewing of the editing process is flawless. I can't say anything more than that! DVD playback (and other media) looks great too. Gaming is beautiful, Quake 3 & 4, SSFE, SSSE, Until Uru, Max Payne I & II, Matrix and my other games (the ones I have modded for WS so far!) look perfect! The usual quirks in the limitations of modding some games for WS, but that can't be helped. The picture quality is stunning. Thanks for starting this thread as it played a big part in my decision to purchase this display. Nothing like getting the hands on opinion of people who like quality gear! :cool:

    I use the speakers in it only for my motherboard voice message system, so the tinny speakers do not matter to me. Height adjustment would be nice, but not absolutely necessary. I have tested the display and have no stuck or dead pixels either! We use this computer daily in the administration of and playing on our Until Uru game server, and my wife loves this over our Sony 21" CPD-G500.

    She is happy, I am happy and if I get my $100.00 rebate from ViewSonic, this will be the perfect deal (as far as I am concerned!). $378.00 is a more than fair price for this setup!

    Good job with the thread people! [​IMG]
     
  28. prolog788

    prolog788 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Just bought this monitor, and I can say that I'm impressed. Very good image quality... however I can't seem to make the fixed aspect ratio from the Nvidia driver to work.

    Nephandus, how were you able to adjust the settings? I did what you showed us here, but whenever I select Fixed aspect ratio, display adapter scaling or center timing, it just shows black and it shows the message Out of Range. I'm stuck at monitor scaling option.

    I'm using a BFG 7800GTX with 84.21 drivers
     
  29. blank

    blank 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,203
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    i just got this too. it's such a nice change from my old PF790
     
  30. Coldtronius

    Coldtronius Gawd

    Messages:
    631
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Im definently glad my review helped alot alot people choose a nice LCD for the price. :cool:
     
  31. Dillusion

    Dillusion [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,465
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
  32. AMiller

    AMiller n00b

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Just recieved my VX2025wm after buying it based mostly on this thread and the great reviews on newegg and im glad to say that they're all right. Loving this monitor, great picture quality and games like WoW look much better. Thanks for starting this thread!
     
  33. Dillusion

    Dillusion [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,465
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Are any of you using DVI? Apparently viewsonic has a bad batch out, all 5 recent newegg reviews have had problems- including mine from techonweb.com.
     
  34. buzzfunk

    buzzfunk n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    No problems using DVI here. I got mine at Frys and its tip top. ;)
     
  35. HoodooGuru

    HoodooGuru Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    190
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    DVI looks fantastic on mine.

    Still loving this monitor-- no regrets with not waiting for the Dell 2007WFP
     
  36. KompressorV12

    KompressorV12 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    why would you wait for the 2007WFP (not being sarcastic trying to debate now), It looks like it has the same contrast ratio with twice the response time for $100 more

    whats the diff between the 2007 and 2005
     
  37. jedicri

    jedicri n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    No problems with DVI connection.
     
  38. Coldtronius

    Coldtronius Gawd

    Messages:
    631
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    DVI here, no problems and I have one of the first batches.
     
  39. blank

    blank 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,203
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    i don't think there are bad dvi batches, it's it's just something additional that may need to be done.
     
  40. orpanyD

    orpanyD n00b

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    I just got this monitor too and I had the same problem, what I did is install the Viewsonic
    driver and rebooted.

    Overall, excellent monitor.