Video showing Doom looks better on RX480 than a 970/780 initially

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by N4CR, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,516
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Any other cards getting this than the 970/780?


    LOD? Id texture streaming implementation? Card limits? FPS Cheating? What? Bet it would help FPS if one was running through a level in a test. Would love to see [H] testing for this.
    Allegedly reported on RoTR also.

    More on reddig here Doom looks better on an AMD card at the same high settings • /r/Amd

    Shoot the message not the messenger this time folks. Just sharing.
     
  2. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,786
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    RAGE all over again with streaming texture issues.

    This game was made for consoles (both AMD graphics) so this doesn't surprise me at all.
     
  3. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,910
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    I'd wager a game glitch. If this were spanning multiple titles I'd be more concerned. I've yet to see image quality issues on my titan x or 1080.
     
    N4CR likes this.
  4. CSI_PC

    CSI_PC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,200
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    But interestingly it only is emerging now with the latest patch.
    So is this a new problem introduced with the latest patch, or somehow missed until now.
    I bet everyone has upgraded now so probably nigh on impossible to test.
    Cheers
     
  5. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,148
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    I get this with my 7950. I would think that in my case it is a limit of my graphics card. Mine looks way worse than the 970. But hey it is quite a bit older tech.
     
    N4CR likes this.
  6. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,392
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    To be honest I rely on the reviewers to catch any of this. I mean average user could easily overlook this when they dont have two cards to compare.
     
  7. Kor

    Kor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,176
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Probably a streaming bug, I wouldn't put much stock in it.
     
  8. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,501
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    It only news if it shows AMD in bad light! Nothing to see here, move along!:woot: In all honesty i bet the same thing happens to AMD in certain situations as well. (Wolf New Order:wtf:, has to be others lol)
     
    cageymaru likes this.