Video Games Are Better The Second Time You Play Them

HardOCP News

[H] News
For me, the majority of the games I play are NOT "better" the second time you play them. I'm a big fan of shooters but I like a good story as well and the second time you play a game, for the most part, the story has already been revealed to you. So, to me at least, that takes a bit away from the game the second time through. What are your thoughts?

I love to replay games. It’s something my colleagues occasionally give me crap for. They worry I’m sacrificing time I could otherwise spend on new games re-experiencing old ones. I do play games for a living, so I always try to maintain a healthy mix of new ones in my rotation. But I’m almost always replaying something. In fact, I generally enjoy replying the older games more than breaking in the new ones.

I guess it really depends. Sometimes I play old school RPGs from the PSX. I probably missed a lot of the plot due to me being a little kid and not understanding anything. As for replaying games that you've played as an adult, the novelty is gone after the first time.

Depends on the game. For the ones that rely on plot twists and developments, probably not.
For some that involve a lot of technique, it can be a lot more fun to experience the game without having to learn how everything works.
Personally, I like the concept of NG+.

I have to say I do understand where the author is coming from. Growing up I can't tell you the amount of time I spent beating megaman 2/3/4/5 over and over, or how many times I played the original final Fantasy just to try a different group (3 fighters and a white mage for an easy time cash wise).

Many new games dont give me that same sense of fun.

For me its most of the Zelda series due to catch more little things in the story or characters. In general RPG's with heavy story are like this.