Upgrading my HP Microserver to WSE 2016

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Quartz-1, Jun 4, 2017.

  1. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    I'm going to upgrade my HP Microserver Gen 8 to Windows Server Essentials 2016.

    Please give me your tips, tricks, and pratfalls. I'm particularly interested in preparation work I should do.
     
  2. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    By upgrade, I mean that I'll be wiping WSE 2012 and installing WSE 2016 - I'm aware that an in-place upgrade isn't possible.
     
  3. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    If you're not joining an existing domain, it's pretty easy.
    Just let the configuration wizard do it's thing.

    .
     
  4. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Well, I'm holding off for now. HP are launching their new Microservers this week.
     
  5. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,613
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    I built a new server with 2016 Essentials to replace my old HP Mediasmart.
    Easy peasy. I didn't do any prep work.
    I did join my machines to the 2016 domain, but I still just log in to my workstations with the local account.
     
  6. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    I'm no longer holding off. The new HP Microservers seem to lack ILO and aren't otherwise much of an improvement on the old one.
     
  7. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    The software has arrived, the SSD is here with adaptor cable. I'm just waiting on the quad core CPU. And then, well, I might be some time. :)

    It's a pity that I'm going to have to wipe and install; I would much rather an in-place upgrade, if only to preserve my Active Directory. Still, it's an opportunity to configure things better this time around.
     
  8. BulletDust

    BulletDust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,962
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    The correct procedure when replacing domain controllers is to use DCPROMO to promote the new DC and demote the old DC - Everything should replicate in the process.
     
  9. JBark

    JBark 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,163
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Which CPU did you go with? I just got my E3-1265L V2 last night, what a great upgrade over the G1610T. Finally got sick of it taking ages to do anything CPU intensive, and this is something like a 350% increase in multithreaded performance, for only a 25% increase in TDP. So far there's no change in temps or fan speeds that I've noticed.
     
  10. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    This assumes you have more than one server; I do not. Nor do I have a Server 2012 licence available with which to build one.

    Yup, that's the one.
     
  11. BulletDust

    BulletDust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,962
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Quartz-1 likes this.
  12. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,136
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    That's well spotted. So the task will be to move the OS partition to my SSD, then perform an in-place upgrade.
     
    BulletDust likes this.