Upgrading 3640 IOS via Xmodem Console Download Using ROMmon, anyone ever do this?

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
So apparently the 3600 series do not support the tftpdnld to upgrade your ISO when you upgrade your flash. You have to use the Xmodem transfer as described here: Xmodem Console Download Procedure Using ROMmon http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps259/products_tech_note09186a008015bfac.shtml

everything is going great but it is going to take another 3 hours :(

Now when i installed the new flash at bootup it said the "device does not contain a valid magic number" now that is just because the flash is not formatting correctly and downloading the new flash file automatically formats the flash setup? Can someone explain this to me?


rxXTj.jpg
 

Langly

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2002
Messages
4,493
make sure to change the raid on your serial connection so you have more bandwidth to push it across. I did a recovery on an 1841 with my rate set to the default cisco 9600bps. That took a while. Other than that, cisco has some neat guides on their website which are pretty straight forward
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
make sure to change the raid on your serial connection so you have more bandwidth to push it across. I did a recovery on an 1841 with my rate set to the default cisco 9600bps. That took a while. Other than that, cisco has some neat guides on their website which are pretty straight forward

It has you set it to 115200, which is the max.
 

Vito_Corleone

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
1,730
Oh, here's the best trick to learn. Put the smallest IOS you can find on there and boot into it, then TFTP the IOS you want to use.
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
Oh, here's the best trick to learn. Put the smallest IOS you can find on there and boot into it, then TFTP the IOS you want to use.

I am upgrading the flash so I had to do it this way. I took the 8MB stick our and replaced with a 16MB. The flash I had was already full.

Can you tell me what the "device does not contain a valid magic number" means? is that just when the flash is nor formatted?
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps274/products_tech_note09186a0080094aef.shtml

"The Flash is empty or the filesystem is corrupted. Copy a valid image on the Flash, and while copying, you will be prompted to erase the old Flash (if one exists). Then reload the router. See Software Installation and Upgrade Procedure for instructions on how to copy a valid image onto the Flash."

Thanks.


Now why on earth does the 3640 not support tftpdnld from ROMmon?
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
Ok after the transfer completed it started doing this stuff. I have never seen this before and it is taking forever? is this normal?

ULhD0.jpg
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
completely normal for this platform, those numbers should be changing at a normal interval.
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
non XM models should take roughly around the same time depending on the code.
 

cymon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
453
I am going to strongly advise that you tape in the console connector.

I've only had to do xmodem a couple times - turns out the damn router had some bad flash, so I ended up trying to reflash a couple times (at 8 hours per).
 

Vito_Corleone

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
1,730
I am upgrading the flash so I had to do it this way. I took the 8MB stick our and replaced with a 16MB. The flash I had was already full.

Right. I'm saying to xmodem a very small IOS on there (anything with TFTP... which is basically anything). Then boot that one and use TFTP to copy the one you want. The IOS you're copying is huge and therefore takes a long time.
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
Finally finished and everything is working great!. Thanks for the help everyone. great learning experience tonight.

R13640#show flash

System flash directory:
File Length Name/status
1 32498924 c3640-ik9o3s-mz.124-23.bin
[32498988 bytes used, 1055440 available, 33554428 total]
32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

R13640#show version
Cisco IOS Software, 3600 Software (C3640-IK9O3S-M), Version 12.4(23), RELEASE SO FTWARE (fc1)
Technical Support: http://www.cisco.com/techsupport
Copyright (c) 1986-2008 by Cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Sat 08-Nov-08 23:43 by prod_rel_team

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 11.1(19)AA, EARLY DEPLOYMENT RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc 1)

R13640 uptime is 6 minutes
System returned to ROM by power-on
System image file is "flash:c3640-ik9o3s-mz.124-23.bin"


This product contains cryptographic features and is subject to United
States and local country laws governing import, export, transfer and
use. Delivery of Cisco cryptographic products does not imply
third-party authority to import, export, distribute or use encryption.
Importers, exporters, distributors and users are responsible for
compliance with U.S. and local country laws. By using this product you
agree to comply with applicable laws and regulations. If you are unable
to comply with U.S. and local laws, return this product immediately.

A summary of U.S. laws governing Cisco cryptographic products may be found at:
http://www.cisco.com/wwl/export/crypto/tool/stqrg.html

If you require further assistance please contact us by sending email to
export@cisco.com.

Cisco 3640 (R4700) processor (revision 0x00) with 125952K/5120K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID 13830607
R4700 CPU at 100MHz, Implementation 33, Rev 1.0
1 Ethernet interface
1 FastEthernet interface
1 HSSI interface
DRAM configuration is 64 bits wide with parity disabled.
125K bytes of NVRAM.
32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

Configuration register is 0x2102

R13640#
 
Top