Upcoming Sapphire overclocked 7970 models

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by Lorien, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Lorien

    Lorien [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,167
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    I spy with my little eye...ze secrat plans of the death star being built by Sapphire.

    Toxic 3GB version:
    1.125Ghz Core/5.6Ghz memory

    Atomic WC(Water Cooled):
    1.335Ghz Core(add 2 more Mhz for the win :D)/ 5.735Ghz Memory

    Atomic RX:
    1.335Ghz Core/5.735Ghz Memory

    It also seems that the 7970 was originally planned to have 2304SPs (36CUs).
    [​IMG]

    Schematics for the cooler of the Atomic RX version.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. risqu3

    risqu3 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    1.3ghz wow.

    Maybe i should pick one of those up...lol
     
  3. Intel_Hydralisk

    Intel_Hydralisk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,743
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
  4. risqu3

    risqu3 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    flex 6gb version, sexy 6 display port connectors
     
  5. mesyn191

    mesyn191 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,983
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    When are they supposed to be coming out? The 9th or several months down the road?
     
  6. NotJay

    NotJay 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,599
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    wait 1335? O_O
     
  7. Cirdan

    Cirdan [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Atomic RX pl0x
     
  8. exlink

    exlink [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,182
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Is there even a game that uses 6GB VRam with 6 displays?
     
  9. NotJay

    NotJay 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,599
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    yea there's game called real life and you show off your e-peen
     
  10. siliconnerd

    siliconnerd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,768
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Even more interesting is they list the original as having 2304 shaders and a 1GHz stock clock. If there are extra SPs sitting on the die, I wonder if it is a sign TSMC is having yield issues. Also could be hinting at a monster card coming out soon.
     
  11. Stanfiem

    Stanfiem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    anyone find it odd that it is called Da original?
     
  12. addictedto60fps

    addictedto60fps [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,329
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Since it's water cooled, does that mean it will be bigger in size over the stock version? I wonder how much faster it'll be over the stock, too.
     
  13. maboblivion

    maboblivion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    German slide maybe .... Da ?
     
  14. Robin B

    Robin B Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    209
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    From Pcper.com.

    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/AMD-Radeon-HD-7970-3GB-Graphics-Card-Review-Tahiti-28nm
     
  15. stewartjm

    stewartjm Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    399
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    I hope S-Link DVI, assuming it means Single Link DVI, is in error.
     
  16. Brackle

    Brackle Old Timer

    Messages:
    7,154
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    holy shit 1335 mhz on the GPU?

    Thats the card im buying.

    At 1125hz on the GPU, the 7970 was close 6990 speeds.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  17. addictedto60fps

    addictedto60fps [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,329
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Just took a look at some of the benchmarks at 1125hz. I'm thinking at 1335 mhz, it'll definitely come close, if not beat a 6990 in some/many games. If this is priced right, color me interested.
     
  18. Alkihaul

    Alkihaul n00b

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    I'd be interesting if it was 1337 mhz..... :cool:
     
  19. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai Death Incarnate

    Messages:
    13,878
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    wow that thing nearly reaches the clock speed of an E350 CPU holy smokes.......
     
  20. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,034
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Holy crap, that Flex 6GB version with 6x mini-Displayport's has me interested!

    That means I could bump up my 3x 120Hz portrait setup to a 5x 120Hz portrait setup and not have to deal with adapters. X79+3960 and four Flex 6GB cards. :D

    Not having to worry about high-resolution VRAM limits, having a nice 1920 vertical resolution and a wide-peripheral thin bezel would make 5x1 portrait own. I hope it doesn't take Sapphire 6 months after the vanilla release to get the Flex 6G cards out. Didn't only the 5xxx series have a "eyefinity" type card and not the 6xxx series?
     
  21. That's_Corporate

    That's_Corporate [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    and that'll be "stock" clocks too for that card
    add on a bit more for user overclocking and... WOW!
     
  22. Filiprino

    Filiprino Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Holy crap. This is getting hotter every day. I shit on my pants.
     
  23. master noran

    master noran 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,825
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    You are the computer hardware equivalent of Manuel Uribe, stop eating dammit.


    Edit: and the closest thing to a 6000 series "eyefinity" card is the the asus direct cu II 6950/6970
     
  24. suiken_2mieu

    suiken_2mieu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    I think i see a replacement for my card.
     
  25. risqu3

    risqu3 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    wanna buy my 5870 e6 card? ill sell you it for $200 on jan 9th LOL
     
  26. 2wiced

    2wiced 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,363
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    On your pants? Not in your pants? Guess it's the cleaner way.
     
  27. Filiprino

    Filiprino Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Of course, I have enough time to undress and poop.
     
  28. JMccovery

    JMccovery 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,210
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    I wonder if it is possible, will AMD use a complete 36CU 'Tahiti' die for STREAM and FirePro products, or could they use complete dies for the 7990?

    I seriously hope Asus brings out an Ares version of the 7990. Was there an Ares II 6990?
     
  29. Yakk

    Yakk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,811
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    /DROOL

    :eek:

    I may delay my 7970 purchase for one of those models! Me likes the overclock & 6 screens!

    My guess for the extra cores maybe be timed for a refresh perhaps around kepler release sometime in Q3/Q4 2012.
     
  30. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,537
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Certainly on my radar for my next build.
     
  31. octoberasian

    octoberasian 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,082
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    "FLEX 6G... 6xMini-DPort... 6144 MB Memory" :eek:

    "Atomic RX... 1335 MHz GPU clock; 5735 MHz Memory"

    [​IMG]

    For my next build, I think I'll go with the Toxic 3G and stay there. :D I'm only looking to use 3 monitors. But, my goodness, 6 mini DisplayPorts and 6 GB of VRAM, holy crap! That's the most VRAM I've seen on a single slot/single GPU card.

    Also, I think when they had it at 2304 SPs/36 CUs, they decided to cut out the 4 mentioned in that PCPer article for the reasons of power consumption, size, and heat output. But, I would love to see a special edition 2304 SP card and see how that card performs with an extra 256 SPs/4 CUs.

    EDIT: Da Original? What kind of name is that? Lol.
     
  32. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,847
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    so the chips are obviously capable of 1335 MHz, i wonder if the reference design will be able to deliver the power required? and the cooler able to transfer enough heat? hopefully we can buy a reference card on day 1 and overclock to all these crazy AIB overclocked cards.
     
  33. Elmy

    Elmy Gawd

    Messages:
    923
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    I want 2 cards running at 1337 .... That would freakin awesome!!!!

    Some guy comes up to me at the LAN and says what speed are your cards running at and I reply " LEET " .... Might take them a few seconds to get it.... LMAO
     
  34. next-Jin

    next-Jin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,127
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    I'm wondering on availibility myself, if there is no timetable on the 8'th I'm not going to bother. I'd love to get two toxics but I'm sure the stock 7970's will clock up there aswell.
     
  35. Falling Anvil

    Falling Anvil [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,570
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Shoulda gone full bore for 1337 mhz :p
     
  36. Psychor

    Psychor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    388
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Hopefully you can remove the stock tubing from the Atomic WC block and just use your own barbs, tubing, pump, etc. That or I guess you could get the RX and use your own block.
     
  37. maboblivion

    maboblivion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
  38. rocketr2

    rocketr2 Gawd

    Messages:
    689
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
  39. maboblivion

    maboblivion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    3x6970 stock is 46463 .... seems right ....
     
  40. Mr Mean

    Mr Mean [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,357
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Wow 6GB videocard, ALREADY?!?!?. I am glad multi-monitor gaming is taking off. Lets hope Nvidia follows the 6/8GB video memory bandwagon.