UP3214Q - it has arrived!

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
655
Alright, Psychor, I have good news for you, it's the Display Port 1.2

http://commweb-ps3.us.dell.com/support-forums/peripherals/f/3529/t/19536443.aspx

After reading most of this thread, those problem are virtually EXACT as mine. And I DO NOT have a Dell UP3214Q yet. Just HP ZR30W x 2, 1 x 60" Sharp LED.

SO the problem is display port 1.2

It's not windows 7 or 8, (surprise), and I don't think it's nvidia neither, as 1 guy said his problem starts as soon as he switch to DP 1.2 to ge6t 60Hz, and he's using an ATI video card

Read this:



Now, assuming it's display port 1.2 using the process of elimination, can this be fixed in the future? As I don't see how. Once a monitor c/w DP 1.2, obviously you can't upgrade it. And no other ports will work. So does that mean once you bought it, you are stuck, or does it mean Nvidia can come up w/ a newer ver. of driver to accommodate this DP 1.2 problem?


hmmmm.....so this means the Asus and Sharp 32"s will have the same issues with DP?
Its odd it seems like these are isolated problems or just people with ATI cards?

I have seen some reviews and impressions and don't hear issues while others are terrible:mad:
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
7,170
It can't be ATI.

this is part 4 of people using Asus PQ321 in the nvdiia forum, page 4 of the thread:

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...ting-it-to-work-and-debunking-a-few-myths-/4/

Read #51:

I am having weird issues too... notably the display does not turn back on after going on standby... need to manually turn it full off and then on again... odd.

and that's the problem I was complaining at the very same nvidia forum: #679

And I am NOT using any 4K monitor. The only thing we have in common is the display port, that guy using ATI has the same problem as I have quoted. I suppose we can say there is some bugs in Display port 1.2, what is Nvidia going to do about it?

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...y-driver-feedback-thread-released-1-7-14-/46/
 

suiken_2mieu

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
2,910
It can't be ATI.

this is part 4 of people using Asus PQ321 in the nvdiia forum, page 4 of the thread:

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...ting-it-to-work-and-debunking-a-few-myths-/4/

Read #51:



and that's the problem I was complaining at the very same nvidia forum: #679

And I am NOT using any 4K monitor. The only thing we have in common is the display port, that guy using ATI has the same problem as I have quoted. I suppose we can say there is some bugs in Display port 1.2, what is Nvidia going to do about it?

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...y-driver-feedback-thread-released-1-7-14-/46/
Not to be that guy but, this has been a common problem for years now (I first noticed this when I bought a 5870 Eyefinity 6 edition with 6 miniDP [awesome card] and that's all you had to connect with). Whether you're using an Active Adapter or a native Display Port, coming back from sleep mode is a crap shoot. Users (like me) who use adapters even have to power cycle the adapter to get picture back (or back to normal depending on how the connection breaks). The easiest thing I have found to do is turn off the display when I'm not using it. With native dp monitors (and the way I have my adapters setup [powered by the monitors usb hub]) this disconnects the monitor from the pc. But so far that's the most stable thing I have found. I also don't have my computer go into sleep mode and don't have the computer turn off my monitors. I do it manually.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
7,170
Okay, here's an update. In that link I post above that my start up screen (the DOS text Asus welcome screen) is at the 3rd screen, guess what? As of the other day, when I remove the display port cable, and go back to use my dual link DVI cable to my video card, my start up screen is back at my 1st screen as it should be all these years.

So I'm more convinced than ever, that it's display port that fucks up. The question is, can it be fixed? Can Nvidia do anything about this? Because these 4K2K monitor must use Display port.

And all these talk of HDMI 2.0, I haven't seen 1 monitor that has a size like 32 to 35".
 

Sufu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
2,009
I would not be so quick to judge nvidia. I have the half-screen at login problem with ATi, which I did NOT have with nVidia. My issue is slightly different tho - MST gets disabled by the driver so only half of the screen turns on.

I would be more inclined to believe this is a firmware issue with the monitors than ATi/nVidia or display port.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
7,170
On that link from nvidia (the 4K2K thread), the person who starts the thread said something about the fact that it can start at half screen.

I highly recommend that you gather all your fact, and post at nvidia. Posting here won't get you anywhere, posting over there under the latest driver thread (my link above), the nvidia programmer are reading it and will be improving the driver based on what your bug report
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
I ordered this display from dell just to try to really set it through its paces as nobody else seems to have really done so with the limitations of windows that seem to not even allow the ability to do custom modelines.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
And it's here...

Ordered on Wednesday and did next day air since it said average shipping time as one business day but then it had an estimated ship date in march. From order to my door less than 48 hours... Nice.


I will play with it tonight
 

l88bastard

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
3,433
And it's here...

Ordered on Wednesday and did next day air since it said average shipping time as one business day but then it had an estimated ship date in march. From order to my door less than 48 hours... Nice.


I will play with it tonight

Awesome! It will be interesting to hear your feedback on it. Update us with high quality pics if you can!
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Youtube video will come shortly but this monitor is actually more flexible than I thought... Unfortunately no overclocking. Well not more than 1Hz. As soon as it gets just barely over 61 Hz it will only display 1/2 the screen and give me a 30/60Hz bitch in the other.


It will do < 60 Hz modes in MST mode. I tried what dp 1.1 bandwidth would be @ 6 BPC (52 Hz) and 48Hz for smoother video play back.


The monitor is perfectly capable of taking SST modes while it is set in MST mode (just good luck getting it to do this on windows).

Here is some output from my log showing the details of the various modes I tested:


Code:
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): Using MetaMode string: "DFP-4.9: 1920x2160 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1920x2160 },   DFP-4.8: 1920x2160 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1920x2160 }; DFP-4.9: 1920x2160 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1280x1440 },   DFP-4.8: 1920x2160 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1280x1440 }; DFP-4.9: 1920x2160 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=960x1080 },    DFP-4.8: 1920x2160 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=960x1080}; DFP-4.9: 1280x1440 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1280x1440 },   DFP-4.8: 1280x1440 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1280x1440 }; DFP-4.9: 960x1080 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=960x1080 },     DFP-4.8: 960x1080 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=960x1080}; DFP-4.9: 2560x1440 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=2560x1440 },   NULL; DFP-4.9: 1920x1080 {
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     ViewPortIn=1920x1080 }, NULL"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): Requested modes:
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1920x2160},DFP-4.8:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1920x2160}"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1280x1440},DFP-4.8:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1280x1440}"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=960x1080},DFP-4.8:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=960x1080}"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:1280x1440{ViewPortIn=1280x1440},DFP-4.8:1280x1440{ViewPortIn=1280x1440}"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:960x1080{ViewPortIn=960x1080},DFP-4.8:960x1080{ViewPortIn=960x1080}"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:2560x1440{ViewPortIn=2560x1440},NULL"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-4.9:1920x1080{ViewPortIn=1920x1080},NULL"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): Validated MetaModes:
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "DFP-4.9:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1920x2160},DFP-4.8:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1920x2160}":
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     Size: 3840 x 2160
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.9: "1920x2160"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1920 x 2160
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +1920 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1920 x 2160
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 3840 x 2160 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.8: "1920x2160"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1920 x 2160
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1920 x 2160
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 3840 x 2160 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "DFP-4.9:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1280x1440},DFP-4.8:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=1280x1440}":
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     Size: 2560 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.9: "1920x2160"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +1280 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 2560 x 1440 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.8: "1920x2160"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 2560 x 1440 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "DFP-4.9:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=960x1080},DFP-4.8:1920x2160{ViewPortIn=960x1080}":
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     Size: 1920 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.9: "1920x2160"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +960 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 1920 x 1080 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.8: "1920x2160"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 1920 x 1080 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "DFP-4.9:1280x1440{ViewPortIn=1280x1440},DFP-4.8:1280x1440{ViewPortIn=1280x1440}":
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     Size: 2560 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.9: "1280x1440"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +1280 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 2560 x 1440 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.8: "1280x1440"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1280 x 1440
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 2560 x 1440 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "DFP-4.9:960x1080{ViewPortIn=960x1080},DFP-4.8:960x1080{ViewPortIn=960x1080}":
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     Size: 1920 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.9: "960x1080"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +960 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 1920 x 1080 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.8: "960x1080"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 960 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 1920 x 1080 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "DFP-4.9:1920x1080{ViewPortIn=1920x1080},NULL":
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     Size: 1920 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4.9: "1920x1080"
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Size          : 1920 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Offset        : +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):         Panning
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Domain       : 1920 x 1080
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Tracking Area: 1920 x 1080 +0 +0
(II) Feb 14 22:23:16 NVIDIA(0):          Border       : 0,0,0,0


Basically these are in order of the requested modes:

3840x2160 outputed via two 1920x2160 to the display (native resolution)

3840x2160 outputed via two 1920x2160 (upscaled from 1280x1440) for 2560x1440 MST GPU scaling)

3840x2160 outputed via two 1920x2160 (upscaled from 960x1080) for 1920x1080 MST GPU scaling)

2560x1440 outputed via two 1280x1440 for 2560x1440 Monitor scaling (via MST)

1920x1080 outputed via two 960x1080 for 1920x1080 Monitor scaling (via MST)

2560x1440 outputed via one 2560x1440 for 2560x1440 Monitor scaling (via SST)

1920x1080 outputed via one 1920x1080 for 1920x1080 Monitor scaling (Via SST)

All of these modes worked without issues while the display stayed in MST mode. It seems to me of nvidia fixed their drivers this display could work a lot better. Simply telling linux what to gets a pretty good behavior with the only issue I saw being tearing betwene the halves when MST mode and with 2d stuff. Of course I was running in a fluxbox raw X session. normally I run a compsited desktop which is 3d so I would not have gotten the tearing.

If someone wants me to test something specific, let me know.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
youtube video actually showing switching through the modes and stuff:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8oPyKDriiQ&edit=vd

Probably gonna take 20 min or so after posting before the video link works...

Shows off GPU scaling over MST, Monitor scaling over MST and monitor scaling over SST.

I think this also shows once its configured the thing works a lot better on linux than on windows. All full screen games worked fine. Later I also tested some steam games as well with no issues or tearing in the games.
 

suiken_2mieu

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
2,910
...The monitor is perfectly capable of taking SST modes while it is set in MST mode (just good luck getting it to do this on windows)...

I could probably get it to work using CRU.exe and using Eyefinity Custom Resolutions on Windows.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
I could probably get it to work using CRU.exe and using Eyefinity Custom Resolutions on Windows.

From my experience with windows due to family members using tiled displays has been that you have to do custom inf's for the displays and take out all the other resolutions if you want to do a custom resolution in an eyefinity group because they are just auto-generated by the maximum resolution and you have no control over the groupings (unless something has changed).
 

suiken_2mieu

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
2,910
From my experience with windows due to family members using tiled displays has been that you have to do custom inf's for the displays and take out all the other resolutions if you want to do a custom resolution in an eyefinity group because they are just auto-generated by the maximum resolution and you have no control over the groupings (unless something has changed).

The way I got around this is to use CRU to make a mask and then add the custom resolutions you want to all the displays (so yes, basically making an inf, but more streamlined). I have a guide to do this actually.

*Working* Custom Eyefinity Resolutions [Tutorial Inside]

This should work the same as it's just two displays.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
7,170
Your youtube is not helping. You are running it in Linux. Most of us here are Win 7 people. We need to know if those bugs still happens to win 7 pro. And that scaling problem of yours, could be a Linux problem, as I read a lot of thread on this monitor (asus / dell), no1 else said that
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,200
I was wondering if Linux would make a difference or not as well.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Your youtube is not helping. You are running it in Linux. Most of us here are Win 7 people. We need to know if those bugs still happens to win 7 pro. And that scaling problem of yours, could be a Linux problem, as I read a lot of thread on this monitor (asus / dell), no1 else said that

Well it was mainly to show that if it was configured/done right MST works just fine, the display will scale in both SST and MST modes not to mention GPU scaling, it all works.

I know most people aren't running linux but it seems like some people also had some mis-information on MST and what the limitations were.

This just goes to show that it 100% is not a hardware problem. Both the hardware and the display can do everything just fine, the issue is the drivers. So there can be hope that maybe on windows they will fix the drivers to the point it works like any other display.

Also it seems to me like a lot of the BIOS issues or things only showing up on one side of the display could have been fixed with a better EDID standard. There is really no reason that should be an issue if things were done right.

I have wonder if the reason for that is that the display has only a 1920x2160 mode on the first half (in my config DFP-4.8) and all the other modes including 1920x2160 in the second (DFP-4.9) half. That seems weird to me as I would think that all of the modes should have been in the first half/monitor reported not the second. Seems to me that is going to confuse the shit out of drivers and if video cards only output to the 'first' display that might be why I am not getting any output at all during POST.

Tiled displays have been a pain in the ass on windows for like forever. Seems to me that they shouldn't have to be. You don't want to even know how frustrated my sister has been at times running on windows when her VP2290b needs a near genlocked signal when getting 4 inputs (which extended desktop isn't but eyefinity group or cloning is) and random times the OS would just forget the eyefinity group and come up in extended mode causing a monitor with an amber light and no output.

Sometimes just setting everything up in a config file is nice because you can tell it exactly what you want it to do and it is saved regardless of updating drivers or anything else (where everything has to be re-done again). To even get the eyefinity display group working I had to make a custom EDID via an INF and everyime she updates her drivers it all has to be setup again from the start, it is quite annoying.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
655
Well it was mainly to show that if it was configured/done right MST works just fine, the display will scale in both SST and MST modes not to mention GPU scaling, it all works.

I know most people aren't running linux but it seems like some people also had some mis-information on MST and what the limitations were.

This just goes to show that it 100% is not a hardware problem. Both the hardware and the display can do everything just fine, the issue is the drivers. So there can be hope that maybe on windows they will fix the drivers to the point it works like any other display.

Also it seems to me like a lot of the BIOS issues or things only showing up on one side of the display could have been fixed with a better EDID standard. There is really no reason that should be an issue if things were done right.

I have wonder if the reason for that is that the display has only a 1920x2160 mode on the first half (in my config DFP-4.8) and all the other modes including 1920x2160 in the second (DFP-4.9) half. That seems weird to me as I would think that all of the modes should have been in the first half/monitor reported not the second. Seems to me that is going to confuse the shit out of drivers and if video cards only output to the 'first' display that might be why I am not getting any output at all during POST.


So what you're saying is if I want to get into my full BIOS I would need to switch to a different monitor:confused:
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
So what you're saying is if I want to get into my full BIOS I would need to switch to a different monitor:confused:

Or it seems like maybe they are just 'doing it wrong.' I think it is something that could easily be fixed with a firmware update that changed the EDID.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
7,170
could I ask you to help out every1 by posting what you wrote the above, along w/ the video, i.e., it's the driver, video card etc. on the Nvidia report forum?

please click the 2nd link on mesg. #122 (my mesg.) and simply cut & paste your mesg. #137 and your video.

==================

on related update, I have to switch back to display port on my main LCd because I have a 2nd computer that needs the DVI port. Now, when I was temporary using the DVI port as my main screen, there is a small issue. My recycle bin somehow ends up in the 3rd screen. When I move it back, the next time I boot up, the recycle bin once again ends up in the 3rd screen. This is the 1st time I have this small issue and I have been using DIsplay port the whole time
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
601
It's not worth it until it's proper 4K and not 2x 3840x1080 screens stitched together.

2/3 of the market is nvidia cards, and nvidia just released a $1000 gpu (titan black) that still doesn't have the bandwidth for hdmi 2.0 even though the specs have been finalized for over half a year now and AMD has had hdmi 2.0 compliant specs for over a year. In fact all anybody has to do is design a 4K60 controller for DP 1.2 and we are good to go with AMD hardware, but nvidia pixel clocks are still ancient crap from 10 years ago which means we are forced with this half screen stitched crap--designing a DP controller that can do 4K60 I'm sure is far cheaper than the hoops the market had to jump through to create half-assed DP 4K60 panels just because nvidia hardware is not 4K60 bandwidth compliant.

People blame the wrong people, the real problem is the majority of the market (nvidia) is selling old garbage and delaying everyone else.
 

Panmaster

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
228
2/3 of the market is nvidia cards, and nvidia just released a $1000 gpu (titan black) that still doesn't have the bandwidth for hdmi 2.0 even though the specs have been finalized for over half a year now and AMD has had hdmi 2.0 compliant specs for over a year. In fact all anybody has to do is design a 4K60 controller for DP 1.2 and we are good to go with AMD hardware, but nvidia pixel clocks are still ancient crap from 10 years ago which means we are forced with this half screen stitched crap--designing a DP controller that can do 4K60 I'm sure is far cheaper than the hoops the market had to jump through to create half-assed DP 4K60 panels just because nvidia hardware is not 4K60 bandwidth compliant.

People blame the wrong people, the real problem is the majority of the market (nvidia) is selling old garbage and delaying everyone else.

The majority of the market is Intel at 65%. Haswell definitely supports 4K via DP. I blame monitor manufacturers.
 

foxhound2001

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
128
Just picked one up from craigslist for $1300. :D:D Anyone know what kind of cards I'll need to drive this at medium setting for some mmo or arpg games? Currently have a single 770 4gb and at low settings the full load runs around at 97% gpu usage and the temps are around 80c via gpu-z . Would running an SLI of this cards be advisable?

qQqX8gp.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Just picked one up from craigslist for $1300. :D:D Anyone know what kind of cards I'll need to drive this at medium setting for some mmo or arpg games? Currently have a single 770 4gb and at low settings the full load runs around at 97% gpu usage and the temps are around 80c via gpu-z . Would running an SLI of this cards be advisable?

Stolen? Wow I can't believe it went that cheap.

And resize your image =P Even me on a 4k display thinks u made that too big =P
 

foxhound2001

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
128
Stolen? Wow I can't believe it went that cheap.

And resize your image =P Even me on a 4k display thinks u made that too big =P


LOL, sorry.. Hopefully the image size should be better now. Not stolen, the guy buys them at the Dell employee discount rate. He sells plenty of dell monitors and could get more 4k monitors. Also the warranty is only for 1 year though.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
655
LOL, sorry.. Hopefully the image size should be better now. Not stolen, the guy buys them at the Dell employee discount rate. He sells plenty of dell monitors and could get more 4k monitors. Also the warranty is only for 1 year though.

Sounds stolen to me........
(If not, then why wouldn't he sell them on eBay for double the money? and how far from CA are you? if the plane ticket is cheap enough it would be cheaper than buying one from Amazon:p)



As for the 2nd card, yes I would suggest another GTX770(or maybe even a 3rd) 4k is a ton of pixels to push with a single GTX770. Will probably only run older games at respectable frame rates.
 

foxhound2001

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
128
Sounds stolen to me........
(If not, then why wouldn't he sell them on eBay for double the money? and how far from CA are you? if the plane ticket is cheap enough it would be cheaper than buying one from Amazon:p)



As for the 2nd card, yes I would suggest another GTX770(or maybe even a 3rd) 4k is a ton of pixels to push with a single GTX770. Will probably only run older games at respectable frame rates.

He said he sold a few online before but also said he got burned a few times with the monitor breaking while on shipment, Apparently the monitor can easily break in the middle if it was shipped laying flat due to having 2 panels inside. He lives and operate in Nevada and had to drive all the way to LA to meet up with me.
 

Sancus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
1,091
There aren't two panels inside this monitor. Anyone who tells you that can't possibly be a Dell employee(or he's a dumbass).
 

foxhound2001

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
128
There aren't two panels inside this monitor. Anyone who tells you that can't possibly be a Dell employee(or he's a dumbass).

He could be or maybe it's just me shocked at the price that I didn't pay attention to everything he said lol. All I know is I got one hell of a deal.
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,200
I'm more interested in performance more than if its stolen or not. :D
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
655
DELL showed up today :)


bEbDODul.jpg



Thing is massive compared to a 27" monitor. Gonna do some testing/gaming once I get my PC re built tomorrow.
 

x3sphere

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
2,755
$2249 on Newegg after promo code, lowest I've seen yet?

I went ahead and pulled the trigger, Newegg has a good return policy on monitors, plus no restocking fee if a Premier member. If the MST issues are too bothersome I'll return it, hopefully I won't have to though.
 
Top