Unleash your Raven Ridge Mobile!

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by bobzdar, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Finally, somebody has figured out how to set the power limits on raven ridge - I've tested on my Dell 7375 with 2700u and can now run it at 30W tdp without it throttling - though due to the complicated dsdt on this laptop it periodically resets itself to 15W, if I set up a task to run the util every minute it will run indefinitely at 30W peaking at around 85C. This gives a huge boost in gaming performance, on the order of 40-50%!

    The Matebooks can actually run in the 45W range due to their upgraded dual fan cooling (and don't reset the tdp), which makes them extremely fast for an igp equipped thin and light. If you've struggled with power throttling on your raven ridge laptop, give this utility a try as it finally fixes it.

    The 3 power values are the base power (long limit), boost power (short limit) and the average power consumption limit(stapm limit). Set the stapm limit to the same as your long limit and the short limit to max boost power level (45W is max they can do I believe), just keep in mind that the boost power will cut back to the stapm level once average power consumption hits the stapm limit. I set mine to 30W for all 3 as this laptop doesn't have the cooling to maintain 45W for very long.

    https://github.com/FlyGoat/RyzenAdj/releases
     
  2. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,790
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    How would that work with the power supply?
    Mine (lenovo) has a USB-C connector could you just use one that does allow higher watts to be drawn?
     
  3. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Most are 45W minimum - the Matebook is usb-c at 65W (and it also charges my Dell without issue), so running at 30-45W won't be an issue. There's a hard limit of 45W on them, so shouldn't be an issue. If you only have a 45W charger, your laptop likely doesn't have anywhere near the cooling to run it at 45W so I wouldn't be too concerned, it'll boost to 45W for a few minutes and then drop due to thermal throttling, and if the charger can't keep up, most laptops will pull the extra few watts from the battery.

    However, I definitely wouldn't jack up the tdp and then run on the battery alone unless you don't mind replacing it fairly often as even at stock tdp, gaming on the battery will drain it quicker than is probably best for long life.
     
  4. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Can the dell 7375 run memory at 3.2ghz? I think the bios options are there for it.
     
  5. chithanh

    chithanh Gawd

    Messages:
    770
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    The changes only TDP affect and throttling. Memory clocks are not affected. As far as I am aware, Ryzen mobile will not allow more than 2666 MHz DDR4.
     
  6. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Just in case anyone is wondering.... while not really going to be to anyone's surprise, but I don't think it works with Bristol Ridge chips, much to my disappointment :( lol (It did say Success upon apply, but eeh...)

    For lack of having to update a game with a benchmark, I just used Universe Simulator and blew up some of Jupiter's moons while watching GPUz. Clocks fell just as hard as the FPS.

    Granted, it was all under my custom power profile which isn't at all meant for gaming, but I'm still willing to bet incompatibility is the reason. My only point of doubt that it MIGHT work was because the temps sat solid at 50C which is what the default limit was set to, even though I unticked it so it shouldn't have applied... Maybe I'll futz with it again tomorrow.

    EDIT: Bobz, does CPUz's numbering change on yours after applying? I dunno if it's a static-box just pulled from a database or not...
    upload_2019-2-20_21-26-34.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  7. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    I don't think that changes, but you can monitor the tdp using amd uprof.
     
    Formula.350 likes this.
  8. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    I tried to go over 2400mhz and nothing happened. You can go below that but not above it, unless somebody unlocks the bios. It may be tied to the xmp profile of the memory, but likely disabled.
     
  9. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Is your memory profiled at 2400? Or can you even adjust timings?
     
  10. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Thanks. Downloading it and will install it at... some point... Gotta figure out my desktop stability issue first heh


    However, I did find this guy's Pull Request which provides a plethora of new options to tinker with (also pre-loads a bunch of settings, which I'm not sure if they are a generalized 'default' for Ryzen Mobile chips or what...)
    https://github.com/FlyGoat/RyzenAdj/pull/5
    He provides a compiled version in a reply, which for anyone who wants to just skip all that nonsense...
    https://github.com/FlyGoat/RyzenAdj/files/2889248/Precompiled.5.zip
     
    primetime likes this.
  11. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    1,014
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    I'll have to try this later on my x360 2500U. Thanks OP!

    Do you know if this TDP setting affects both the CPU and GPU clocks?
     
  12. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    The TDP rating of AMD APUs includes the GPU.

    Take my laptop for example. While it's not Ryzen, it is technically still "AM4" since it's a Bristol Ridge "Carrizo". Anyways... it's a 15W FX-9800P
    If not using the GPU at all, the CPU can utilize the full 15W TDP and boost to the highest Single or Multi-core PState (Pb2 or Pb1) and run at that speed indefinitely (or until it reaches a thermal limit in which case it'll throttle)
    If using the CPU and GPU, they share the 15W and the CPU will run mostly at it's default PState (P0) unless the GPU load increases in which case it'll drop a couple of PStates. In my case, 2900MHz is base, but in most games it'd be around 2000-2200MHz. The GPU will still not run at it's highest speed (758MHz for mine), hovering quite a bit lower (mine, roughly 450-500MHz).
    If using ONLY the GPU with minimal CPU, the GPU gets the full 15W TDP and runs at its highest speed continually (or again, until thermally throttled). The CPU will actually drop to a unique PState (at least on Carrizo) which it otherwise will never enter, even if you set the Power Profile to 0% Min and Max CPU Speed. For mine, that means the GPU is 758MHz and the CPU speed is now 800Mhz (almost half it's minimum!), all in order to give the GPU as much of the available TDP as possible!
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  13. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Does carrizo work with turion power control?
     
    Formula.350 likes this.
  14. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Huh... I've never heard of that one... crazy. I'll give it a look, thanks :)

    K15TK kinda did, but is more prone to crash my laptop than work :( (also it just changes PState, divisors and voltage, so doesn't do much for increasing performance like increasing TDP would)
     
  15. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,601
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    oo9jRMR5sNGUQqRLNTpp8KugV1g1PbAEl0ZWDNKhSgOraHniZHbOZftLIoFr0szSli4TLElRnBddBLEwhk=w1024-h511-no.png

    Substantial performance boost on my envy360 using the recompiled version .....time will tell if its actually a stable increase
    https://github.com/FlyGoat/RyzenAdj/files/2889248/Precompiled.5.zip

    But I ran some cinebench tests with the envy360 and im really not sure it was doing much with the longer tasks? Laptop likely starts to throttle with any real work
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2019
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  16. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    here is a link to turionpowercontrol:

    https://code.google.com/archive/p/turionpowercontrol/downloads

    basically open the CLI in windows, browse to the directory and type tpc -psmax 1

    I use this on my bulldozer/piledriver cpu's and it works.
     
  17. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    I was just at the GitHub (since the page said it moved) and didn't notice any Bulldozer code, and the one person who had forked it that added Kaveri support, didn't offer a compiled version :(
    I'm skeptical it'll work though, since AMDMsrTweak supported Bulldozer and variants up to Kaveri I think, and it doesn't work on Carrizo. I mean it reads it a fairly well, but voltages are wrong, and I didn't have much luck getting anything to apply and stick, always being reverted back.

    Nevertheless, I'm never one to turn down an attempt at improving the performance of this thing! :D

    EDIT: BSoD "CLOCK WATCHDOG TIMEOUT" heh Can't say I'm entirely surprised :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2019
  18. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    my laptop has an A8-8600B, and it works, but that might be one generation behind yours? Anyway it seems to work on mine so maybe mine is the last working version. You may try fiddling with the cli options to see if there is a way to get it to work... it works on my Opteron 4365EE's
     
  19. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Mine's a DDR4 model, and AIDA isn't stating under Chipset that it supports DDR3 (like it did with Phenom II's, where it showed DDR3/DDR2 support).
    Which the NB is an: AMD K15.6 IMC
    SB is: AMD Kern

    However, I suspect the main difference may come down to the fact that my board in my HP (I have a feeling all AM4 laptops are this way), there's an ARM Cortex M3 chip, which I'm pretty sure functions as the brainbox for all the power hoopla. Which I figure it's that which needs to be negotiated with for setting TDP limits and such, which is why I hoped maybe this Ryzen program would work with mine heh It may indeed, except it's trying to tell it to do stuff that it isn't familiar with on account of being a Dozer derivative.

    On the other hand... it could also be like RyzenTimingChecker, which partially relies on there being a specific AGESA present in order to properly read some timings... and I haven't updated this laptop's BIOS since I swapped in a new motherboard, and it IS an ancient version. So I suppose that's worth a shot as well. Too bad it's not like desktop boards, cuz then I could play with that Turion program, crash it, then go flash the newest BIOS heh Alas, it does all of that painlessly from Windows (which, I do like), and reboots itself.
     
  20. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    AMD have finally released mobile drivers as part of their main driver releases - coupled with ryzenadj and finally this thing is what I thought I was buying way back in April - a legitimately fast thin and light, though no fixes for the poor (5h) battery life.
     
  21. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    One last update - notebook fan control has a working profile for the Dell 7375 so I can finally ramp the fans up - previously they'd never go full speed unless you were browsing the bios. With the latest drivers, stapm disabled and fans at 100% in cb15 I get 52fps ogl, 143 single, 625 multi. In 3dmark I get 2563 in firestrike. Peak temp is 71C meaning no throttling. This puts it squarely in the performance range of i7 8550u + mx150 - except any of the sub 15" models with that combination are quite a bit more expensive (~$1200 vs $800)

    Of course, it took almost a \year to finally get that performance out of it due to a combination of poor power management implementation and driver support, but those are (finally) no longer an issue.
     
    DeeJayBump, KazeoHin and Formula.350 like this.
  22. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    What were your CB15 scores before (or, at defaults rather), for comparison?
     
  23. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,620
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Single core was similar, ogl hit max of 49, all core max of 575. However all of those were for a single run and then it'd drop the tdp to 15W and the scores would drop. Firestrike, which runs through the demo first and would drop to 15W by the time it hit the benchmark, was around 1500 points. Now it'll run the higher numbers continually.

    It holds 3.7ghz single core and 3.0ghz all core in cb15. The gpu runs around 1000mhz. In gaming it hits around 2.7 cpu on a couple of cores and 900-1000mhz gpu, giving good performance. I did repaste, but otherwise those are all software fixes. Given temps are nowhere near 85C, I don't think the stock tim would have changed the results at all, it'd just run 5C or so hotter.
     
  24. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    That's great :) Makes me feel more confident if I do decide to grab a Ryzen powered laptop!