Ubuntu 10.10 32bit or 64bit for web server?

GJSNeptune

[H]F Junkie
Just (finally) ordered the parts for a web server. Now I'm wondering which version of Ubuntu 10.10 to slap on it. Should I stick to the larger community for 32bit, or future-proof with 64bit?

Ordered 4GB of memory for it, but surely it isn't solely dependent on that. Aside from my WHS box, I've been using 64-bit for a couple years now. It's the way things are moving, no?

It wouldn't be serving anything taxing at first. It's a homemade multimedia CMS. I plan to host audio and video eventually.

Parts:
Silverstone SG05B
i3-540
Intel BOXDH57JG LGA 1156 Intel H57 HDMI Mini ITX
G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3-1333

FWIW I installed Ubuntu Server 10.04 LTS 64bit on my web server in 2010, and I haven't run into any issues with it being 64bit.

64-bit. If ever you do plan to add more ram at least you'll be able to. 64-bit also allows for bigger integers which could actually be an issue with very large databases, programs etc...

Actually a 32bit CPU can support up to 64GB of ram using the PAE enabled Linux kernel. Each individual process would be limited to 4GB however.

The 3.25GB limitation in 32bit Windows is an artificial limitation. Which is why 32bit Windows server has no problem supporting 8GB+.

It looks like based on the Apache benchmarks you would want to go 64bit for performance reasons.

No reason not to go with 64-bit. Most server apps in the Unix world have been supporting 64-bit architectures (MIPS, SPARC, Alpha...) for years before AMD64 came out.