ubnt UAP-AC-PRO / UAP-AC-Lite

jad0083

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
140
Anybody have these? Haven't seen much feedback elsewhere, and I can't find these in stock anywhere. Worth it to wait for these? or are there any good alternatives? Wait for wave 2 AC APs?
In any case, looking right now for in-premise controller based AC WAP, for SMB that wont break the bank. Currently have 3 ubnt deployments (around 4-5 uap-pros each, managed by 1 central controller)
 

trick0502

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
5,488
if you sign up for their beta forums you can get more info. as far as i know, they arent for sale yet.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,326
I have the UAP-AC in my house. The original one. It works fantastic. 24/7 no problems. Its a space heater though. I hope the eliminate the heat output on the pro series.
 

jad0083

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
140
yeah, I believe the first couple of batches were already sold out, so everything is on backorder. I remember seeing these on amazon before, but was reluctant at the time to try them out. Also currently looking at Aerohive and Open-Mesh, but I don't think these have in-premise controllers.
 

bds1904

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
1,007
but I don't think these have in-premise controllers.

Not having an onsite controller is by no means a downside. I see it as a huge upside honestly. One of the huge downfall of the original ubnt ap's was the clunky controller that was required to set up the ap and required to run all the time for simple things to work (like walled garden & seamless roaming).

I use open-mesh a lot, as well as at home. Open-mesh just works, period. I have 4 ap's at home and can roam between them on a VoIP or video call with no issues. The controller is great, easy to use and just advanced enough for all but the most complicated network setups. Bridging and bridge to vlan works great as does the guest network. I also like the usage graphs and L7 statistics you get.

The OM5P-AN maxes out at about 60Mbps real world thruput to the internet and about 75Mbps on file transfers (On 5Ghz).
 
Last edited:

klank

Killer of Killer NIC Threadz
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
2,177
I ordered two of the new pros and one of the lite. They will be here next Monday.
 

Dawizman

Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
888
We've had good luck with the original UAP-Pro, so I've got a few 5 packs of each the AC-Pro and Lite on order. Haven't read too much bad about them yet.
 

jpcolin

n00b
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
48
have a look at the ubnt forum.
I have read some things about those.
First impressions are good from what i read.
 

DouglasteR

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
475
I have the UAP-AC in my house. The original one. It works fantastic. 24/7 no problems. Its a space heater though. I hope the eliminate the heat output on the pro series.

My thoughts exactly. Also with the controller on my server, it updates automatically wich is very nice (not tinfoil hat proof though).

Also it really get hot and consume about ~25w of my 48v POE Injector. Sometimes i think i can hear noises coming from it, like a eletronic whispering.

It just works.
 

BigTy

Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
943
My thoughts exactly. Also with the controller on my server, it updates automatically wich is very nice (not tinfoil hat proof though).

Also it really get hot and consume about ~25w of my 48v POE Injector. Sometimes i think i can hear noises coming from it, like a eletronic whispering.

It just works.

Everything you just quoted was the knocks on the first gen AC's and you're not imagining the sound.
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,198
Looking forward to them, I have had fantastic results with UBNT gear and have used all of the current gen APs (Unifi, LR, PRO, AC).

They work great and kick the ass of any other gear in the price range. Coverage, reliable performance, etc.
 

klank

Killer of Killer NIC Threadz
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
2,177
Where can you get a ap-AC-pro?

You can order one from just about any one of the distributors....

Why don't you reach out to a few to see how long each one's back order is?

Just because myself or another person is getting one or has them doesn't mean that you'd avoid a back order.
 

+Eric

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
128
I have an UAP-AC-PRO. I ordered early from double radius, so I have mine already. Have had it for a few weeks now, has been completely stable so far.

I think it's cheaper from A1 security though, although I know it's back ordered till December there as a friend has one on order with them.
 

klank

Killer of Killer NIC Threadz
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
2,177
They arrived...



Damn these things are sleek and sexy. I believe I will be mounting them to the ceiling inside my house.
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,198
Its been asked. But which distributor did you go through? My usual has yet to receive any and is forecasting dec.
 

bman212121

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,815
Definitely want to see a mini write up on these. How is the range, the speeds, is it stable, etc. I've been waiting to see a review and am eagerly waiting to replace my AP with one of these.
 

trick0502

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
5,488
ive seen the lites and lrs, but i want the pro. i cant find that anywhere. from what im hearing you wont be able to get it till mid dec.
 
D

Deleted member 12106

Guest
Might need to check these out once the demand simmers down, and a few firmwares have been issued, you guys go ahead, we always need a burn victim :)
 

klank

Killer of Killer NIC Threadz
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
2,177
I haven't had a lot of time to write up a review, but I did find this...

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2015...-realize-how-terrible-consumer-wi-fi-gear-is/

As for using the two AP Pro's in my house, I haven't experienced any problems. I have not done any IPERF tests or file transfers from my surface pro 3 or mac book. If I get some time I will do some IPERF testing. Haven't fired up the AC-Lite yet, it is on my to-do list.
 

ltickett

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 27, 2000
Messages
1,125
graphs look rather disappointing performance wise when compared to an old airport extreme?

i have to admit i've been somewhat disappointed since moving from my airport extreme to UniFi AP-AC v2
 
D

Deleted member 12106

Guest
Take a peek at your wifi card settings, and see if you can tweak it a bit once. Here I did some tweaking and was able to double my throughput.
 

bman212121

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,815
graphs look rather disappointing performance wise when compared to an old airport extreme?

i have to admit i've been somewhat disappointed since moving from my airport extreme to UniFi AP-AC v2

If you're using a MBP connection to an airport extreme then it probably can seek out a little more performance as the two were likely tuned specifically for each other. I wouldn't put much faith in that synthetic number at all as it seems overly optimistic for what a perfect connection would even achieve. (You would need to have less than 35% overhead)

If the same test was ran with a pc it's hard to say if the results would put them closer or not. I'm reserving my judgment until we can get a non perfect scenario test to see how well they can hold on once you are not on top of the AP.
 

trick0502

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
5,488
graphs look rather disappointing performance wise when compared to an old airport extreme?

i have to admit i've been somewhat disappointed since moving from my airport extreme to UniFi AP-AC v2

seeing how it is a 1300mbps ap (on 5ghz band), wouldnt 650mbps really be the max you would see? so, 500mbps sustained is about what is expected.
 

travanx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2000
Messages
1,579
These were showing up on Amazon for a large markup over the weekend. But not sure if these are the world or US version. The one showing up on ebay says world and not to be used in the US. Been really happy with the egderouter so I am waiting to get a couple of these.

How hard is it to create a wireless bridge with these? I want to run one of these bridged in my garage.
 

tonyyy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
306
got mines so far the speed improvement is awesome however I do have one issue with one of my laptops won't reconnect to the wifi after it goes to sleep. I have to power cycle the ap in order to reconnect. supposedly they have an beta firmware out there to resolve 2.4ghz issues... but you need to manually install it to fix it... i hope they get a final version of it out soon.
 

bman212121

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,815
seeing how it is a 1300mbps ap (on 5ghz band), wouldnt 650mbps really be the max you would see? so, 500mbps sustained is about what is expected.

It's a bit low, but not terrible. I generally figure you can get around 60% of the theoretical bandwidth. So 1300 x 60% is around 780mbps. That's if you're sitting right on top of the AP as it's usually difficult to keep Short Guard enabled so drop down to around 700mbps. I would expect in an ideal case you should be able to get a 700mbps transfer out of it. In normal usage though I would say getting 500mbps through a wall or two or lower signal would be a good result.


@tonyyy: I hope they can get that stuff sorted. Seems like maybe they are trying to rush these out again as they had issues with the first AC APs when they came out.
 

klank

Killer of Killer NIC Threadz
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
2,177
got mines so far the speed improvement is awesome however I do have one issue with one of my laptops won't reconnect to the wifi after it goes to sleep. I have to power cycle the ap in order to reconnect. supposedly they have an beta firmware out there to resolve 2.4ghz issues... but you need to manually install it to fix it... i hope they get a final version of it out soon.

I don't have this issue with the AC-Pro or AC-Lites. Which model did you get?
 

tonyyy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
306
AC lite.

It seems to be isolated with anything on 2.4ghz... been reading a lot on ubnt forums.

I'll just keep rebooting for now and hope a support updated firmware gets release soon as I don't want to hose my brand new AP's :(
 

klank

Killer of Killer NIC Threadz
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
2,177
I did some basic iPerf 3 testing:

Client/Server Specs
Desktop1 (SSD, Gigabit Ethernet)
Desktop2 (SSD, Gigabit Ethernet)
Macbook Pro Mid-2009 (SSD, 802.11n)
Surface Pro 3 (SSD, 802.11ac)
Samsung Galaxy Note 5 (802.11ac)


Unifi-AC-Pro 5Ghz WPA2-AES Channel Width HT40 Transmit
Desktop 1 <--> Desktop 2 = 939Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> Note 5 = 168Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> MBP = 128Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> SurPro3 = 123Mbits/sec


Unifi-AC-Pro 5Ghz WPA2-AES Channel Width HT80 Transmit
Desktop 1 <--> Desktop 2 = 942Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> Note 5 = 242Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> MBP = 188Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> SurPro3 = 190Mbits/sec

So far pretty weak. I will need to turn them off and fire up a Nighthawk, AC-Lite, Cisco 1252 and compare tomorrow.
 

bleomycin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
238
I did some basic iPerf 3 testing:

Client/Server Specs
Desktop1 (SSD, Gigabit Ethernet)
Desktop2 (SSD, Gigabit Ethernet)
Macbook Pro Mid-2009 (SSD, 802.11n)
Surface Pro 3 (SSD, 802.11ac)
Samsung Galaxy Note 5 (802.11ac)


Unifi-AC-Pro 5Ghz WPA2-AES Channel Width HT40 Transmit
Desktop 1 <--> Desktop 2 = 939Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> Note 5 = 168Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> MBP = 128Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> SurPro3 = 123Mbits/sec


Unifi-AC-Pro 5Ghz WPA2-AES Channel Width HT80 Transmit
Desktop 1 <--> Desktop 2 = 942Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> Note 5 = 242Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> MBP = 188Mbits/sec
Desktop 1 <--> SurPro3 = 190Mbits/sec

So far pretty weak. I will need to turn them off and fire up a Nighthawk, AC-Lite, Cisco 1252 and compare tomorrow.

Wow, thanks for posting that. Truly pathetic results though :eek:
I don't understand why ubiquiti can't put out hardware that isn't crippled in some way. My 3 original ubiquiti uap-ac's are rotting in a closet now for similar terrible performance reasons.
 
Top