Uber Settles Lawsuit Over Driver Sexual Assault Claims

HardOCP News

[H] News
Uber has dipped into its coffers once again to settle a lawsuit. This time around, Uber decided to settle with two women accusing its drivers of sexual assault after a judge decided that Uber is responsible when its drivers commit crimes against passengers that used the company's service app.

Uber Technologies Inc. settled a lawsuit filed by two women who sought to hold the company responsible for alleged sexual assaults by drivers. Terms of the accord weren’t disclosed in court papers. The settlement follows a federal judge’s ruling six months ago rejecting the company’s argument that it couldn’t be blamed for sexual attacks by drivers, who it classifies as contractors rather than employees.

and why are they responsible?

while being an uber driver myself (for fun - socially expose me), it was rather easy to signup. I do think the background & signup process should be more human interfaced but i can only see that once they have the market.

How the hell are these people still making money?

so tonight i drove for 3 hours and got $34 in take home (pure cash). Uber took 8.65 (so 34 + 8.65). This is the same model most online ticket systems use

If anything, I think the app would make it easier to track down and find a would be criminal vs them just doing the crime on their own.

But anyway, with automation on the horizon this is probably just a short term legal problem for them.

So if a bank employee commits sexual assault on a client, then the bank is responsible for that? That seems stupid to me.

So if a bank employee commits sexual assault on a client, then the bank is responsible for that? That seems stupid to me.