Trying to pick the best x570 motherboard

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by vjhawk, Oct 24, 2019.

  1. vjhawk

    vjhawk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    I'm going back to AMD for cpu for the first time!

    So right now I'm trying to pick between Gigabyte Aorus Master, Asus Crosshair VIII Hero, Asrock Taichi, and MSI PEG Ace.

    I don't like having only 4 sata ports on the MSI. I'm unsure about the Taichi.

    I do like the 2.5 GB LAN feature. Does this make a difference in downloading throughput when attached directly to a router?

    Probably the Hero or the Master is what I will end up picking. Can anyone list the pros and cons of these different motherboards? What should be my choice for my new AMD Ryzen 3 system?
     
  2. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,640
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I have the Hero and I haven't had any issues with it FWIW. I couldn't tell you about the 2.5G LAN since I don't have any way to test it. It also has Wifi AX (WiFi version obviously) which can be quite a bit faster than AC. I don't think you would go wrong either way though. Probably a personal preference between the Asus bios or the GB one.
     
  3. vjhawk

    vjhawk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Thanks for the feedback. I went with the Aorus Master after watching some reviews on youtube. The VRM heatsinks really help lower the temperatures. And the possibility of running 3x nvme SSDs also is nice for the future proofing.
     
  4. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,852
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Those are the two of the major boards I am looking at - Aorus Master and Hero VIII. Love my RIVE Bios, very well laid out and OC simplified so debating the Asus Hero or Formula I think.

    .
     
  5. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,654
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Not unless your router AND internet speed is > 1gbps as well.
     
  6. Aluminum

    Aluminum Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    The 2.5Gbe out there are almost always realjunk controllers. You are better off plugging into the intel 1Gbe port, and if the board doesn't have two ports I would find a different one.

    Boards with onboard 5 or 10 are usually Aquantia chipsets which are good. If you can actually use 2.5 on your lan, its probably a multi-10 lan already so get one of those.
     
    Mega6 likes this.
  7. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,852
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    LOL - realjunk. So True.

    You guys are all right - the only difference on the top end boards are the 2.5, 5gbs Ethernet. Hardly worth it in most cases.
     
  8. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    I'm ok with 100Mb/s lan much more stable and compatible.
     
  9. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    No decent X570 on mATX board. I'm not considering Asrock as decent.
     
  10. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,640
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I don't even know where you'd find a 100Mb/s LAN controller that would work in a modern motherboard. But given the choice, I think just about everyone would take that cheap-o Realtek GBE controller on cheap boards over a 10/100 one. Sure it's not as nice as the Intel one, but it's still functionally faster.

    ASRock as a company (in which case you'd be wrong) or that particular ASRock board? Pretty much every X570 board has at least a decent VRM setup and should handle the 3000 series fine as long as you aren't trying for a max all core OC. It really depends on the use case. I'm guessing the OP is looking for a little more though as his choices are all higher end boards.
     
    Mega6 likes this.
  11. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,852
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    I can't say first hand on Asrock, but their rep is good. I wouldn't rule them out unless you've heard differently.
     
  12. Denpepe

    Denpepe [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,216
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    My X299 taichi is a pretty solid board, Uefi is a lot nicer then the X370 gigabyte I had.
     
    kirbyrj likes this.
  13. vjhawk

    vjhawk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Well I did receive the Gigabyte Aorus Master board. Everything went fairly smooth with setup except there is a slight issue with my H100i cooler. You see it has a plug in the side to power the pump and fans. But that plug is at a right angle to the cooler block. So this in fact obscures one of the ram slots on the motherboard. A somewhat unfortunate oversight in design. I won't be able to use all 4 dimm slots on this motherboard unless I go with a different cooling solution. Even a half inch extra space would have made a difference. Otherwise the motherboard is running great. In hindsight I might have gone with the Hero VIII if I knew that the spacing between CPU and dimm slots would have been an issue. Can't complain about performance though. Runs with my new 3700x perfectly out of the box, no bios flash needed. I'll be updating my system specs now.

    Old system

    Fractal Design Define R6 TG| Intel Xeon X5670| Corsair H100i V2|
    EVGA X58 Classified 3| 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600|
    EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW Hybrid| Antec 1200W Truepower Quattro|

    New System

    Fractal Design Define R6 TG| AMD Ryzen 7 3700X| Corsair H100i V2|
    GIGABYTE X570 AORUS Master | Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB DDR4 3600|
    EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW Hybrid| ASUS ROG Thor 850W|
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019 at 10:13 PM
  14. Nasgul

    Nasgul [H]Lite

    Messages:
    82
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Going back. For the 1st time. Amazing!!!!
    Hi, I'm back! But this is my 1st time!

    What happens when you leave Intel.

    Anyhow, unfortunately, it's too late to recommend but the ASUS board would've been a much better choice, due to the horrible BIOS and software from GIGABYTE. My guess you're not overclocking but nonetheless.

    As for your current issue, you don't have to have the USB (it's not the "power" to power pump and fans but to monitor via the Corsair software) right-angled connector, it's pointless and I never used it in my H110i.
    I have a Loop now but I use ASUS software to control the PUMP, Corsair iCue software is not that great IMO. So, install the 4 memory modules and ditch the USB cable.
     
  15. D-EJ915

    D-EJ915 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Did you try rotating the cooler? I've run into this issue on most CLC's I've used and is one of their major downsides that they ignore the keepout zone with regard to the cables and just do whatever they want.