Trying to install Win Server 2008R2 or 2012

I have a Dell 2800 that I am trying to load Windows Server onto. I am getting stuck at how to install it though. I found the Dell support page and can change the OS driver page to at most 2008 x64 bit

http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/555/ServiceTag/dm2pz61

I am at the Windows Server 2012 load Windows screen for selecting which drive to install the OS to. I want to try the 2008 x 64 bit drivers for 2012.

This is my first time installing a server OS to this chassis. I believe this Dell has a SAS RAID. I don't know if it is called PERC or not.
What, from the download page, do I need to download to be able to have Windows see the C: and install?

the Dell support site will show what hardware originally shipped with the system, based on the service tag.
also during startup, the storage controller should appear after the BIOS loads.

download the latest OpenManage bootable iso for the drivers and setup utility. also Windows 2012 may already include the drivers for your hardware

Last edited:
I am brand new to Dell support, so I am having a tough time finding what you recommended.

Is this it?

Dell OpenManage Connection for IBM Tivoli Netcool/OMNIbus, v.1.0, 54_A00
The Dell OpenManage Connection 1.0 for IBM Tivoli Netcool/OMNIbus 7.3.1 provides event monitoring capabilities for Dell servers and EqualLogic storage devices.

at:
http://downloads.dell.com/Pages/Drivers/poweredge-2800.html#Systems Management

Unfortunately, Server 2012 does not have the drivers. :(

With the help of a friend, I was able to download and use this download:

Dell CD ISO - Installation and Server Management, v.5.2.0, A00

Even though there are drivers available for 2008 R2, when I ran the OMA install, I only had the options for Server 2003 and 2003 x 64 bit.

How else can I try to get 2008 R2 on it?

I've been digging and found that the SCSI card is an Adaptec SCSI Card 39160

I can find drivers for Server 2003, 2008, and 2008 x64.