troubleshooting a computer that doesnt post

eon

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
2,218
Foxconn A79A-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186149

AMD Phenom II X4 920 Quad-Core 2.8GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103472

CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 DDR2 800
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145176

PowerColor AX4850 512MD3-DH Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-Bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131125

issue started about a month ago when the computer would become completely unresponsive (monitor goes black, caps lock light doesnt change when key is pressed) and sometimes it would blue screen. Sometimes just before this happens the display starts getting all pix-elated and glitchy.
So then I must do a hard reboot...
sometimes I get no POST or error beep
sometimes I get a POST beep but no display initially (the display will eventually come up a few minutes later on its own but if not unplugging and replugging the monitor wire usually gets it going)
and then sometimes I get a POST and display comes up right away

Based on this description what do you think is the issue? I'm trying to replace the least amount of parts possible.
thanks
 

evt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 6, 2006
Messages
253
What is the PSU? Replace it with a known good one to see if it improves things.
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
10,991
I too tend toward PSU on this one

If a substituted PSU does not solve it the next step is to tear it down, out of the case and try it in an absolute minimal configuration; mobo, CPU, 1 stick of ram and the GPU (since this thing has no onboard video) and try that
 

eon

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
2,218
ill check when i get home, definitely wasnt a top end one. But it worked fine for 5+ years until now. I'll order a new one and see if that works, if not I'll have a solid one to use in next build.
thanks
 

Suprfire

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
2,116
a change of gears, so im pricing out replacement parts and came across this barebones deal:
http://slickdeals.net/f/7254064-amd...-blaster-v2-case-w-450w-psu-barebones-154?v=1

scores this a6 5400 higher than my old phenom. Say I bought this and popped in my old GPU (if it still works) shouldnt this give very comparable performance for a general use desktop and light gaming?

Passmark on that processor doesn't look too good. The Ultra PSU included won't be very good either. I'd say go with a Pentium G3258 setup and overclock it (it's easy).

For a cheap capable power supply look at this: Corsair CX430 price for performance it doesn't get better than this for a light usage build.


Edit: this Antec NeoECO 620C is pretty slick as well
 
Last edited:

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
10,991
yeah, that is a side grade at best

start with a decent PSU and see if you can nurse your setup along while you save for an actual upgrade IMO
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
<snipped for brevity>

issue started about a month ago when the computer would become completely unresponsive (monitor goes black, caps lock light doesnt change when key is pressed) and sometimes it would blue screen.
Sometimes just before this happens the display starts getting all pix-elated and glitchy.

<snipped for brevity>

I'll go against the majority and say Video Card - namely overheating or video RAM.
 

eon

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
2,218
I'll go against the majority and say Video Card - namely overheating or video RAM.

this was my initial suspicion but would the computer still POST with a bad video card?

My PSU was delivered so Ill check with that when I get home tonight.
 

eon

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
2,218
finally got to this last weekend... replaced the psu... so far I had 2 crashes so looks like something else is causing this.
 
Top