tons of little issues since Fall creators update

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by misterbobby, Oct 21, 2017.

  1. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    I am really getting pissed off having to deal with the issues every day since the update. Sometimes I can't go fullscreen when watching youtube. That issue is related to the task bar refusing to act right. Another issue is right clicking on desktop or taskbar or menus might not work or is sluggish as hell. Sometimes I can't even open Edge browser or it takes literally minutes to open and just displays a grey screen. Half the time I can't even make any settings changes or even get to the settings in the first place.

    Restarting always fixes the issues but even restarting can be randomly slow as hell. And nearly every time I am having issues this is what it shows when I click on restart.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,742
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Verify that Game Bar from GameMode it's entirely disabled.. I was having similar issues with one of my rig with my 390X then discovered it was due the GameBar..

    Notice: Nvidia still doesn't have a proper Driver that support Windows 10 FCU correctly, AMD have one BETA driver but it's terrible ATM. My 980Ti Rig and my 1080 Rig are both playing well.. ATM no issues with games beside the stupid game mode.
     
  3. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Yes I made sure all that crap was off right after the update so that is not the issue.

    Btw why does Windows automatically reopen things like Chrome if they were open when I turned off the pc? I don't remember that ever happening before the fall creators update.
     
  4. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,742
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    That's due fast boot, probably you had disabled it and now it is enabled, (it's always enabled by default). fast boot save the config settings for most apps so it may be there the issue, if you have a fast SSD and or m.2 drive you don't need Fast Boot, so i would disable it and well I would also rollback to Creator's update until Nvidia release FCU support driver.

    Just again, be sure that everything on the GameBar and GameDVR it's disabled that's how i've solved gaming issues and stuttering. and well, there's always the option of clean install it have solved most serious issues for other ppl...
     
  5. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    No I made sure that I turned fast boot off right after the update so that is not part of the problem. And after the previous creators update, I finally had to do a clean install of that too since it jacked up some things. This is fucking ridiculous to have to go through all of this nonsense with every large update.
     
    Wyodiver likes this.
  6. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Fast boot doesn't reopen applications on boot, it's simply an attempt to reduce boot times.
     
    Tawnos likes this.
  7. ChadD

    ChadD I Love TEXAS

    Messages:
    2,160
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Reopening applications is hiberfil.sys Hibernate will save program states when you shut down and reload them. Its like putting your machine to sleep only its copying your program states to disk instead of ram.

    You should be able to change those settings in your power settings. Or you can run this from a command prompt. powercfg.exe /hibernate off
     
  8. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,203
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Windows is FCU'd up.

    You shouldn't use Edge anyway so the slow start is just a problem you created for yourself. Are you using a third party antivirus? It seems Microsoft is deliberately creating problems with them in order to push people to use their own product.
     
  9. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,465
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    So I have to use Internet Explorer to run some security camera DVR program.. it will only go full screen on whatever the main monitor is (1 of 3 monitors). I drag the main taskbar from main display to another screen before going full screen with IE DVR viewer. When I go full screen with IE for my DVR, the main taskbar disapeers regardless of what monitor it has been dragged to.

    ..is this a Falls Creators Update issue then? My wife's setup is all AMD (FM2+ Quad Core, R9 270, 16GB DDR3, 3 different monitors that don't support freesync)
     
  10. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    When it comes to IE, it wouldn't surprise me that you have issues as it isn't officially supported anymore. Your DVR doesn't have software that can be used for monitoring?
     
  11. SuperSubZero

    SuperSubZero 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,357
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    I'm seeing intermittent problems at work with Start locking up and it causes the whole taskbar to go weird, and I have to reboot to clear it. with that "task host" window as posted above. Oddly, none of my personal computers are seeing this problem. It seems to go away after a time, though I can't be sure if it's going to reoccur.
     
  12. Dk975

    Dk975 Gawd

    Messages:
    791
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    On my desktop, which was still on 1607 and was stuck there and didn't get 1703 at all, when I disconnect a usb drive I don't get the banner saying Safely Removed. On 2 other laptops I get the banner.

    FCU update paths:
    i3 Haswell desktop I ran MCT and upgraded.
    Sandy Bridge laptop clean installed
    Intel Compute Stick Atom x5 WU install
    Sandy Bridge XPS WU install
    Lenovo U310 WU install
     
  13. Tawnos

    Tawnos 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,754
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Reopening applications is neither from fastboot nor hibernation. It's because applications use RegisterApplicationRestart to automatically restart themselves after a restart from a system update.

    For example, here's where Chrome sets itself up for automatic restart after software update reboots, and this is the changeset that introduced it.
     
  14. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    16,871
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I had Firefox go bonkers on me once but the issue hasn't returned, so not sure yet.

    Nvidia did release new drivers today so grab those for any graphics corruptions you may be seeing.
     
  15. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Any or all of the issues happen only on cold boot and restarting always fixes it. It infuriates the hell out of me to have to literally start my pc twice to have it work right though.
     
  16. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Turn off fast boot in power settings.
     
  17. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    I already said that it is off so that has nothing to do with my issues.
     
  18. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Stop using Windows then.

    Having said that, I think you've got bigger issues than just Windows because I never experience that.
     
  19. bizzmeister

    bizzmeister [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,073
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Am I the only one with windows 10 that has not got this update yet? Or do i have it already and I’m not aware? WTF?
     
  20. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Every one of these issues started after the very first cold boot after the fall creators update. Just like the previous creators update, it is causing various issues for many people so just because you do not have the issues does not mean it is not related to the update. :rolleyes:
     
  21. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    I'm joking, settle down.

    Obviously something's corrupted with the update process, the Windows 10 rolling release concept isn't the best and it happens to the best of us every time MS release a major update. Sadly the only realistic way to rectify it is to do a repair install of Windows, it means that you'll loose your software applications. It's just not worth the time trying to work the issue when MS included tools within the OS to restore the OS for this exact reason.

    If you really are sick of it, perhaps it's time to weigh up your OS options?
     
  22. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    I use my pc for modern gaming so there are no other OS options...
     
  23. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Well, personally, if it was my machine I'd be going Start > Settings > Update & Security > Recovery > Reset this PC.

    It's not like this is a result of a simple process like a driver update, this is the result of an entire OS install and you're looking for a needle in a haystack.

    What does Windows reliability monitor state? The error in the OP specifically states that Windows is still trying to install a device and that's what's causing shutdown/reboot to hang? Does device manager show any issues?
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017
  24. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Have you actually checked the updater to make sure your PC isn't still trying to update in the background?
     
  25. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
  26. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,203
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    If you don't like the smell of dung, stop working with cows.
     
  27. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Well I think I found the problem for me. I disabled the HP scan app from the start up last night before bed and today on a cold boot I had no issues for the first time since the creators update.
     
  28. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    I've experienced issues with HP drivers with the creators update, but they just resulted in the printer/scanner not working, not the issue you described. Gonna have to try and stick that in the memory bank.
     
  29. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Well spoke too soon as it went right back to doing the same damn thing today on cold boot.

    Now even a restart is not fixing everything. In fact on the restart this time my audio control panel and a couple other things did not even load.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2017
  30. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Not even worth diagnosing, just do a refresh install and reinstall all your software. I recommend backing up your user profile first if there's anything you're worried about loosing.
     
  31. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Well after more research there are others that have the exact issues where even completely clean install does not fix it.

    My earlier link had a couple users that tried clean install to no avail and here in another link as an example right here with others having same issues not being fixed with clean install:

    "I Did a clean install of the Fall Creators update from freshly made boot media and the problem still exists. On top of that, the Edge browser is completely broken."


     
  32. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,203
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    If I were you I'd switch OSes. Even Windows 7 would be better at this point.
     
    BulletDust likes this.
  33. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Wow! That's fucked up!

    I guess Windows doesn't 'just work'? Could be a bad ISO though. That's the thing with Linux, you can verify the download using the checksum - You can't do that with the Windows media creation tool.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  34. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,168
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    that's what i would suggest, redownload and recreate the image. ive had a bad usb image and had to redo a system due to it, once.
     
  35. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    As I said even doing a fresh install still gives the same issues for some people so no way in hell I am fooling with all that. I already did that a little while back as the previous creators update jacked up some things too.

    Anyway I finally fixed this current bullshit by following another suggestion:

    (Settings -> Accounts -> Sign-In Options) called "Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart." Disabled that.

    I did that 5 days ago and now I have no more of the damn issues but I still find it ridiculous that these creators updates can jack up so much crap for some people.
     
  36. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,100
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    During the clean install, you would have needed to unplug the machine from the network until you were at the desktop. After that, connect, update and done. Thank you for posting the solution though, things are definitely more problematic than in past releases.
     
  37. ChedWick

    ChedWick Gawd

    Messages:
    558
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    In an attempt to save myself some work later by rolling out the latest release on new machines at my firm now, I've actually created myself way more work and fallen behind schedule due to all of the oddities with 1709.

    MS keeps breaking basic things that help sysadmins customize and de-bullshit the OS. For instance, while in 1703 the CopyProfile function in sysprep initially didn't work, it was patched allowing for sysprep to complete successfully. Now its broke again with 1709. You can still sysprep but it doesn't do shit to copy the start menu layout. I don't need much from this really, I just want a clean BS free start menu for all new users that login to the machine so they don't accidentally install something by simply clicking the placeholder icon.

    Sure I can apply the start menu with a GPO but it locks it down completely. I still want users to be able to pin stuff on their own. There's a partial start menu layout option but I and others have found its glitchy as all hell.

    Oh and no one seems to know where the hell the settings for the default start menu are actually stored. There's an XML in app data for the default user profile. I've been testing altering that but even with nothing in the file, I'm still getting random stuff pined to the start menu. ATM with the file completely empty I get Edge, Settings and the store app. No idea where those are even pulling from. I can probably live with that but I'd really like to know where the hell windows stores the layout for users. The PS import-startlayout has to write to something.

    Anyways, needless to say, I'm rolling out 1703 and hoping in a few months 1709 isn't such a mess.
     
    PliotronX and x509 like this.
  38. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,915
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    I still have one issue though and that is my headphones refuse to work after the fall creators update. I used to be able to toggle back and forth between my 2.1 setup and headphones in the creative control panel but now I get no sound with the headphones. I even tried unplugging the 2.1 setup and only using headphones but still no luck. Worked perfectly for years before this update...
     
  39. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,629
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    "Protected Audio Path" and the fact that MS can't leave a good thing alone = Breakages with perfectly good hardware.

    Because your headphones are USB they effectively have their own soundcard built into them - That soundcard no longer supports Microdoft's vision for the future.
     
  40. odoe

    odoe Madministrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,231
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Since the update, after hibernate for some reason Chrome loses internet and has to be restarted. Slack and IE seem to work. Docker has issues starting up too, takes a couple of restarts.