Those of you with Ubiquiti - Are you as frustrated as I am?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by catogtp, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,891
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    From what you are saying it looks like your problem may be with the Modem/ISP side of things.
     
  2. catogtp

    catogtp [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,128
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    I thought the same but rebooting the modem didn't help. I had to reboot the ER.
     
  3. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,891
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Yes. You just jogged my memory.

    There's a known issue where the ER will not update it's DHCP address until the lease time has expired or you restart the Router. There's a dependency on DNS that's also contributing to this issue.
     
  4. catogtp

    catogtp [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,128
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    It was odd, it didn't show an ip address at all. I did a renew and nothing.

    These are the kinds of things I am talking about though. Something that has been around since the dawn of DHCP should not be a problem still. :)
     
  5. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,891
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    I believe this is a newer issue, new since firmware 1.9.x That's 1 reason my ER-PoE was running 1.8.5. Supposedly there's a hotfix 4 in alpha for 1.9.7, but they want to hold on to it for 1.9.10 or 1.9.11.

    You may be able to downgrade to 1.8.5 and retest, but please make certain you backup your configuration first.
     
  6. bman212121

    bman212121 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,531
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    I would probably just try to factory default the device and rerun that initial wizard to setup 1 WAN and 1 LAN port. I can't tell from your diagram, but ideally I would just plug anything that is on the 192.168.10.x network into one of those 8 port switches and then plug the uplink from that switch into a single port on your ER. Your APs should continue to work even without the cloudkey, so I'd just leave that out of the mix for now. That would be the simplest out of the box setup you can do, and you can verify if that gets you a stable configuration or not. If you have just the basics going and you're still losing your WAN IP, then it's possible your ER just happens to be defective. If everything stays working like that, then there might just be some configuration gremlins lurking somewhere.

    Do what Mackintire said, backup your current config, then you can factory reset it and flash it with a know good firmware, then do what I said and set it up in the most simple configuration possible. Once you know that the issues are gone then you can turn back on the other features.
     
  7. catogtp

    catogtp [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,128
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    I can live with rebooting it for now. I've been on 1.9.1 since having the setup and it's happened twice now.

    At this point things are stable outside of one final issue which you can see above is a firmware bug introduced in the 1.9.x firmware. My setup works exactly how it should aside from that.
     
    bman212121 likes this.
  8. bman212121

    bman212121 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,531
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    If you have it sorted then yea I wouldn't mess with it. Hopefully once you're on a stable firmware everything just works like it does for the rest of us.
     
  9. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,661
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    I use 3 UAP's (green light) powered by an Edgerouter™ in plain ol' switch mode behind an Untangle™ box. I run the controller software on my FreeNAS® box inside a jail. It's been frustration free from day one. Great coverage/connectivity for our phones, tablets, daughters computer ..etc ..
     
  10. Machupo

    Machupo Gravity Tester

    Messages:
    4,888
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Controller software on a FreeNAS jail... why didn't I think of that, ::smacks forehead::. Whelp, guess I'll be up for a bit longer tonight, lol.

    Managed to snag a C2758 pfsense 1u box on the cheap, so I think the ER-L is heading for retirement after 3 solid years.
     
  11. catogtp

    catogtp [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,128
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Those are the older APs are they not?

    Also, running an edgerouter in switch mode isn't quite the same since you are bypassing 95% of the features of the device that have been problematic for me :p
     
  12. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,661
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    yes ...and yes. I thought about ditching my little untangle box and just running the Edgerouter though ..

    easy walk through to install controller software in a jail on FreeNAS
    https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?resources/installing-ubiquiti-unifi-controller-in-a-jail.55/
     
  13. catogtp

    catogtp [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,128
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Once I figured out that using all 4 ports as a switch was causing my CPU and heat issues it's been pretty stable outside of the one lingering issue with dhcp on the WAN interface.

    I still want to get a small cooling fan to stick over it as it still runs hotter than I would like it to.
     
  14. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,661
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    I unplugged my Untangle box and reconfigured my Edgerouter to run the show .. I'll report back if it misbehaves. GRC.com gave me all green, yay! :shy:
     
  15. catogtp

    catogtp [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,128
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Forgot about GRC. Site looks the same as it did in 1998.